We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“destination”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

the sonnenalp in vail is the reason to visit. it is the destination. vail itself is indeed a beautiful, if artificial, mountain resort, but the sonnenalp surpasses its location. of course, in season it is very expensive, but we were there out of season and got a great deal. the rooms (we were in a junior suite) are enormous, fireplace and balcony included, and the bathrooms spa-like. it is appointed impeccably from top to bottom. the hotel personnel are really professional and friendly, and do their best to provide the customer with a relaxing, first class experience. if you get the chance to stay here, grab it and don't look back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominicandandy35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here and felt like we had been on vacation for a long time. Impeccable cleanliness, service beyond compare and a wonderful, cozy room all added up to excellence! We loved the pool and hot tub area. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was in Vail undergoing hip surgery at the Steadman in January. I stayed at the Sonnenalp at the recommendation of several sources when researching the trip. It was definitely the right decision.

The staff was more than helpful, they were actually interested in my situation. More often than not staff asked about my procedure and recovery and remembered the previous conversations. In order to find me the most comfortable combination off facilities, the hotel moved me to a more accessible room, modified my bed height, shuttled me to the clinic when required and extended my stay despite difficulty, (peak season in Vail).

The rooms have a comfortable feel, they are larger but unpretentious, and relaxing. No leather or chrome surfaces. Overstuffed arm chairs and couches. Fireplace. Hard to leave.

Our food was mainly room service due to being laid up and was for the most part good if a bit limited. Recommendation: try the A La Car service. Many restaurants in the village will deliver off their menu to your room for a premium. Buy your wine across the street at Grappa Fine Wines. If you are not laid up after hip surgery you have many choices of restaurants within 100 feet of the door.

Location in the village is among the best you can get. Wish I was more mobile to explore.

Highly recommended: If you are travelling to Vail for treatment at the Steadman Clinic, ask for their medical room rates. This will save you substantial amounts of money for a 5 star hotel any time of year.

I look forward to going back at the next opportunity, many thanks to the staff again, cheers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Once inside the hotel, you won't want to leave. We stayed in a Jr. Suite which was very roomy, with a fireplace and balcony. The decor is old world and very authentic. Antiques from Europe adorn the hallways and the ambiance is soothing. The location is ideal and the best shopping and restaurants in Vail surround the hotel.

The service is amazing and for skiers, the free bus serving Vail stops at Sonnealp. This makes it easy to get to Golden Peak and onto the ski lift without walking more than 50 yards.

The staff and service couldn't be better. This is our favorite place in Vail, and being 'locals' from Denver, we have had many stays in at the ski resorts in Colorado.

Room Tip: Go for the Jr. Suite. Very cozy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Plenty of reasons to rank the Sonnenalp as one of the best hotels in our world-wide travels. The suites are spacious with spa luxury bathrooms, large windows, balconies, fireplaces, and entertainment centers. Although on the pricey side, they match value for dollar. You will appreciate the turn down service, complete with chocolate cookies and bedside water decanters.
On site restaurants are excellent; be sure to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the sunroom.

The spa is enormous with an accommodating staff. Make sure to have a massage and ask for Mark.

Our only complaint, lamps need more wattage for readers. We were here for four days and will certainly return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Sonnenalp is the best hotel in Vail. I used to come here each year as a kid with my family for our ski trips out West. The hotel service is amazing, the rooms are very nice and very clean, the breakfast is good, and the spa is unbelievable. I still remember the half indoor/half outdoor pool at the Sonnenalp. As kids, my brothers and I loved the pool (it was our "apres-ski" spot).

The hotel also has some great restaurants attached to it. Bully Ranch is good Western, barbecue style food. This is more of a casual family style place. The Swiss Chalet, the fondue restaurant, is incredible. We always went here one night during our stay and were never dissapointed.

I highly recommend the Sonnenalp. I can't comment on the prices but I'd say from experience, the hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

sonnenalp is way better than arrabelle in service. slightly better than four seasons in service. the staff at sonnenalp are more refined. rooms at four seasons slightly nicer. breakfast at sonnenalp great, except they charge u for a cappuccino -- unnecessary. ludwig is good. bully ranch is not great, chipotle fast-food is better. sonnenalp is best in vail.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snownyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £183 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing