We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but..............needs updating !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great location but..............needs updating !”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After coming to Vail for 25 years and living there for 2 we decided to stay overnight here and were disappointed with the quality of the rooms and overall service. Rooms a bit noisy. No airco. Bfast was nice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgium33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    38
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location is right in the heart of Vail Village which is fun, but it can be a bit noisy in the summer. The hotel has a great "original Vail" feel to it, but does not seem to have kept up with the times, the bathrooms are in need of a bit of an update and the amenities are minimal. The staff seemed to be working hard (it was a very busy weekend) but seemed not to be handling it very gracefully. I was surprised at how little they knew about the town and events at the front desk. I have stayed at four or five places in Vail/Lionshead and I would put this about mid-pack.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dHous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A delightful, very European, small hotel in the heart of Vail. Exceptionally comfortable room and an outstanding restaurant. Staff very courteous and helpful, especially Adrian. Mrs. Gramshammer is a delight and wonderful to talk to. All in all, one of the most welcoming and comfortable hotels we have ever been in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronfromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Located in the heart of Vail village this Gasthof has real European charm.. Apres ski is about as good as it gets with guitar music in the bar. Restaurants busy and cuisine very good.Spa in house .A Stone throw from the lifts.Some rooms are a bit noisy so if you like quiet ask for river suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

When our condo can't accomodate everybody who wants to visit, we know this is the next best thing. The cozy rooms and location (close to our home), plus the efficient staff are fabulous. We liked their bedding so much, we ordered the same sets for ourselves. And only a fool would miss drinks/music during Happy-Hour at the bar!
S. Churchman

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Don't let the dive bar fool you! When u first walk in you're in the midst of an old school dive bar, which is perfect for vail. When you veer to the left you'll find yourself in old school Germany! The three of us dined on escargot - delish - a sashimi dish (who'd have guessed) and some cakebread Sauvignon Blanc. For dinner I had the trout - superb - my friend had ribeye (very happy) and my husband had the elk, which they literally cook on a makeshift stovetop on a cart at your table! If you like not being rushed, are tired of the over-modernized and overpriced restaurants found in a town like vail, you will really enjoy this place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is my home away from home in Vail. I love the little hotel in the middle of Vail. The rooms are simple,unpretentious yet elegant just like the owners Pepi and Sheika Gramshammer. The restaurant serves great Austrian food. The bar is hopping at night. Pepi's retail store has a great selection of both ski and fashion items and the location is the best in Vail.

Unless you are a big hotel chain groupie, you will love this place. Probably not a great spot for little kids however.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#20 of 30 in Vail
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#8 of 30 in Vail
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.1 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Property: Gasthof Gramshammer
Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing