We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Bavarian Charm”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I grew up in Bavaria and the Sonnenalp really looks like it was picked up out Bavaria and dropped in Vail. It appears that no expense was spared in duplicating the true Bavarian experience. Everything from the carpets to the light fixtures to the wood ceilings in 'Ludwigs' was imported from Germany. So needless to say I felt at home! The owners are naturually from Germany and many of the staff at the front desk and in several of the restaurants were from Germany. Two guys who work in Ludwigs, namely Stefan and Sascha were very nice and efficient. One morning at breakfast in Ludwigs I mentioned that it was my friends birthday and Sascha actually remembered this and had a coupon for a free drink delivered to our room. Little touches like that make me appreciate the Sonnenalp and would make me want to return.

While I loved the hotel and staff the food in the restaurants was just okay. One night I at in the Swiss Chalet and although the decor was authentic the food was not so great. I ordered duck with knodel and the duck was just warm, not hot, and the Knodel was actually cool in the middle. At Ludwigs I had fish one night and the fish was very fishy tasting and I could not finish it, and this is from a fish lover. The breakfast at Ludwigs was, however, very good though not cheap.
In Summary, the hotel is very comfortable with authentic decor, nice soft beds, and a great staff. I did book through Travelociy and paid to have breakfast included but when I checked out I had a big charge for three days of breakfast. The front desk staff was nice and removed the charge but you have to always check your bil! The food, except for breakfast, was just okay.
Regarding Vail, the skiing was perfect!! Great slopes and lots of options for all range of skiiers. On the downside the town at least around Val Village seemed like a 'fake town'. Lots of nice very expensive art galleries, clothing stores, and restaurants, but if you wanted to find a drugstore, pharmacy, or supermarket you needed to get in your car and leave the area. I would stay in the Sonnenalp again though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eibsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband had stayed here in the summer for a business conference and was so impressed he insisted we go back during ski season. We booked through LHW web site and chose the Blue Spruce suite. We didn't know that the view is of the street, which was our only disappointment. Should have asked! The room and bath were plenty of space, with a lovely electric fireplace. Cookies and filled ice bucket greeted us each day after skiing. We took advantage of the spa for a day, enjoying the massages, steam shower, sauna, and indoor hot tub. The bar for Apres ski was perfect, with large fireplace, great wine list, appetizers and music, not to mention the concierge suggested restaurants that were fantastic. The Bridge Street Ski Haus also caters to Sonnenalp guests with ski/boot storage, boot heaters, coffee and cookies just at the bottom of the Gondola. Wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Ask for view of courtyard over looking pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdtraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Sonnenalp always wins my vote for consistency. Most of the international staff there are always a pleasure to deal with, and they seem to genuinely care about making my stay great. Rooms are plush/very comfortable and there's always a honey toblerone waiting in the fridge for that midnight snack.

Pool area is fantastic. Can swim from the indoor right to the outdoor pool. Outdoor pool located along side Vail Stream. Perfect!

Gym also great. You can open the sliding glass doors so it makes you feel like you are exercising outside! Also located next to pool and stream.

Room Tip: I always prefer my room overlooking the village. The balcony in the room is always a great place in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyLineExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I went for business to vail with a customer and my boss. The Four Seasons was full so we ended up here. The staff was outstanding from check in to the cleaning staff. Great workout, spa, and hot tub facilities. Fresh baked cookies in your room each day are hard to resist. Heated tile bathroom floor was a nice touch in the middle of the night. Room was nicely appointed, lots of wood like a Colorado cabin. Concierge emailed great restaurant reservations before we arrived.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kurtisa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Historic Gem! Atmosphere and Service are worth the price at this chic resort. Has great food and a great spa! You will feel right at home. Great location. Great breakfast buffet! Went to the spa and got a massage by Mick, he was great. Live piano music and entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilyane512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Found a great deal at the Sonnenalp during shoulder season and couldn't have been happier. Not only were they fantastic in terms of quality and service, but they offered a perfectly dog friendly environment.

Room and amenities (including heated bathroom floor) were outstanding. Spotlessly clean, and who doesn't love fresh cookies for turndown service?

Even camping out having drinks in the lobby, the staff brought my lab a water bowl while we relaxed. That sort of attention to detail is just over the top.

And of course, the location in the heart of Vail, walking distance to everything.. perfect. You couldn't ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We loved the Sonnenalp! We stayed here for 3 days and had a great time. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the fireplace was a nice touch. The ski concierge is not as easy as the hotel makes it seem. We needed equipment and apparel rental and you cannot get both at the concierge so we did spend more time than expected running around trying to get sorted (lost a half day of skiing the best powder they have had in years). Once sorted, we did have an amazing day of skiing. The hot tub and indoor outdoor pool was so relaxing after a full day of skiing. Parking is very expensive and we managed to save a few dollars using public parking. You do not need to drive anywhere once settled at Sonnenalp. The breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheworld03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £183 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing