We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Arrabelle for our honeymoon and could not have been happier. The hotel was so beautiful, like a winter wonderland decorated for Christmas, and the surrounding area of Lionshead Village was like a postcard. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and responsive to our needs. When we arrived, we were put in a lovely but smallish room with a not-spectacular view. My husband called the front desk and asked if we might have a room with a better view for our honeymoon - and they gave a bigger room with a spectacular mountain view at no extra charge. The room was fantastic - fireplace, gorgeous bathroom with heated marble and a TV, wonderful fluffy beds. The only drawback in the room was a lack of a minibar and refreshments. The spa was the best spa I have visited - huge and beautiful and really clean and well-appointed, I actually lounged in the roman tub and steam room and read a book after my treatment, which was excellent. Also, the hotel has a free shuttle and dropped us off and picked us up in Vail Village, which allowed us to imbibe with no worries. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful and set us up for dinner at the Game Creek Club on short notice. The breakfast buffet featured standard fare, nothing exceptional. And it could not be closer and more convenient to the slopes - and a skating rink right outside. It is a winter vacation dreamland! We looked at other resorts while there and were very glad that we chose the Arrabelle.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcabalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

We have just returned from 5 days skiing in Vail where we stayed at The Arrabelle in Vail Square.

Vail is a slightly odd place. It looks like a lovely European mountain village but its really a rather superficial facade and a little over the top. There are gas open fires in the streets to warm yourself up on that burn fuel all day and evening. The streets are heated so they don't ice up or get snow on them. In the end, it all feels a little too much like disney world as opposed to a real village with a real atmosphere. But there is no dispute that the skiing is spectacular, especially on the Back Bowls and Blue Sky Basin.

Anyway, the hotel is much the same. The rooms are lovely but a little featureless. We stayed in a junior suite with a real-effect gas fire in the room. The rest of the room was pretty ordinary but decent enough.

The hotel is a bit odd in the fact that it is rambling over different buildings and floors and you dont really get a sense that you are staying in a hotel at all as everything is so far away and the communal areas, although very nice, dont feel terribly welcoming.

The restaurants and bar are also somewhat soulless and dont give off that cozy, ski town feel although, again everything is of a reasonably good standard.

There are some nice touches however, such as the hot chocolate and cookies for when you come off the slopes, the free shuttle buses to other parts of vail or other restaurants and also the ski valet was a great service.

So in summary I'd say that if you want to ski in Vail then The Arrabelle is probably the best accommodation and is very nice but the reservations are, that like Vail village, its a little soulless and you come away a little disappointed that it could have been amazing as opposed to just good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderers_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

You will not be disappointed. This place is worth every penny. If you can afford it, do it! Service with a capitol S. You want it they will get it for you. Super clean. This place gives new meaning to a Winter Wonderland. The Arrabelle may be the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The bathroom floors are heated andthe windows actually open! The most pleaseant staff I have ever experienced and I travel often. The room service was great and delicious. The Ski Valet 'for Arrabelle guests only' is litterally steps from the gondola. They thought of everything so all you have to think about is the slopes! This hotel completes Lionshead.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlbarber005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Ski in/ski out properties often sacrafice service and amenities in exchange for convenience . Not the Arrabelle at Vail Square! From the valet and front desk to the restaurant and housekeeping, the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was effortless and enjoyable. Friends from college reunited for my 27th birthday to have a ski weekend in Vail. Having stayed at other Vail Resorts properties in Jackson Hole and Aspen, I knew we would have a great experience. But the Arrabelle exceeded my expectations.

The lobby and guestrooms are comfortable and luxurious. We loved the fireplace and soaking tub in our room, especially after long days of skiing. And you can't beat the outdoor hot tubs with heated tiles. Some of the public art made it seem like they were trying too hard to recreate a village in the alps, but their good intentions were there--they have thought of every detail.

While the hotel restaurant, The Tavern, struggles a bit to define itself, you won't want to miss the oatmeal on the breakfast menu. Accompanied by honey, brown sugar, apples and raisins, it was quite possibly the best I've ever eaten--and a great way to store up energy for the day. I wish I had thought of the design for the serving bowl myself. What a great idea!

Speaking of bowls, the back side of Vail mountain wasn't that bad either. We had some amazing powder (over a foot of it) on our last day and we were grateful the gondola was right outside the door to get us up the mountain to enjoy a full day of skiing. My friends and I have a few more ski resorts to check off the list, but when it comes time to revisit Vail, we'll definitely return to the Arrabelle.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloof_Icon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

From amenities to food to service, the entire resort exudes class. The attention to detail is second-to-none, especially the heated marble bathroom floor. Every possible need can be satisfied on-site from entertainment, shopping, dining, night-life, and even outdoor ice-skating. After skiing the rockies for over 10 years, I have finally found the resort/mountain combination to surpass my expectations: Arrabelle at Vaili Square.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quattro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed at the Arrabelle for the first part of our honeymoon. My parents had previously stayed at the Lodge at Vail and had such a wonderful time that we thought we'd try the Arrabelle, expecting that we would receive a similar experience. Unfortunately the hotel really did not live up to expectations. The room was great, as was the Spa and the bellmen couldn't have been more helpful, however that was where it ended.

Not sure if the Arrabelle has been hit hard by the GFC but they seem to have cut everything they could, including the mini-bar in the room - not what I would expect from a 5 star. The breakfast was in the hotel pub with terrible coffee and a very limited buffet - more what I would expect from a basic Marriott. Small thing, but no nightly turn-down service?

I am not a fussy traveller, however must agree with a number of the other reviews, the service was just not there. The room wasn't made up when we arrived, nor when we got back from the slopes on occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

You can't beat the location of this place. About 100 steps to the slopes, and you don't even have to carry your boots skis, as they have a valet right at the gondola. Had breakfast in the room a couple of days, it was very good. Had drinks in the bar after skiing, it was quite busy, but the service was good. Concierge was not the greatest, it appeared that she was just using OpenTable to book reservations and didn't really know the restaurants. We booked a suite, but when we arrived, were told they had overbooked them. We got a premier room(206) which overlooked the mountain and were quite satisfied after getting the rate difference back on our credit card.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort

Address: 675 Lionshead Place, Vail, CO 81657-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Business Hotel in Vail
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £291 - £1,475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Vail Mountain, in the heart of Lionshead, The Arrabelle at Vail Square offers a premium service in a unique location. Inspired by the grand hotels of Europe's historic alpine villages, The Arrabelle at Vail Square combines timeless elegance, European charm and impeccable service. Dine at Tavern on the Square's mountainside patio, unwind at the award-winning RockResorts Spa, or take advantage of the other extraordinary amenities including slopeside ski valet, rooftop hot tubs and lap pool, state-of- the-art fitness center and more. Treat yourself to the ultimate luxury resort experience in Vail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrabelle At Vail Square, a Rock Hotel Vail
Arrabelle Vail Square
Arrabelle Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing