We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel and service”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at this first class hotel. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The studio suite was beautiful. Breakfast was included at Ludwig's and the buffet had everything you could imagine. We arrived off season and the pace was slow. It was a great time to visit if you prefer a quiet experience. Lots of 3 course meal specials in the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLORIDATRAVELER5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you for your kind words! We are very happy you were able to join us during this more quiet time of year and take advantage of some great restaurant specials. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

On the advice of fellow TA respondents, a friend and I took off to Vail for a mini break after a conference in Denver. We were advised that the Sonnenalp was doing a very good deal - $96 for B&B for two.

We trekked along the highly dramatic and scenic I70 and came into Vail. This time of year is known as the Mud season - it can still snow but not enough for good skiing but the finer summer weather has not yet arrived. The hotel is definitely very Alpine (European) in design; it was definitely not full and some of the resort was closed. However, for a short break it was great.Our room was enormous (by UK standards) with a balcony, large bathroon, walk-in shower, corner bath, faux log fire, bathrobes and walk-in wardrobe.

The spa facilities were excellent,comprehensive gym, heated indoor pool - which turns into a heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, sauna and steam room - almost the best part of our stay. What was the very best though was the superb buffet breakfast in the Ludwig Conservatory Restaurant - pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, waffles, eggs, hash browns - it was wonderful - and lasts until a very relaxing 11am.

Staff were very helpful and attentive. We would love to return in either the snow or sun season - but thoroughly enjoyed our Mud season break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2010

On behalf of everyone at the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail, thank you for visiting us. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and your friend, and we hope to welcome you back for skiing or for a summer adventure. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I took my 17 year old daughter and her best friend for a stay at the Sonnenalp in Vail, CO. We were treated like royalty by all the staff we encountered. The food, and in particular the breakfast was out of this world. The girls loved lounging by the pool. We asked the staff to arrange a river rafting trip, which they did immediately. The shuttle showed up the next morning and we had the time of our life! While we did not do the spa this trip, we have in the past and the spa and staff are world class! I cannot say enough good things about staying at the Sonnenalp. In addition, there are so many things to do in Vail, hike, bike, shop, eat, ride the gondola or chairlift and hike down. The setting is exquisite. Probably the most relaxing and beautiful vacation you could ever plan!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vail80134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner / General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

Thank you for your review of the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail! As a family-owned resort, we take great pride in providing memorable vacations for families and friends. I appreciate your taking the time to let us know we got it right! On behalf of everyone at the Sonnenalp, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

we stayed here for two weeks bec of surgery and p.t. nearby. mixed feelings @ the sonnenalp. in the heart of vail although prob not the best location for skiiers - its right in with shops/restaurants but a bit of hike to the snow. then again i don't ski. the food was excellent and plentiful but of course pricey. three great restaurants in the hotel. rooms - definitely an older place, not blown away by the rooms. they are comfortable enough but lighting is very poor. big bathrooms - too big really -with heated floors were nice. musty smell in rooms after housekeeping is in. rooms seem fairly sound proof. some houskeeping doesn't speak english. major concerns: we had a young male employee? said he was with security come to our door saying there was a report of a light being out. my elderly mother let him in. when i came in he went around the suite and tried each light. none were out. something didn't seem right. next day, a housekeeper? came in and got two beers out of the minibar. told us that another room wanted this brand. and also had numerous mini bar charges which were not ours. i don't think i'd stay here again nor recommend the hotel because of these concerns. i was catching shuttles from the hotel to p.t. two blocks away - 2 x day. i'm sure it was well know within the staff that i was out and that mucho pain medications were in my room etc. (many surgery and p.t. patients stay here - well weatlthy ones that is). it difficult to hide that you are here for medical reasons and when you are out. one front door and most of us on crutches cathing rides to p.t.
if you do stay here, definitely put meds, money and any other valuables in your in room safe. because of these concerns, i can't recommend the sonnenalp.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeyelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner / General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Thank you for your candid review. On behalf of everyone at the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail, we appreciate when our guests take the time
to provide us with feedback, whether positive or negative. I have personally looked into this matter and believe we have resolved the
situation to everyone's satisfaction. As is always the case, please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any concerns.

With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

This has to be one of the best ski hotels ever from the free upgrade to the cookies each night

Idal location for vail and lions head and just a short walk to the slopes

We stayed 10 nights and had an amazing stay the staff were very helpfull

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The Sonnenalp is a nice resort but has major issues. Positive: Great lounges and Breakfast Buffet. Location walking distance to everything in town. Most employees very friendly. The suites are a bit outdated but still comfortable with fireplace and in-floor heating in bathroom.
Negatives: During our visit there were several times that customers with dogs entered the spa. Employees did not seem to care. There should never be a dog allowed in the spa area for health reasons alone.
Upper management was out of town(as I was made aware of during one complaint). This lead to the staff exploiting the situation by having a ball outside in front of the hotel at night which led to several sleepless nights. Also one night several members of the staff entered (conquered)the bar area and where supplied with free drinks from the bartender. Later they starded to do sexually explicit dances all while yelling and screaming. Needless to say this spoiled our evening. I brought this to the attention of the manager and was given a one night refund. Hopefully management is on top of the issues now.
One more suggestion would be to check on tripadvisor wether management responds to complaints on this website. If not I have to assume they do not care.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grevenbroich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Already when we arrived at the Sonnenalp we experienced the great guest service. The bellmen helped us with our bags, we were greeted very warmly at the front desk. The room (actually suite) has everything one needs to feel home. We needed to get the safe fixed - it was done within minutes. Also, when we asked for an additional bathrobe and champagne glasses it was taken care of immediately. Employees are all very courteous and helpful. The restaurants (Ludwigs and Bully Ranch) and the spa are very cozy places, the "Gemütlichkeit" is an essential element at the Sonnenalp which one can feel everywhere. The location is perfect - in Vail Village, and the bus stops of the free town bus are right outside. One can either walk to the chair lift or take a quick ride with the free bus, it is all very convenient. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fischertwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#7 of 31 in Vail
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £177 - £851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing