We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality - will come back”
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hospitality - will come back”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Fantastic hospitality! When we arrived, the front desk person (I wish I could remember her name!) let us check in early, and gave us an upgrade to a room with a mountain view! I think it helped that we were there on a Sunday night and that the hotel was not busy, but the service was still excellent.
The room was clean, and nice, but the location was perfect! A short walk to anywhere in Lionshead and able to take the shuttle over to Vail Village.
Overall it was a wonderful getaway and the staff made it better!

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    57
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
107
48
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on a weekend. It was very quiet. The staff is extremely helpful and polite. Parking and internet is at no extra charge. The bathroom has a rain shower which was nice. They have Aveda toiletries. The lighting is rather dim. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not but that could be my taste. There is a refrig and microwave but no spoons to stir the sugar in your tea.

Room Tip: We faced the parking lot on the 4th floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice people, good service. Our comfortable room was on ground level in the back of hotel by the pool. Door opened out onto grassy lawn beside the bike/walking path with the river directly beyond. We had an unobstructed view of the mountain. Definitely ask for a room "with a view." This was our second stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here in 2006 and thought it a below my expectations for Vail. However, my most recent visit saw a great improvement. I was able to visit several of the rooms/suits since I was had some friends also staying there. All the rooms were nicely decorated and the location is terrific winter and summer. Rooms were clean, staff was attentive, and the bed was quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay-we've stayed a couple of times-but the loss from our appartment of two items of jewellery left a very bitter taste. Most worrisome was management's seeming lack of concern: 'it's not something that happens here.' We felt that they did not want to acknowledge there was a problem, didn't know how to deal with it, and wished it would just go away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a wonderful time in Vail at the Lion Square Lodge. We had reservations at another hotel in Vail on July 4th but, upon our arrival, the other hotel had overbooked and, we were left without a place to stay. Upon chance, we arrived at the Lion Square Lodge and spoke with Andrew Mumaugh at the front desk and, he could not have been more helpful! He had a one bedroom condo / two bath available. After our extremely bad experience at the other hotel, Andrew was so accommodating. He quickly took care of our needs and was so kind and patient making sure our level of satisfaction was 100%! We will definitely stay at the Lion Square Lodge again! Thank you Andrew! You totally turned around our day!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower residences and, it is very comfortable for six people. Fully equipped kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoSuzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Through the years we have stayed at the Lion Square Lodge numerous times. Other than the superb location of the property, next to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, the total commitment of the staff to complete customer satisfaction is what will be key to a wonderful vacation at Vail. From the front desk to housekeeping it is consistently the best hotel experience that we have ever had. We have stayed at Marriotts and Ritz Carltons, but the management at Lion Square Lodge has instilled a culture of excellence in its employees. Even the non Lion Square owned operations on the property, Charter Sports and the El Sabor restaurant, reflect the same customer first culture. It is truly refreshing that year after year the staff will do everything to make a stay perfect.

Although the property is old, portions have been renovated and all of it is well maintained. Currently the East Building is undergoing a complete renovation and it is truly the best place to stay at Vail. You literally walk out the patio door to the Gondola. Probably about a 25 yard walk. It is the one true ski in and ski out at Vail.

The concierge staff is excellent and knowledgeable. Harvey is the quintessential concierge with a charming personality. It is amazing how many of the restaurant maîtres’ that he knows personally. The ski and snowboard valet site includes complimentary hot chocolate, coffee and cookies at the end of the day. That’s just neat.

For anyone visiting Vail, the Lion Square Lodge has my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: First choice is the East Building, then the South B-uilding and then the North Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Property: Lion Square Lodge
Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing