We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN VAIL”
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Through the years we have stayed at the Lion Square Lodge numerous times. Other than the superb location of the property, next to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, the total commitment of the staff to complete customer satisfaction is what will be key to a wonderful vacation at Vail. From the front desk to housekeeping it is consistently the best hotel experience that we have ever had. We have stayed at Marriotts and Ritz Carltons, but the management at Lion Square Lodge has instilled a culture of excellence in its employees. Even the non Lion Square owned operations on the property, Charter Sports and the El Sabor restaurant, reflect the same customer first culture. It is truly refreshing that year after year the staff will do everything to make a stay perfect.

Although the property is old, portions have been renovated and all of it is well maintained. Currently the East Building is undergoing a complete renovation and it is truly the best place to stay at Vail. You literally walk out the patio door to the Gondola. Probably about a 25 yard walk. It is the one true ski in and ski out at Vail.

The concierge staff is excellent and knowledgeable. Harvey is the quintessential concierge with a charming personality. It is amazing how many of the restaurant maîtres’ that he knows personally. The ski and snowboard valet site includes complimentary hot chocolate, coffee and cookies at the end of the day. That’s just neat.

For anyone visiting Vail, the Lion Square Lodge has my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: First choice is the East Building, then the South B-uilding and then the North Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was our 5th visit to Lion Square Lodge for some spring skiing. We've always stayed in south building, but there is a north and east. East is currently undergoing renovation. First, this rating is more about ski accommodations. This place is very clean and friendly with exceptional proximity to the gondola. There is overnight ski storage. This is not the Four Seasons or the Arrabelle next door, but its not priced like those properties either. Recent renovations at the south building have improved elevator service dramatically. The mountain facing hot tubs and pools are very nice and comfortable. Everyone we have met loves the place and most are returning visitors, often for many, many years. We have always had a hotel room type room, king bed, bath, but there are up to 5 bedroom options at Lion Square. If you don't have a car, and are coming in on CME, the hotel will even you pick up at transportation center in Vail Village. I don't think they charge for this service. Everyone at the hotel is very, very accommodating and nice. The hotel has a concierge during most days. . Because of the renovation of the south building, there was more pressure on availability this year and we ended up with a room facing the parking lot and it was a bit noisy. In the past we have always been able to secure a mountain facing room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totravelnice60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

The lodge is fine. The location is great - right next to the lift. The staff is friendly. The hot tube is nice. And yes they have tiny Aveda amenities in the bathroom.

But do not expect any frills. Expect loud and hot vending machines in the hallway. Expect slightly tired rooms and corridors. Expect a slow breakfast and a selection slightly above McDonald's. Expect bed with old dusty pillows and covers. And all of that for $300 plus dollars in high season? Just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moreyoucando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

If you want to be ski in, ski out, this is the best-located property in Vail. If you are skiing with kids or adults that don't ski at the same level / endurance, you'll really appreciate the location. You can ski down the Gondola, the hotel is there - drop off the tired person, and you are back on the slope in moments. Super convenient.

The front desk team is very friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Tips - Be sure to get a parking pass so they don't put a boot on your car tire - Ask for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice and love it! It's RIGHT next to the gondola at Lionshead. The rooms are nicer than many we've stayed in at ski resorts. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Beds are very comfortable. This place is great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

**I rate this hotel 4.5 stars**

I recently stayed at the Lion Square Lodge for 13 nights with 12 other family members in mid/late January.

LOCATION
Steps away from many shops and restaurants, the hotel is located in Lionshead Village and is a 15 second walk to the Eagle Bahn Gondola and Ski Ticket/School office. It is also a 3 minute walk to the bus stop where you can catch a free shuttle bus to Vail Village (operates every 10 minutes) and to the Safeway supermarket and City Market (less frequent).

THE HOTEL AND AMENITIES
The hotel is made up of the North and South Building, which is currently undergoing renovations and construction work. We stayed in the South Building. In the lobby is a fireplace, an area to make tea/coffee, apple cider and hot chocolate, and several couches.

The hotel has a restaurant, hot tub and pool. The hotel provides complimentary biscuits, muesli bars and cookies, which are a much-welcomed treat, especially after a long day of skiing. Every Tuesday afternoon, there is wine and cheese, which is a nice event to mingle with the other guests and staff. Wi-fi and printing services are complimentary. Ski storage is available at the front of the hotel. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service to the Safeway supermarket.

STAFF
The front desk staff, ski valets and concierge are very helpful, friendly and professional, particularly Simeon (ski valet) who helped store my skis and carry my family’s many pieces of baggage (I think it was around 23?). I also thank Clay (front desk) for his understanding and assistance with an issue I experienced early in my stay (see below). Julie (concierge) was very helpful in booking and obtaining a discount for a private shuttle to Beaver Creek, confirming my flights and advising me of good places to eat at.

ROOMS
Amongst the 13 of us, we booked 3 Lodge Rooms. Although we paid the same amount for each room, each room had different furnishings, décor, layout and amenities because rooms are individually owned. Much to our annoyance, we were only informed of this at the hotel. Such information was not furnished to us at the time of booking with the Australian travel agent, Travelplan.

One of the rooms was so insufficiently lit that it was difficult to pour tea/coffee without the risk of burning oneself (and this was after we had an extra lamp brought to the room). Compared to the other 2 rooms, this room was old and cramped. We were unsatisfied with the inconsistent standard, particularly the insufficient lighting which made the room unfit for safe residence. After raising this with Clay (front desk) on several occasions, the problematic room was upgraded to a 1 bedroom/1 bedroom loft, which was amply lit and had nice furnishings. The loft was much brighter and very spacious. There was a stove, large fridge, dishwasher, living area, dressing area and 2 balconies, one of them facing the mountain.

The other 2 rooms were slightly small and old but aside from that, they were nicely furnished, very clean and one of them had a balcony facing the village. Housekeeping replenished the toiletries (Aveda bath products) daily. The beds were comfortable and each room comes with a complimentary bottle of wine and snacks.

THE BOTTOM LINE
Despite the initial hiccup, we had a very enjoyable stay. The location is hard to beat and the service is excellent. We have only been home for less than a day, but already we are considering visiting Vail again in the 2013/14 season and Lion Square Lodge is at the top of our list of possible accommodations.

Room Tip: At the time of booking, book a room that faces the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EugeneChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Perfect location next to the gondola. Really, couldn't be any closer. Stayed here for 22 nights in 1bed+loft with 2 kids. Beds were heavenly- the kids got a queen sized bed each in the loft! Even though the snow wasn't great, we had a fantastic holiday due to the staff, location and amenities at Lion Square Lodge.The front desk staff, ski valet, bell and concierge to the ski shop downstairs were amazing- friendly, happy, helpful. After skiing, fresh cookies and hot chocolate and cider await. However, there's free coffee, hot chocolate, cider and snacks available 24hrs in the lobby. They also give you a lift to the grocery store or anywhere when not busy. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: South bldg or East (when completed) for true ski in/ski out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayLSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £311 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lionshead Village adjacent to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, Lion Square Lodge grants ski-in/ski-out access to the Vail Mountain Base area. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation types. The property’s comfortable hotel rooms sleep 2 to 4 people with a choice of one king-size bed or two queen beds. The 1- to 5-bedroom condominium units include a fully equipped kitchen, living room with gas fireplace, private balcony or patio, and a private bathroom for each bedroom. The Tower Residences at Lion Square are among the finest luxury Vail condominiums, boasting private elevator access, southern sun and spectacular unobstructed views of Vail Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing