We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay for friends wedding!”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for friends wedding!”
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed a total of three nights at the Sonnenalp. We were upgraded to a 1 bed suite with a beautiful fireplace/soaking tub. Most of the rooms have balconies with flower boxes filled to the rim hanging off. Our room had no balcony as it was on the corner. We were able to switch to a room with a balcony, but would have sacrificed the larger suite, so we opted not to. We viewed many of the rooms as our whole group was staying at the hotel. We were there for a wedding taking place at the hotel. Many of the rooms were beautiful. We especially enjoyed the heated marble bathroom floors. Luxury! And also the free internet service. There is nothing more you could want at this hotel for service. Best part of stay ~ The breakfast buffet each morning. Wow!! This is how it should be done...let all the other aspiring hotels take note as to how the Sonnenalp does things. The food was fantastic! The scenery/grounds were beautiful! We also ate at the Bully Ranch for lunch in the hotel. I had a Great Hill Blue cheeseburger that was to die for. Loved being able to get our local great hill blue out in Colorado. The wedding was held in the restaurant of the hotel and the food was soooo good.
I would like also to mention too that we waited sometimes for the elevators. The hotel was full and that would be expected, , but what was disconcerting was that the housekeeping staff was riding the guest elevators instead of the service elevators. We often had to wait. This did not impact our stay negatively at all, but if we were snobs, and paid peak season prices, it may have bothered us. I would give the Sonnenalp a good 5* for an excellent stay and excellent service. The Vail Village area is absolutely magical! Try the Creperie down the street, good gelato/crepes. Try La Bottega for italian. Try Tap room for excellent burgers.

  • Liked — Location, Buffet Breakfast
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snl1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    88
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
241
376
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We stayed at the Sonnenalp for 2 nights in September, on the recommendation of previous TA reviews. We hadn't been to Colorado before but had been staying in Castle Rock, visiting Denver itself, the Rocky Mountain Nat Park, Colorado Springs etc. which were all great but Vail is different in that it is much "prettier" and Alpine-like than other perhaps more rugged, stark areas of the Rockies. We fell in love with it immediately and the Sonnenalp does not disappoint.

It is very centrally located and the exterior is just like a Swiss hotel, only a few stories high with flower-filled baskets overhanging from the balconies. I don't think I've ever had a more welcoming check-in from a receptionist - she was German but with an excellent grasp of English and had obviously done her homework and immediately knew who we were, and was very thorough in her explanation of both the Hotel and the surrounding area.

Our room was lovely and immaculate (as were all public areas) - all modern touches but still managing to retain the charm of an Alpine hotel - no mean feat! We had 2 Queen beds, big flat-screen TV, a huge bathroom with 2 sinks, bath, shower, etc, and a balcony overlooking the pedestrianised street below.

We ate breakfast in the conservatory - too much to choose from at the buffet and all fresh and beautifully presented! We also ate in 2 of the Hotel's restaurants - Bully Ranch (good for burgers etc) and the Swiss Chalet (good for Fondues etc). We didn't try their fine dining Ludwig's as it was a bit pricey - but perhaps nice for a special occasion.

Both nights after our meal we sat in the King's Club bar to have a drink and relax. There were 2 excellent singers/ musicians to entertain us and it was a nice way to round off an evening.

The spa area looked beautiful but we didn't actually use it - perhaps if the weather had been unkind we would have. However, the sun was shining so the only part we did use (after a 3 hour walk along the Vail trail!) was the gorgeous outdoor pool and loungers. Heaven for weary legs!

We were absolutely "smitten" with Vail and would not hesitate to recommend the Sonnenealp to anyone visiting the area.

  • Liked — The whole package!
  • Disliked — $20 nightly charge for valet parking - a bit cheeky on top of accom rate!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
401 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Stayed here just one night on a small road trip through Colorado. This hotel exceeded our expectations. Great convenient location able to walk to everything in town. Staff was extremely courteous with every question. Loved the room, we went with just a king room but size was great and bathroom was large with a neat shower. Small balcony overlooked parking courtyard, nothing special as to the view but we were mostly in the town. Turn down service was nice. Price was decent compared to Vail and Denver for the type room.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

After a 5-day stay in Breckenridge, we headed to Vail for more Colorado fun. Sonnenalp is a pretty, full-service hotel, and we looked forward to some relaxation and pampering. We had booked a 2-bedroom suite, and Sonnenalp graciously upgraded us to a bigger suite, with 2 bedrooms, 3 incredible bathrooms, living area, and 2 decks. The suite was clean, with nice furniture. The marble bathrooms, with heated floors, were outstanding. From our decks, we had gorgeous views of the mountains. The hotel has a beautiful spa area, including pool, hot tubs, and bar. Our rate included a wonderful daily breakfast. I had a great massage in the spa. We loved hanging out in the spa area, and found it to be the best public spot in the hotel. A nice touch is the fruit that can always be found in the lobby.

We were able to borrow bikes from the concierge desk, which was a surprise. The hotel could communicate better what is included in the rate - we were left wondering what other amenities we could have enjoyed for free.

The hotel seemed either slightly understaffed or incorrectly staffed. One night, we had to use the little bit of Spanish we know to say no to turn down service - at 9:30 PM. We were traveling with a 2-year old, so this was a bit inconvienent. Valet parking was continually a nightmare. I think they ran out of parking spaces each day (in August - what is this like during peak ski season?!). To get your car into valet, cars would be lined up on the road in front of Sonnenalp, creating a lot of congestion. On top of our $800/night rate, they charged us for daily parking and also a babysitter $20 for the 4 hours she was there. One final note on staffing: breakfast had a lot of slow-moving bus staff, and not enough wait staff (who were constantly running around helping the bus staff clear & set the tables). On a positive note, all the wait staff and the hostess were incredibly nice to our 2-year old.

If the hotel could address the valet parking, amenity communication and under/incorrect staffing, I would have given this property 5 stars. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Sonnenalp and recommend it.

  • Liked — Spa area
  • Disliked — Valet parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

As a Leading Hotel Of The World one expects perfection. They have lost that. The staff, here for 18 months then back home, are for the most part good, it is a nice touch to have European Staff. With the exception of Hispanic maids that are afraid to talk to you. When we booked we asked for village view, sure enough right above the parking lot! The next morning no hot water! The front desk gave me a so what attitude, I asked for the manager. A good old New Yorker, she jump right on it and moved us to a suite on the other side of the hotel with hot water. Still a nice place, great food, good service, but overpriced and has lost the LHW luster.

  • Liked — Food in the Swiss Chalet and Ludwigs
  • Disliked — Tired facilities.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kantelecircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

This European style hotel is one of the best I have stayed at. The hotel is in a nice location just a short walk from the village, bike and hiking trails. The property is not huge but because of its location it does not need to be.

What I loved about this hotel

·The setting around the pool area (I just felt like I was in the Alps laying by a creek enjoying relaxing).

·The European feel of the whole property.

·The breakfast buffet (the buffet is very similar to what you might find in Germany and they will even make soft boiled eggs when requested).

·The room (we received a free upgrade for no reason and the room was so comfortable and at night I could hear the creek running).

·The service was the best I have ever had at a hotel property (we received free bike rentals, upgraded room, the best breakfast buffet I have ever had included in the price of the room, late checkout and whenever we wanted something like a coffee maker for the room it was there in a few seconds).

·The hamburger I had at the Bully Ranch restaurant (if you enjoy indulging in a hamburger every now and then this is the place to go , it was so good).

·You feel valued at this hotel, and they don’t over charge you for food. For instance my hamburger was only something like nine dollars (they give you choices).

Overall, I just loved this hotel and felt the service was fantastic. I am picky when it comes to hotels and I don’t think one can go wrong with this property. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a beautiful comfortable setting, delicious food, cozy rooms, and fantastic service.

  • Liked — The setting of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank malyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed here for just one night, but it was a lovely experience. The room was immaculate, the bedding superb, and the breakfast that was included was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing