We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't have hoped for better lodging!”
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The Lion's Square Lodge was a wonderful place for our family vacation with 3 teens. We chose a 2 BR/2 bath condo. From the moment we checked in the staff was beyond pleasant and accommodating. When my mother called with an emergency, the front desk person recognized me as I walked in the door and gave me the message. Rooms were large and clean. Bathrooms were appointed with Aveda products...WOW! Just steps from the lobby was the Gondola to ride up the mountain which we did every night, enjoying the scenery and wildlife. Lionshead village was less than a minute walk to enjoy restaurants and shopping.

You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Check online for good discounts and packages!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgkdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

I just came back from 4 days at the LionsHead. I went for work and was pleasantly surprised. Typically my family and I stay at upscale resorts, but I must say this is the top location in Vail. It is right next to the gondola and perfect for skiing. Our conference was catered and the food was excellent. Aveda products are in all rooms and maid service was fabulous.
On the downside, it is a bit rustic and rooms vary. Colleagues had a room that was much nicer than ours. My boss had a condo and it was gorgeous--granite and stainless eat in kitchen with two bedrooms and a bath, fireplace in the family room. Back door opened to the gondola. When I go back this winter, my family will have a condo for skiing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie10306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

What a place. The location is perfect - right next to the gondola. Our 2 bedroom was quite large, spacious, clean and the kitchen had everything you would need. This is the best location in Lionshead. The hot tube is also realy nice.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AW-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We booked 2 apts (2 rooms each) for 6 days.
The apartments were very comfortable, and the location is absolutely the best in Lionhead.
If you think about Skiing in Vail, don´t miss the Lionsquare Lodge !!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Lion Square Lodge is older but can't be beat on location and service. The two bedroom that we stayed in was dated but very adequate for a family of four. It was very clean and the staff was exceptional. The hot tubs and pool were also clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDHAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We just returned from 4 nights at Lion Square and really can't complain about much of anything. We stayed in a single room with two double beds and found the rooms to be recently updated and clean. If I had to nit pick, my only complaints would be the rooms are on the small side and the beds are average at best, even after the renovation.

The location is great and the staff goes of their way to attend to any of your needs. The lodge also has any amenity you would require for a ski trip; hot tub, sauna, etc.

If you can score a good rate at Lion Square it's a no brainer.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We had a great time in Vail and a large part of that had to do with our stay at Lion Square. The location is perfect - right next to the Eagle Bahn gondola. Our room was quite large, spacious, clean and fairly well appointed with gas fireplace; we also had a balcony with view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We wholeheartedly recommend Lion Square to others.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Octra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £206 - £751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lionshead Village adjacent to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, Lion Square Lodge grants ski-in/ski-out access to the Vail Mountain Base area. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation types. The property’s comfortable hotel rooms sleep 2 to 4 people with a choice of one king-size bed or two queen beds. The 1- to 5-bedroom condominium units include a fully equipped kitchen, living room with gas fireplace, private balcony or patio, and a private bathroom for each bedroom. The Tower Residences at Lion Square are among the finest luxury Vail condominiums, boasting private elevator access, southern sun and spectacular unobstructed views of Vail Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing