We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonnenalp
Nearby Hotels
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Christiania at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$187
Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebastian - Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$311
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$10,979
US$1,097
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vail Mountain Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$324
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveller rating
973
100
26
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
100
26
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbully ranchswiss chaletfondueoxygen barcookiesking's clubjuniper roomheated floorsspa areabreakfast buffetturn down servicethe indoor outdoor pooljunior suiteski hauseuropean feelski conciergefavorite hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Once we planned a week's vacation to Colorado to visit our adult children, my husband took over making our hotel reservations. He chose the Grand Dame of Vail Village, the Sonnenalp. What a delightful hotel! From the perfect location in the heart of the Village to the Staff in dirndls and traditional Bavarian garb, to the charming, unique guest rooms and suites, it was the perfect hotel for our family to gather for the the 4th of July holiday weekend.

Unlike so many resort websites that misrepresent or make a property look different than reality, the Sonnenalp is every bit as lovely as the photos on their website!! The rooms are lovely and unique with comfortable beds and duvets. The robes, towels and toiletries in the bathrooms are all top quality, and whether you get to the spa or not, their is a bathrobe for every guest. Freshly made chocolate chip cookies were part of the nightly turn down service!

While you have many options just steps from the front door, you don't ever have to leave Sonnenalp. Your day starts with an extensive breakfast buffet, where you are welcomed and seated by Corky who quickly knows you and all of the members of your family. Dinner options in Bully Ranch, Ludwigs and the Swiss Chalet (fondue) are all winners. We also had a great time hanging out in the spacious lobby/bar where there was live music each night, and a library with books, games, puzzles (and a TV for watching World Cup Soccer).

The Spa, Fitness Center and Pool gave everyone in the family something to do to relax and enjoy the holiday weekend.

This is a lovely resort, with genuine Gemutlichkeit!! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloryGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you your visit and taking the time to write this review.
I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and found Sonnenalp to be what we strive for every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Going to Vail for the first time we decided on staying at the Sonnenalp and we are so happy we did! The Blue Spruce Suite was spacious and had everything we needed. The best part about our room was the beautiful view. Front desk was very helpful and all the staff were great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 918Darling_Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

the most elegant brunch, with gorgeous service and amazing food.
we come to ludgwigs usually 3 times while we are here on a 3 week stay.
the solarium in the summer and in the winter is just spectacular.
you think you died and woke up in heaven.
highly recommend.

Room Tip: brunch is a must and bully ranch for casual fare with outdoor seating in the summer is such a delight.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were nice. Pool was nice. Front desk was not very helpful. Food is average but expensive. Bill was way off when we checked out. Two weeks after we had left, the hotel charged some more stuff to my credit card without my authorization. I would think they would need my permision or at least the courtesy of a phone call. There was no way to prove whether the additional charges were accurate as it was 6 weeks later when it showed up on my credit card bill. It was maddening. I guess it is all about them. Not the 5 star experience they advertise. I would advise you to keep looking elsewhere. Disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank southgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

My sincerest apologies for the treatment you received at our hotel.
Several things cleary went wrong.
We will do our utmost to assure better service in the area of your concern.

Thank you for the opportunity to fix ths.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On a day trip to Vail, we decided to find a room in the village to continue to enjoy the charm of Vail Village in the summer. Without a reservation, searching for a walk-in rate, the staff at the Sonnenalp enticed us to stay. Raphael and Evelyn introduced us to the hotel, showed us various room types and negotiated with me to give us the best rate possible to enable us to stay. I had been on line and seen all of the misleading ridiculous rates from travel sites that never actually have access to such rates. They cut through all of that and spared me the effort. The hotel is charming and the room was delightful. Joseph (valet) was so helpful and welcoming when we moved in for a short, but perfect night at this lovely hotel. I will be back next summer!

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the pool area have a small balcony and a garden feel with the doors open to the fresh mountain air
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews