We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Quaint Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Quaint Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Sonnenalp was a wonderful resort. Great location in Vail with fantastic service. The turn-down service with a soft cookie and cold water was a nice touch. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was luxurious, I loved the heated marble floors! We enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Vail.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting your beautiful photographs.
I am happy to read that your stay was so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    86
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
232
363
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I love this resort. It is upscale with a relaxed atmosphere. My husband and I were very comfortable. Every aspect of the service was excellent. Our room was fabulous, with wonderful views of the garden, the most comfortable hotel bed I have every been in, wonderful amenities. I really appreciated the turn-down service with a fresh bottle of water and fresh baked cookies each night. I would light the gas fireplace and enjoy my cookie thinking what I would be doing if I were home right now....oh how I love vacation. The Spa was so relaxing. I felt like the pool and hot tub was an oasis surrounded by the aspen trees, lovely wild flowers with the sound of the waterfall and creek in the back ground. We used the exercise room each day and also treated ourselves to a massage...heavenly. I appreciated the small touches in the spa, such as the fresh apples/oranges that you could help yourself to and the fresh water with either lemon, orange or lime. I spent at least 2 hours each day in this spa oasis and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is perfect. In the middle of Vail, you can walk to everything. I would recommend this property and I will stay there every time I go to Vail.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your special anniversary with us. We strive for Sonnenalp to be a place for special occasions, different from a place you might find anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have stayed at the Sonnenalp several times, both winter and summer. Just returned from a week there for our summer vacation. The hotel is right in Vail Village, and we enjoyed a room with a balcony overlooking Gore Creek and the mountain, and surrounded by lovely aspen trees.

Staying at the Sonnenalp is really a part of the vacation experience. It is luxury and charm all together. Forget the commercial "luxury chains." This hotel is a genuine Bavarian design in architecture and appointments. Look for the beautiful wood carvings along the ceilings and walls of various spaces.

It's obvious why this property is among the Luxury Hotels of the World. Outstanding service is consistent among all of its staff that you come into contact with. A delicious European breakfast buffet. Elegant dining at Ludwig's (winter season). A comfy bar that lures you into a nightcap. The casual open-air Bully Ranch restaurant attracts patrons from outside the hotel, too. Elegant Frette towels, robes and bedding.

You will see the owner, Johannes, a fourth generation hotelier, watching over the property. And, and he likes to meet his guests.

If you're a golfer, play the challenging Sonnenalp course, and also enjoy panoramic mountain views. It's about a 20-minute drive from the hotel, and the club is run equally as well the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Gore Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for nice comments.
We will continue to make Sonnenalp truly different and special both through the look and design of our facilities and through our engaged and dedicated team. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We just spent 4 days at this incredible hotel in the middle of Vail. We'd had breakfast there years ago and knew we wanted to stay there sometime. We now consider it the best hotel in Vail. It's so well run - the views are awesome - it's within walking distance to just about any restaurant or shopping you could desire. The pool area was absolutely perfect next to the creek and under the Aspens. So very peaceful! We looked forward to breakfast every morning because of the food and the glass room and patio. The spa and our services there were the best I've had in any hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor overlooking the pool and creek - there were no noise issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackedAndReady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for your review.
Vail is a wonderful village and we are lucky to have such a premier location. Close to everything and yet secluded and sheltered by gore creek and beautiful mountain landscape. I am glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed over a weekend to just get away into the mountains from the heat. The Sonnenalp was the perfect choice. It is lovely! There are several areas, both inside and outside of the resort, where you can just sit back and relax! The breakfast buffet is FANTASTIC! You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deblrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am happy you so much enjoyed our breakfast on our creek side terrace. It truly is a magical venue during the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having frequented the Vail Valley for more than 30 years, I have come to find the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail to be one of the finest resort experiences available. Centrally located in Vail, you are moments away from fine dining, shopping, bike paths and hiking. We enjoyed the Farmers Market on Sunday morning just outside the Resort.

From the warmth of the staff upon arriving; Valet (happy to wash your vehicle should it need attention) to Front Desk welcome; the Bed & Breakfast approach (cozy warm and welcoming) to our stay, for our most recent 5 day stay was wonderful. There are a number of rooming choices and we elected the Blue Spruce Suite which is the smallest suite available. Quite comfortable for 2 of us with a King bed. The thread count of the sheets is amazing and the marble bathroom with 2 sinks, separate shower and king sized tub-wonderful. Each night turn down is provided with warm cookies, robes and slippers provided. The wireless used to be complimentary and is now $11 per 24 hours-while unfortunate-a sign of the times I suppose. Our suite had its own gas fireplace and a view to the Gore Creek out our balcony window-quiet and soothing at night to hear the white noise of the creek from our open window.

The gourmet breakfast buffet can be included with a room package and is highly recommended. You may order certain items such as eggs benedict and made to order omelets with your server. They also have gluten free options-waffles, French Toast etc. The outdoor atrium for breakfast over looks Gore Creek and is beautiful.

Kings Court is a bar and entertainment venue. We enjoyed appetizers and drinks each evening by the large firelplace prior to heading out to dinner. The appetizers are substantial so order sparingly but amazing with the mushroom Quesidilla being one of our favorites. Ian, the bartender is engaging and the staff who support Kings Court are excellent in the service department. We enjoyed live music 3 of the 4 nights we stayed and enjoyed the after dinner scene prior to heading up to our suite.

The Spa is intimate but first rate- 80 minute massage was wonderful. The workout facility is modest in size as well but well equipped with all the usual suspects and free weights. Complimentary Yoga is offered as well on most days. The pool is both inside and outside with matching hot tubs. All in pristine condition.

Bully Ranch which is a restaurant within the Sonnenalp, was the weakest link of the resort as we had 2 lunches that were a "B-". Our fish tacos were not cooked completely and the service was not the A+ effort we experiened everywhere else at the resort. A small blemish to an otherwise wonderful experience. For an intimate, first rate resort experience in the Vail Valley, I would highly recommend The Sonnenalp Resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
thank you your review.
I appreciate all you nice comments but also you feedback on the Bully Ranch.
We will pay partcular attention to those items in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Luxury hotel chains seek to compete against each other by offering more marble and higher sheet thread counts. To a degree, I have bought into that marketing. However, on our recent stay at the Sonnenalp, I learned that a truly memorable stay is tied to the warmth and graciousness of the staff. The Sonnenalp appears to understand this more than perhaps any other hotel with which I have stayed. Everyday of our stay, the staff of the Sonnenalp warmly said hello to me by name and did all they could to ensure that our stay was exceptional. The restaurant staff was especially gracious and personable. I noticed that one restaurant staff person always stood scanning the room in the event that a guest needed something. That sums up well the level of vigilant service provided by every staff person at the Sonnenalp. We stayed at the resort for a family wedding, which was spectacular -- the setting was beautiful (alongside a cold-water stream shaded by pines), the food superb (not an exaggeration), and the experience was unforgettable. We will have to find the time to stay again. We really enjoyed our stay. It was truly memorable. Don't pass up the breakfast -- every detail of which appears to have been exceptionally prepared by the chef. There will alway be a new, lavish resort. I have attended many. But I cannot say of many of them what I can say about the Sonnenalp -- that my stay was unforgettable.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel is superb and shielded from traffic. As a result, I don't think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We consider ourselves fortunate to have a wonderful team of dedicated employees and I could not agree more that it is them that make all the difference. This is what we intend to make the Sonnenalp Experience different. I am happy that our team succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing