We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel In All Respects”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Excellant rooms with a staff that is friendly and give Excellant service! The very best in every way! Do not miss staying here or having something to eat or drink! The location is also Excellant. Breakfast is very good and rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

A wonderful stay, great service, delicious breakfast & morning coffee, comfortable spaces. I was there for a wedding and enjoyed having everything so close by. The entire space was really well-suited for for the wedding. It was perfect. Next time, I'll be sure to book a massage while I'm there, and perhaps just stay a few days longer. A friend if mine kept saying, “I just want to live here.”

Room Tip: I had a junior suite on the 3rd floor just above the entrance and it was great. I slept with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. A wedding here at the Sonnenalp is truly a special occasion.

I am so happy to read that we met your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back to Vail in the near future. Hopefully you will get a chance to enjoy our Spa next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were at the Sonnenalp for a wedding on Memorial Day weekend this year and were quite impressed with this mid-sized idyllic Vail mountain retreat. They have a beautiful pool area (indoor/outdoor) surrounded by Aspen and Evergreens, with Gore Creek running by the edge of the property.

As a family on a budget, we were looking to keep our expenditures under control and were very pleased to find daily specials at their onsite restaurants. We ate at the Bully Ranch and had an excellent meal there. The interior library and lounges were very cozy and we enjoyed the Bavarian décor.

Probably most importantly, the staff here was truly exceptional. My wife has Celiac disease and has to eat gluten free meals. The staff was very friendly and happy to advise us (and research) both on-site and off-site restaurants as to the availability of gluten free entrees. We loved our stay and plan to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starvedtodeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sonnenalp for a one-night break-away from our care-giving duties and had a wonderful time. Everything about the Sonnenalp was beyond our expectations and made us very homesick for Europe.

The reception staff, bellmen, restaurant and just every staff member we encountered was friendly, professional and welcoming in the most sincere manner. The construction, finishes and furnishings found in every corner of the hotel were exceptional and authentic to the last detail of what a fine Alpine hotel looks like. Having lived in four different European countries during our time abroad and taken vacations in Bavaria, Switzerland and the Julian Alps, we know what to expect when visiting those places and the Sonnenalp met and exceeded those standards.

This hotel is a real gem and a true European experience right here in the USA. Class, style, sincere and friendly service, you name what you're seeking and the Sonnenalp delivers. On top of all that, the breakfast buffet was the finest we have ever seen in America. You name the item and it was there--fresh, homemade and delicious. Even the coffee was exceptional.

if you're looking for a great vacation and hotel experience, go no further than the Sonnenalp in Vail. Just superb!

Room Tip: Room 442 was beautiful with a nice view and just plain comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have stayed at the Sonnenalp many times over the years and it never fails to please our entire family. The place is very well maintained and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a mid-sized charming hotel in central Vail village.

A couple of notes:

1. The larger suites are well suited for families. Many having a separate bedroom. some with 2 floors and multiple baths.
2. The indoor spa area and pool does not allow young children. This is a new development over the past couple of years. We have been going there for several years so this is irritating to us but may not be for others. Aside from that, the spa, pool and hot tub areas are lovely both in the winter and summer months.
3. The fondue restaurant is very fun and good as is the Bully Bar for lunch. Ludwigs is great for breakfast buffet, don't miss is, but I would skip it for dinner at the price point in favor of some of the other great restaurants in Vail.
4. The prices and packages for the Sonnenalp vary WILDLY. I've stayed there with others who have twice the room for less than I have paid and vice versa. Do price compare web sites as they very frequently run specials. Finding deals durring peak ski season is effectively impossible.
5. The staff is very good and they have nice concierges services for both winter and summer activities. Ski storage by the lift, bike rentals…etc.

Room Tip: Suites facing the pool / creek area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is a review that I forgot to write last year. I enjoyed my second stay at the Sonnenalp much more than the first. The breakfast was excellent, the staff friendly and accomodating, and the room very nice with a great view of the stream, pool and woods. I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Absolutely gorgeous property that has done an impeccable job of carrying its brand identity throughout the resort, from staff service to furnishings to cuisine to the tiniest details and fixings in the room. We never did get the radiant heating in the bathroom to work, and the elevators are comically slow. Otherwise, not a complaint.

Room Tip: We had a gorgeous suite on the 5th floor with sitting area and huge bathroom. The ceilings are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NellDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in Vail
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £260 - £815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing