We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty amazing place all the way around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing place all the way around”
Reviewed 17 December 2009

As with any place that is pretty much across the board amazing the couple minor hitches stand out, so I will get those out of the way first. 1- The heat in the condo that we rented was not working properly when we got there and they were not super quick to fix it. 2- The ski valet setup was a little bit of a mess. The part for the actual skis wasn't bad but for the boots there is a little room for everyone to go to and put on their ski boots and especially in the morning it was packed and a mess. I think they are getting the kinks worked out as this is their first season open.

Those are really the only two complaints, every thing else was spotless, from the rooms to the concierge, to the gym, to the ease of using thier wireless internet, to their location in the midst of Lionshead right next to the Gondola. It was all great. There still aren't as many restaurant options in the Lionshead area as in Vail Village but there are a decent amount of good places and you can always walk to 10 minutes over to Vail Village or take the bus that goes over there every 15 minutes.

The most striking two things about the Arrabelle are 1 the location which is perfect and 2 - the decor which is very impressive with a great attention to detail.

I would definitely recommend to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripFan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    61
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
234
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I booked this room with Friends for a weekend get away sponsored by a magazine for a value deal (5280/night/person) during the off season. I have booked thru this deal before and several luxury hotels in Colorado. The Arabelle advertised in the brochure and on the website for this particular deal but booked my friend and I in a room at double the price. When I tried to clarify my bill they refused to help, after speaking to 4 different people, and after 3o minutes on the phone with the manager he tells me the hotel never actually offerreed this deal and that is was spa or dinner specials. The "premier" room they booked us in was quoted to me as premier because of the view. The view we had was of a crane and several construction workers who woke us up at 0700 every morning. The manager refused to acknowledge the false advertising and the was blatently lying to me regarding the deals since the restaurant in the 2/3 empty hotel was not even open and there were no spa specials. The actual structure is beautiful, but the horrific customer service and deception in advertising and abuse in order to book rooms at a higher rate is not worth it. You would think in this economy that customer service would be more important than ever, not at the Arabelle, the dollar is the bottom line without exception!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NES73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Ok I am even staying here by myself for a weekend away- not expecting much... at all.
I still have two nights to go, but already I am irritated by the service, and I am a VERY easy going traveller. First there is a difference between good service, and people just "knowing" your name and being cordial. I am never a "picky" traveller, but the luggage was left in the lobby for way too long, and I had dinner last night (a $20 French dip sandwich) delivered to my room that was already soggy....because the dip spilled... uh plastic wrap? Believe me I used to complain about people like my reviews- but now I get it... esp because this room is supposed to cost about $600/night (not including $45 resort fee, and 10% tax and 20% service...which is really only parking, paper, and free internet)- Major joke. You know if the service was good it might be worth it ... like it is at the Sonnenalp.

I am here for two more days- and if no one else came near me service wise I would be just fine... but I could not imaginge bringing a family here and needing something other than a "Hello" and "Have a nice Day". Oh btw if you are travelling with a family, a two BR suit could cost you + thousands/ night (almost 4).

I was very excited to see the Arrabelle, but it is a very Disney type of "resort" if that it is what you are looking for then it is just fine. And my being here for two more days might just irritate me further... really folks go to the Sonnenalp!!! Amazing service, more rustic rooms, and about 1/2 the price. The Sonnenalp has been a Vail standard for years- and though I thought I would give Arrabelle a chance... because I "thought" before that the Sonnenalp was too pricey... but it is no contest. The difference? When I return to the Sonnenalp the staff has been the same, it really is like coming home if you are going to afford yourself the price of such a Luxury hotel...you could book a night on a whim at the Sonnenalp for almost a third of the price...AND it is right in the middle of Vail.
You choose... Hmm?

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My husband and I got married at the Arrabell last month. The staff at the Arabelle were amazing and attentive. I can't imagine a more beautiful hotel with a wonderful setting. I couldn't possibly say anything negative about the hotel or the hotel staff. They made our wedding a truly wonderful event!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVRKNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithica, NY
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2009

What a gem of a place! My wife and I were looking for a weekend get-away while we were visiting CO for business. We decided on Vail and found The Arrabelle. It is charming, the staff is so friendly, and they make you feel at home. The rooms are amazing, it is true luxury. We thought about staying at the Ritz, but we are so glad we gave The Arrabelle a try. Everything is so clean and well maintained; there were activities in the square when we were there which a nice surprise was. I treated my wife to some spa appointments and she raved about how great it was. The price value was perfect. There was a little construction next to the hotel, but not at the hotel. Really did not bother us and looks like they are almost done anyways. If this is how nice it is in the summer time, can only imagine how great it is in the winter! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYLakeSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We were looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway & wanted to book the nicest resort. When we arrived they had "upgraded" us to a nicer room. The room (as most of their rooms) had a view of the surrounding buildings. There was a huge construction project right outside the window that started at 7:22am. We were never notified that there was a construction project. The spa was basic & completely indoors. The rooftop pool was small & not a place you'd want to spend time. They charge a $35.00 daily resort fee which is supposed to cover tips but I didn't feel comfortable asking people to carry my bags, park my car, without tipping so we paid twice. I'm not sure what it covered but in most hotels the use of their facilities is free. Parking in the Vail public lots is free in the summer. Once the construction started I asked to checkout & was promised a refund for the last two nights. I spent a few hours on the phone with Expedia & working with the front desk. (They were very friendly, helpful & professional). However, It's not how I wanted to spend my three day weekend (which was quite expensive). I never received the credit & will now have to spend another few hours on the phone with Expedia who say they have no records of my phone calls though at the time they told me they would give me a $50 voucher for my next trip. I'm just hoping I don't have to spend a lot of time getting my refund or end up contesting it with my credit card company.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodWineFunSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INdianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Arrabelle to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and had never been to Vail. We loved Vail and enjoyed the Arrabelle. However the hotel is not up to the standards of the finest hotels, at least in the summer. The hotel staff seemed to be very pleasant and tried to be helpful but some things were overlooked. For example we did not receive turndown service the last night of our three night stay. On another day we ordered room service for the following morning because we were leaving early for a day trip to Aspen. The next morning there was no record of our order and we left without breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakeINdianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,260 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort

Property: Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Address: 675 Lionshead Place, Vail, CO 81657-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Business Hotel in Vail
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Vail Mountain, in the heart of Lionshead, The Arrabelle at Vail Square offers a premium service in a unique location. Inspired by the grand hotels of Europe's historic alpine villages, The Arrabelle at Vail Square combines timeless elegance, European charm and impeccable service. Dine at Tavern on the Square's mountainside patio, unwind at the award-winning RockResorts Spa, or take advantage of the other extraordinary amenities including slopeside ski valet, rooftop hot tubs and lap pool, state-of- the-art fitness center and more. Treat yourself to the ultimate luxury resort experience in Vail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrabelle At Vail Square, a Rock Hotel Vail
Arrabelle Vail Square
Arrabelle Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing