We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for value”
Review of The Wren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wren
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place for value”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in August and totally loved it. We found it by looking at VRBO and inquired by phone. The unit shown on VRBO looked so rustic and "Colorado". They said that unit was being remodeled and booked us in another mountain facing unit. They immediately emailed us a contract and pictures of the unit. We were not happy with "the look" of the condo and called back...again they immediately emailed pictures of another unit. I was very impressed with the service and use of technology. Pictures can be deceiving, but it definitely helps.
We were very impressed with the condo and view. So nice to wake up to a view of the mountains, to have coffee on the deck and to have drinks in the evening on the deck...ski run above, creek below.
The only downside is the bedroom is on the front side of the unit and if you want an open window you will get the noise of I-70. You are also close to the events at Ford park and can hear the concerts some evenings.
We took our bikes, kept them in the bike rack by the pool and biked everywhere...Cascade, Vail Village, Lionshead...it was great to keep the car in the garage.
We totally loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 405, this was a 1 beedroom king, 2 bath, full kitchen, loft w/2 twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at The Wren for 2 weeks in 2 different units. That happens with RCI condo swaps; not The Wren's fault at all! But ... it showed us a diversity that reduced our overall opinion of this facility. First of all, the staff were friendly & meant well, but were not very well trained on their amenities. They were of no help with TV capabilities which were poor to say the least. They use Dish Network to bring in their signal, but then only give you about 50 of Dish's many hundreds of available channels. Two of my wife's favorites were not offered. The bedrooms had old pre-HD TVs which couldn't properly play a recent DVD. Their DVD rental list gave you no help selecting one nor did the staff. The location of the units is very key to their summertime enjoyment. One wing, units numbered x01-x10 (x being the floor, 1-4), you have the beautiful sounds of the babbling Gore Creek and grandiose views of the firs, aspens and the mountains beyond. The other wing, units x11 & higher, have views of Interstate 70 and horrendous highway noise non-stop 24 hours a day. The management does not provide anywhere near enough luggage trolleys; on Saturday (the primary change day) hours go by with no trolleys available at all. In order not to miss our return flight from Denver, we were forced to schlepp all our luggage to our rental car. Finally, all the paper supplies provided are the cheapest available. We even bought our own at Safeway. But I will say that the location is wonderful for accessing the Village of Vail and driving to other nearby sights. And in the summer, many of the guests enjoyed the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Insist on a unit numbered from x01 to x10 (where x is the floor 1-4) for the view and the outdoor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NashvilleKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The location of this hotel/time share is very conveniently located in Vail. My kids loved the pool which is heated. There are also two hot tubs. Having the grills near the pool was also great for cooking and the outdoor seating area is so relaxing and clean. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The were good at recommending places to eat and good hikes for younger kids. Our room was great and clean. Having a murphy bed in addition to the pull out couch and king-sized bed was fun as well. The rooms are very large and equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: It would have been nice to be a little closer to an elevator because we were in and out of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa80020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Views & locations great. Pool is heated like a warm bath for cold weather fun, always clean clean clean. Both hot tubs always work. No workout facility :( great service, recently updating. Beds comfy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen0890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife family has had a timeshare for many years. We recently purchased our own. They have done a great job renovating the place. You walking distance to everything. The Wren sits between the river and Ford park making it a very relaxing location. The people that work there have a very caring and laid back attitude.

Nice Job...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have stayed at the Wren for both Summer and Winter. We loved it every time. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable.

In the summer it is right next to the wonderful park and was great for our kids. In the winter you are close to the slopes.

The staff was very helpful when we checked in and out. We have never had a need to utilize the staff during our stay. Everything was always working and in good shape.

Love it here. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRL011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The unit we stayed in was lovely and offered a tremendous view of the slopes. Unit was more than comfortable, decorated beautifully, and impeccably clean. We were only guests for a few nights so we did not have the opportunity to experience all of the amenities The Wren has to offer, but perhaps we'll have that chance yet at some point if we return in the future. Staff was courteous but a bit reserved. Absolutely loved the close proximity to the village area and the shuttle was so convenient for making our way to and from the lifts. My only negative comment would be the lack of incidentals supplied in the unit. Kitchen was well equipped, but I would've loved to see some coffee/tea/sugar, (even cleaning/bathroom supplies) or welcome package awaiting our arrival. We have stayed in many condos within the Vail area which were privately owned, and perhaps this is the difference one might come to expect when renting through a hotel. Nonetheless, we would welcome the opportunity to stay again!!

Room Tip: Unit 403 was beautiful with the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladydi120888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#8 of 30 in Vail
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wren

Property: The Wren
Address: 500 S Frontage Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vail
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wren 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wren’s convenient, central location assures our Owners and Guests easy access to Vail’s wide variety of year-round outdoor sports and activities. In addition, cultural and entertainment events, specialty shops, galleries, and more than 100 restaurants and nightspots are located nearby.Stay in Vail for an affordable and reasonable nightly rate. Vail Village and Golden Peak are within walking distance. And utilize The Wren’s private skier shuttle during the Winter ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Wren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wren Hotel Vail
Wren Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing