We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a chain, but a locally owned very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Not a chain, but a locally owned very nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and nice. We came late the night of arrival but they waited for us, and even offered free parking as the elevator was not working.

The rooms are big and in good shape. The beds confortable and all was very clean. Some reviewers says about outdated rooms; I don't know, ours was in good shape and paint and furniture was fine. Our only problem was that you couldn't shut down the heat. We ended cooling it off by opening the window (not very energy saving system).

Breakfast was good, with cheese, awesome salami, and good selection of fruit and cereal. No server though, and no bacon (!) or scrambled eggs.

The location is the best, without any doubt. In the middle of the town, with the ski lift around the corner (500 ft). I really liked that from the hotel you could get to bars, shops and restaurant simply walking. If you come for skiing i can't think of a better location.

The views are a little obstructed, so that is not what you should be looking (!) for.

SImply put, this hotel is NOT a chain, and is family owned and I love this, in these times of Mariotts, Hiltons and Days Inn. I recommend supporting this type of businesses. The price was also fair, cheaper than the supposedly "hot hotels" in town and I would bet it beats them all.

Room Tip: With balcony is better, West side. Standard rooms are great, so no need to spend more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    38
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

From beginning to end a very satisfying visit. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel has the feel of a small European boutique hotel. Our room was beautiful and immaculate and felt like a little refuge. The king bed we had was very comfortable. Breakfast was very very good; the woman in charge took her job very seriously and it showed. We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing visitors need to know is the hotel is located in the pedestrian only area. You are better off parking your car in the muni lot and walking the short distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaOneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Gasthof Gramshammer during the Vail Village Oktoberfest 2013. We checked in early with no problem and Karen at the front desk was very accommodating and nice. We were given the option of parking at the hotels garage for $15 a night or to park in the free covered secure parking garage just a short walk behind the hotel. This is not your average hotel it has wonderful charm and it made us feel like we were back in Europe! The room was very clean, we had a huge balcony that overlooked the village. Two very soft and comfortable double beds, a table with two chairs and a flat screen TV. No A/C in the room, would have been nice, but was not a deal breaker, the ceiling fan worked just fine. We were there durning Oktoberfest and didn't have any issue with noise from outside or other rooms but the room came with complimentary ear plugs just in case. The food at the restaurant was delicious. Just an idea of price they had 2 brats, mashed potatoes and sauerkraut for $18 and the kids and I shared a delicious plate of Käsespätzle for $20. The European style breakfast was excellent, meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, fruits and plenty of juice, milk , coffee and tea. The restaurant and bar staff were great! Close to the ski lift and every shop in town. Starbucks is just behind the hotel across the beautiful covered bridge. A great trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was in Denver for a business meeting, and my girlfriend and I decided to go to Vail 8/12/13 for a couple of days. The hotel is right in the middle of Vail Village where there are restaurants, shops and also ski lifts if it is winter. The rooms were big with balconies and garage parking. The hotel is small and has a lot of character as opposed to the larger properties that all look the same. It was clean and included a lovely breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a fun girls trip to Vail and loved this hotel (room 203). The staff was great, especially Karen, at the front desk. Our room and bathroom were very clean, we had a large balcony, the location is the best in Vail and there is underground parking (our van fit since it was not busy, but normally only smaller cars allowed). The breakfast was better than most "continental breakfasts" and included several meats and cheeses. We walked to everything. Because it was a Sunday night, Vail was very quiet. We enjoyed dinner and a movie at Cinnebar, excellent food and very comfy seats. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelticChick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We did a spur of the moment girls trip to Vail and stayed one night Sunday Aug 11,2013 at the Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer and enjoyed our stay. We were 3 ladies that had room 203 which has 2 queen sized beds. Karen checked us in was very pleasant. Our room was very clean, the bathroom was clean, yes no A/C but the ceiling fan kept the room cool with the patio door open. The beds and pillows were very, very comfortable. The breakfast had several kinds of fruit juices, coffee, hot tea, milk. Bagels, cream cheese, different danishes, muffins, German rye bread, cereals, cheese plate, fresh ripe pineapple, mellon, grapes, and yogurt, all very nice and fresh. Being a Sunday they were only half full but when we checked in on Sat they said they had been almost full. We did not hear any noise from the bar or street in our room. There was some service truck noise in the morning but not bad as we had to get up at 8 am anyway. There was a desk and a small table in the room. They had a hair dryer in the bathroom with shampoo, conditioner, and skin lotion in a little basket, enough towels. The location was right in the center of town which was nice. The flowers around the outside were so pretty. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but it was pretty full at lunch and dinner. Yes the hotel is older than some but it was pretty and to me as long as it is clean who cares how new it is. All the hotel staff was very friendly, I would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raggedyann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After coming to Vail for 25 years and living there for 2 we decided to stay overnight here and were disappointed with the quality of the rooms and overall service. Rooms a bit noisy. No airco. Bfast was nice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgium33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#19 of 30 in Vail
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 30 in Vail
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Property: Gasthof Gramshammer
Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing