We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For now, early risers only”
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lion Square Lodge
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I travel several times a year for business and one of my primary requirements from a hotel is the ability to have a good night's sleep. This hotel failed in that regard primarily because of construction, so this is a warning to anyone staying there in the next several months.

The entire Vail area is undergoing a billion-dollar makeover with much of the construction in the Lion's Head area. The Lion Square Lodge is a stone's throw from one of the largest projects. Construction starts at around 5:30am when delivery trucks arrive with the day's needed supplies. The steelworkers are climbing into place and setting up tools by 6:00am and are in full hammer and voice by 6:30am. If arising at those hours on vacation or a business trip are OK, then you can add a couple of stars to my rating. The noise on Saturday was confined to about 60-90 minutes around 7am and the workers were off on Sunday when I was there.

The noise is compounded by the fact the hotel has no AC (nobody I spoke with in the 8 days I was in Vail had AC in their hotel rooms, regardless of the hotel they were staying in) so your windows are open in the summer. Even with the window closed, it didn't help mute the noise much.

If you are a light sleeper like I am, then perhaps a creek-side (north side) room would have helped (it at least would have reduced the parking lot noise). Since there are a group of wood-frame houses being built just across Gore Creek you might just be trading steel work for hammers and saws.

Otherwise, the hotel is fabulous. The rates were surprisingly low and the excellent staff accomodated my every need. Broadband was fast, flawless, and free. The safe in the room actually fit my laptop, and it was also free. The microwave and 'fridge in the room allowed me to bring home evening dinner leftovers for lunch the next day. There is a fan and a humidifier provded free in the room.

The summer-running gondola is a short walk and even shorter bike ride away for sightseeing and mountain bike riders. Those looking to rent mountain bikes have about 6 shops with good equipment within 5 minutes walk. The mountain biking is fair, as nearly all the routes down the mountain are fire roads. All but one single track is too challenging for casual riders. The 9-Line (double-diamond) route is absolutely for experts only who have rented full-on downhill equipment (long-travel full suspension and full downhill protective gear) The 94-downhill trail (also double-diamond) was closed, but the locals told me it is equally challenging. The loop around the back of the mountain was very, very scenic but anyone not acclimated to the altitude should expect it to take a slow couple of hours. This was the sole single-track trail that doesn't require accomplished biking skills -- only good physical condition. I would not make a trip to Vail solely for mountain biking on the mountain.

For location, I would rate this one of the best hotels in the area. I would stay here again, though I would call the hotel directly to confirm a specific room to try and avoid the construction noise as steel workers at 6am is not good after a night out with your friends. Absent the construction noise, this is clearly a 5-circle (Excellent) hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Exp_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Lion Square Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights in late July. It was hard to find as the Lionhead village is undergoing major construction projects. However, eventually found our way to the Lodge and were checked in by very helpful and friendly staff.

Room was in the South Building which is the one nearest the pool. Decent sized room, comfy beds and clean. Nice bathroom amenities (Aveda), and room had fridge and coffee maker. The noise from the construction was slightly irritating - especially when they started crashing around at 6.30am... Still, we'd got a good price for the room...We had a Lodge room, but they also rent out apartments which would be handy for a longer stay and great in the winter.

The pool area is lovely and they provide changing rooms and towels. The hotel also offers free computer/internet access which was great.

If you get the chance, go up the gondola at night and dine at Game Creek Lodge - reservations essential. We had the most fabulous meal for a reasonable price.

6  Thank rmlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2006

We stayed here in January and loved it. This has got to be one of the best locations available anywhere in Vail. It is literally steps from the gondola. And, you can't be the ski valet. You can ski right to the sidewalk of the Lodge and then walk about 50 feet to the ski valet and then on to your room for a quick nap! Then back for more runs! After a good day of skiing, enjoy one of the two outdoor hot tubs while the snow comes down on your face. This is living! I will stay here every time I come to Vail from now on. You definitely want to ask for a mountain-view or streamside room. Yes, the rooms and decor are a little dated, but I'm sure it depends on the owner of your unit. The conceirge is just average though. Not much personality. Front desk staff was friendly. There is a van that goes to the grocery store every night, which is very handy. Bell staff was great too. Overall, great memories here.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank will_the_thrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Prescott, Arizona
14
Reviewed 27 February 2006

Unlike most of the properties in Lionshead, this one has a 24 hour front desk and a really really nice pool. It also has a great location right next to the gondola. This is a nice improvement over the low service condos that surround the area. They even offer a ski vallet.

My only complaint is the Mezzaluna Restaurant is rather pricey.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FLMad_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roycebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2006

Stayed: January 2006
5  Thank Rob1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.9 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Address: 660 Lionshead Pl, Vail, CO 81657-5295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#10 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#13 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £155 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lionshead Village adjacent to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, Lion Square Lodge grants ski-in/ski-out access to the Vail Mountain Base area. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation types. The property’s comfortable hotel rooms sleep 2 to 4 people with a choice of one king-size bed or two queen beds. The 1- to 5-bedroom condominium units include a fully equipped kitchen, living room with gas fireplace, private balcony or patio, and a private bathroom for each bedroom. The Tower Residences at Lion Square are among the finest luxury Vail condominiums, boasting private elevator access, southern sun and spectacular unobstructed views of Vail Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing