We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Sonnenalp and had a wonderful time. You can really tell the difference in the amount of service in a family owned property. We were greeted so kindly when we arrived and were immediately upgraded to a better room. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. We were there on a ski vacation and the Sonnenalp has a place at the base of the slopes to keep all of your ski equipment. It could not be easier to just ski down, drop off the equipment and take a leisurely stroll back to the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, although the staff seemed a bit thin at times. Overall, I would rate our experience as excellent and we will be returning.

  • Liked — Room and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    87
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
237
369
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed Jan 17th-19th in room 446, one of the smaller two level Mill creek suites with a view of the chapel and the creek. Note: The chapel chimes only until 8 o'clock. This is a very quiet section of the hotel and we never heard another soul during our stay. We paid 940$/night and booked it last minute so we did not get a deal. Alpine package includes breakfast and two lift tickets. The spa is fantastic, the pool and hot tubs very nice. Service overall and on check out/in gets an A. There were some items on our bill that were erroneous and removed instantly.

Service at the King's Club was immediate. We were skiing both days and the concierge will take your skis/boots and put them in your own private locker next to the vista bahn lift. It's a nice walk through the village to the lift. We were concerned at first, but it is a perfect location. We rented a car from the eagle airport and they did not charge us for parking but that may have been an oversight--or it may have been part of our alpine package.

This is a great year to go skiing at Vail as the economy has kept many away. We spoke to one guest at the hotel who had booked an el cheapo Juniper room and had been upgraded to a large junior suite. My sense is they will upgrade you if its available. Even during the peak ski season.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

This hotel is literally home away from home and a gem in Vail Village. It is possibly the most accomodating hotel in which I have ever had the priviledge to stay and certainly the best experience in the Colorado mountains. The hotel offers many convienences for travelers and the staff is more than willing to go above and beyond to make your stay special and memorable.

Checking in was easy and our room was very spacious with a small siting area and a very cozy bed. The bathrooms are large and up to date with a walk-in shower and whirlpool tub. The property has two restaurants (a little pricey for breakfast) and a pub-style bar in the lobby area. Music was available each night in the lounge which is equiped with many comfortable chairs and sofas. Should you feel like venturing off the property in the evening, there are many restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel.

The library offers a place to play a game of checkers or sit and enjoy a hot tea and book. The workout facilities are very nice with multiple cardio machines and a small weight section. The spa is WONDERFUL and has an indoor/outdoor heated pool. Spa staff are very professional and offer a number of servies. Very refreshing after a day on the slopes. The slopes are extremely close via a short walk or ride on the Vail bus system if you are in ski gear. The hotel offers ski/boot storage on site.

Another plus, the hotel is pet friendly and offered our two labradors five star treatment as well. Staff were willing to pet sit and provide walks during the day upon request. We always made it back, but it was nice to know that was an option should we like to have them take care of them. I know hearing "pet friendly" may offer a different image of this beautiful hotel, but it is truly nice/clean and you would never know that other pets are even on the premises.

The location is situated right off the highway in Vail Village. If you fly into Denver International, the hotel is an easy drive up the mountain or use a driving service if you are not accustomed to mountian driving, like me. I used a company called Hommes James which was a great service! Very easy to use. Otherwise, there is also a smaller airport in Vail but prices are usually a little higher to fly into that airport.

We love the Sonnenalp and hope to return again for our third year in a row.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelBumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

We spent our honeymoon at the greatest hotel ever. I picked this place from Leading Hotels of the World book. The service is second to none- they truly care about details and making your stay great. We got a room upgrade due to some painting on another floor- the bathrooms are incredible. I cannot think of one thing I would want different for our stay. Highly recommend the Bully Ranch for Lunch- great food!!. Make sure to book things with Victor- he knew everything and would never hesitate to help plan an adventure. We went in off season and got to enjoy the wonderful dining of Vail at local deals. OVerall- great stay and a great honeymoon- now we have to try Sonnenalp of Austria!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank JL254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Vail has a myriad of condo accomodations, but the Sonnenalp is a full service hotel resort spa which is among the very best. Following a year long renovation in 2006, this hotel located in the heart of Vail, has become our clear favorite. The staft goes overboard to insure your every need is taken care of, the hotel is lovely and spotlessly shining clean. Rooms are wonderful with gas fireplaces, flat screens, and down comforters. We were upgraded to a lovely and spacious suite, which would have nicely accomodated four, as there was an extra powderroom, in addition to the luxurious master bath; complete with large soaking tub, private wc, and all sparkling marble features.Very much an old world experience in Vail. Breakfast was included in our package and involved a fabulous buffet served in a glass conservatory with mountain views all around. The exercise, spa, pool areas were spotless, and totally up to date. We stayed for one night and regretted not being able to extend for several. It was one of the best short vacations ever. The onsite restaurants were very good, and the Swiss Chalet restaurant is a Vail tradition.

  • Liked — luxury accomodations combined with skilled staff; great central vail location
  • Disliked — i suspect in ski season it will be very expensive, but a wonderful bargain in off season
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverrjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

We stayed at the Sonnenalp in March for our 1st wedding anniversary and loved it.

The rooms are stunning with enormous bathrooms. We loved the fire in the room and the beds were wonderfully comfortable and it was hard work to drag ourselves out to go skiing.

Breakfast was excellent although if you choose the wrong time there could be a wait. Doreathea had everything under control though and after a few days knew your name and room number.

The spa is fantastic - we had a few treatments but also fully used the hot tub and also the big open fire was amazing to just chill around at the end of a hard days skiing with a book and a drink.

We look forward to going back here soon.

  • Liked — The room, the bed, the big open fire in the spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Graburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

We loved the Sonnenalp. It is a classy hotel and deserves the accolades it receives. My husband, toddler daughter and I recently stayed there and loved it so much we extended our stay. The breakfast is awesome and they have live entertainment every night. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated. one thing i did not like is the over use of deer horns around the place. Not really the theme they shoud be going for.

  • Liked — The decor and ambiance
  • Disliked — Deer horns!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing