We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredible find in vail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“incredible find in vail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We were incredibly delighted to find this hotel in a perfect location at a great price (and no additional parking fee). The room had a very usable mini-kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, utensils, plates, toaster, coffeepot). The room was very clean and well appointed, recently updated. Service at front desk was courteous and helpful--dinner suggestions, hiking maps, etc. We didn't use the hot tub but guest robes were provided. In-room humidifier was provided. Would stay here again--we're ordinarily bargain shoppers--even at twice the price (we paid $88).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    57
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
107
47
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson WI
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Tripadvisor does it again. I had read that this hotel had an excellent location but I was still suprised when I arrived. It really is right next to the lifts and right off of the river. We got a mountain view room and it was awesome.
Trip details:
You don't pay for parking but being a hotel guest you get to park in their gated parking lot. When we arrived we were buzzed in and found plenty of parking spots, (rare in Vail). When I walked in to the lobby the desk clerk had my rooms keys ready for me, pointed me to my room, and answered some of my questions about the area. He was great. Fastest check-in I've ever had.

The rooms had it all. Full kitchen, flat screen TV's, deck with grill, everything. The pools were also very nice, (and heated). The service at the hotel was great. One of the days it was raining outside and we did not have an umbrella. Normally we would not ask for an umbrella from the front desk but this time we did because this hotel seemed to have it all. Sure enough they had umbrellas for people to use.

This is my new Vail hotel. I found it at $166 which was a steal. I'm sure it is at least twice that in the winter months. Couple of places you should check out while in Vail, The Little Diner for breakfest and Bart and Yeit's for a burger. You are met at the door by the restaurant's two dogs, how cool is that.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjp644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Rooms are not as nice as advertised, mine was in desparate need of renovation. Great location. I doubt I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

The Lion's Square Lodge was a wonderful place for our family vacation with 3 teens. We chose a 2 BR/2 bath condo. From the moment we checked in the staff was beyond pleasant and accommodating. When my mother called with an emergency, the front desk person recognized me as I walked in the door and gave me the message. Rooms were large and clean. Bathrooms were appointed with Aveda products...WOW! Just steps from the lobby was the Gondola to ride up the mountain which we did every night, enjoying the scenery and wildlife. Lionshead village was less than a minute walk to enjoy restaurants and shopping.

You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Check online for good discounts and packages!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgkdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

I just came back from 4 days at the LionsHead. I went for work and was pleasantly surprised. Typically my family and I stay at upscale resorts, but I must say this is the top location in Vail. It is right next to the gondola and perfect for skiing. Our conference was catered and the food was excellent. Aveda products are in all rooms and maid service was fabulous.
On the downside, it is a bit rustic and rooms vary. Colleagues had a room that was much nicer than ours. My boss had a condo and it was gorgeous--granite and stainless eat in kitchen with two bedrooms and a bath, fireplace in the family room. Back door opened to the gondola. When I go back this winter, my family will have a condo for skiing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie10306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

What a place. The location is perfect - right next to the gondola. Our 2 bedroom was quite large, spacious, clean and the kitchen had everything you would need. This is the best location in Lionshead. The hot tube is also realy nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ - BRAZIL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

We booked 2 apts (2 rooms each) for 6 days.
The apartments were very comfortable, and the location is absolutely the best in Lionhead.
If you think about Skiing in Vail, don´t miss the Lionsquare Lodge !!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Property: Lion Square Lodge
Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing