We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ in Vail Village!”
Review of Moe's Original BBQ

Moe's Original BBQ
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Takeout
Description: Moe's Original BBQ is a Southern soul food revival with food prepared fresh daily with recipes passed down for generations.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Vail Village!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Outstanding BBQ in Vail Village! Amazing favors and plentiful portion sizes! Very satisfying for both the ravenous and the selective palates in our group! Well done across the menu!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dja17chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    135
    41
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Loved our visit to Moe's BBQ. It's located in an outdoor shopping center so it's casual and laid-back. The food is great - lots a yummy sides to accompany smoked meats. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Great value for the money, especially compared to surrounding restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Truly delicous BBQ and sides at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were trying to go to The Little Diner the morning of July 5th but the place was packed and the line was out the door. Moe's had just opened and had good TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews so we chose it instead. The pulled pork was some of the most tender, high-quality BBQ I've ever had (and I order pulled pork whenever I can). The sauce was the thinner vinegar style, not the thick sweet kind (which I actually prefer but it tends to overpower the meat). All the sides we tried were super delicious and they had an awesome broccoli salad and cinnamon apples on the special of the day board. The price was very reasonable by Vail standards and the place saw a steady stream of families, couples and groups of teenagers as lunchtime approached.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Fine BBQ ... excellent for non-southerners!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I'm from the Florida panhandle (which really is like lower Alabama) so I've had my share of good barbeque. This is fine, but I wasn't super impressed. Meat was a little greasy, tea wasn't true Southern sweet, and banana pudding had no bananas. Otherwise, inexpensive eats for Vail and OK for the standard BBQ eater.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadLlama17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great BBQ with an outdoor patio”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great food, nice people and quick service. Small place with a handful of outdoor tables. Not a great view, but ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moe's Original BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing