We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even bother looking for anywhere else to stay!”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't even bother looking for anywhere else to stay!”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We loved the Sonnenalp...when we were checking in (early) they actually showed us our room to make sure it was ok before we checked in. Of course it was perfect, but that showed us they have pride and confindence in the property. The location was excellent, right in the village but removed enough so that we were able to have our door open in the evening (we overlooked the main walkway) but it was never noisy. Breakfast was excellent starting with the hostess. Our server was so sweet...I wish I could remember her name but she had the sweetest smile! The cookies at the turndown service were wonderful - for a before breakfast snack to! We now there were other guest but we didn't hear them and we were treated as if we were the only two people staying in the hotel. Can't wait to come back again and stay longer the next time - I want to spend some time in the pool and spa. A special thanks to Jason N. at the front desk for being so helpful with shipping my too many purchases home. All the front desk people were perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
We're grateful you chose the Sonnenalp Resort for your Vail vacation, and are pleased you had such a wonderful time! We love to hear when a staff member makes a difference so thank you for making a point to mention Jason at the front desk. We'll be sure to let him know!
Best regards, Johannes Faessler, Owner / General Manager, Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    89
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
247
382
30
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This location is BEAUTIFUL, in the heart of Vail, each suite has spectacular views, whether your looking at the mountains, the creek lined with aspens, or the downtown traffic.
The staff is amazing and will go out of their way to make your stay easy, assisting with any thing you may need, suggestions on activities, dining, skiing, you name it.
It is very easy to feel pamered, and spoiled with the in-house spa....ahhh what more could a body and soul need. The suites are cozy, with fireplaces and the beds will assure sweet dreams...not to mention the homemade cookies they deliver each night. Highly recomend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueyes91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail. I am especially pleased when our staff has made a difference in a guest's stay. We are happy you enjoyed yourself at the Sonnenalp and hope to welcome you back soon.

With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This was an experience to remember and cherish. The town of Vail has as its theme, that of a Swiss village. The Sonnenalp Hotel carries that theme to the next higher level. The hotel is owned and operated by a Bavarian couple who obviously know authenticity when it comes to Swiss hotels. After visiting Durango, Telluride, and Aspen (the St. Regis) on our summer soirée, my wife’s reaction when entering the lobby was, “It just keeps getting better and better.” The lobby, library, and lounge-bar area are richly and warmly appointed in Bavarian style furnishings—absolutely beautiful! The fancy hotel restaurant, Ludwig’s was only open for breakfast (included) during the summer but their casual restaurant, “Bully Ranch” had excellent and hearty casual food and drink which we enjoyed one evening. The Sonnenalp breakfast was one of the most elaborate and delicious breakfast in all our travels—everything hot and cold you could possibly want—all enjoyed in their enclosed large sun room overlooking the pool and adjacent stream. You didn’t need lunch after this breakfast!! Our room was a “Millcreek suite” on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool, white-water creek, and Vail ski runs---absolutely stunning and breathtaking views! The suite was an interesting bi-level version with the bedroom upstairs with it’s own balcony and view. The downstairs was a spacious, well appointed, Bavarian styled, living room (including fireplace) and huge marble bathroom with garden tub and separate shower. We mentioned that it was our 40th anniversary and a bottle of French champagne was waiting for us chilled when we returned after dinner. The full service spa area has a sunny circular seating area surrounding a fireplace and is located adjacent to the indoor-outdoor pool and hot tub areas. I frankly have never stayed in a more drop-dead gorgeous hotel. This hotel will not disappoint even the most discriminating traveler, I don’t think the pictures even begin to do justice to our experience at this hotel. One dining recommendation in Vail is Pepi’s Bar and Restaurant. We had lunch there (wonderful brats and sauerkraut) and an elegant and tasty, gourmet dinner (Wiener Schnitzel and Jagerschnitzel)—I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Thank you for choosing the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments very much.

Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This place reminds me of medieval times. The decor is unbelievably tacky. For the price and excellent reviews, I expected way more. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica7185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Thank you for your comments and candor. As 4th generation hoteliers from Germany, the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail takes pride in its authentic Bavarian decor. We hope you'll continue to enjoy vacations in Vail even if you choose to stay elsewhere.

Best regards,

Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Sonnenalp Resort of Vail is without question one of our all-time favorite places to stay! It is by far one of the most welcoming, calming, and beautiful properties you will find and I was thrilled to see the Sonnenalp named the #6 best hotel in the U.S. and Canada and #69 in the world by Travel and Leisure Magazine! A designation that is well deserved. From the moment you are greeted by their friendly staff, catch the welcoming aroma of Sandalwood, and plop into the wonderful down bedding you'll find waiting in your room, you know you have stepped into a very special place. A freshly baked cookie on the night table at bed time seals the deal and you may find yourself wondering why you ever stayed anywhere else.

We have made the gift of a summer stay our family's Christmas gift for 11 years now and still look forward to spending time in the beautiful Vail valley every summer.

On the business side of life, it has been my pleasure to bring several groups to the Sonnenalp for various meetings. The Sonnenalp is able to translate their hospitality with ease into providing you with all you need to host a successful and professional event. Their scrumptious breakfast buffet is beyond compare and a real plus for both business and personal stays.

In a nutshell, you will not regret your decision to visit the Sonnenalp. My guess is, once you do you will anxiously become a regular guest. Enjoy your stay!

Geri Adams, Executive Vice President
Mountain States Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association
9034 E Easter Place #103
Centennial, CO 80112

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We've been to Vail in the past but stayed in the Lionshead area. We decided to stay at the Sonnenalp this time and we were really glad that we did. The location is great - easy to walk to a lot of restaurants and shops. Parking is $20/night but we never moved our car. We took a tram to Lionshead (but most people could walk it easily). Lionshead has some nice areas, but the feel is very different. Vail Village has more "mom and pop" shops and restaurants.

The hotel itself is nice and well-maintained. The check-in was easy and very informative. We asked for a map and not only did we get one, we also received great tips. The bellboy told us a lot about the stores, restaurants, etc. The breakfast buffet was great as well. The pool is nice, but if you have kids, they won't be "wow-ed" by it. Adults will like it though!

Housekeeping was great and the room was clean and well-maintained.

We'll stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KareninColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Thank you for your positive review! On behalf of all of us at the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves at our resort and it's nice to hear our staff provided helpful tips for you. We hope you will stay with us again when your travels take you to Vail!

With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2010

My parents and I satyed at the Sonnenalp in Vail CO. this month and I must say it was AMAZING! I love the half indoor half outdoor pool right next to the river! It was the extreme mountain getaway! This hotel is immaculately clean and the customer service is outstanding! I fell in love with the comforter it was so soft and warm...=) The owner even personally introduced himself! WOW... Couldn't be in a better location right in the Vail village! I will definitely BE BACK!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hottttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for this enthusiastic review! We are very happy when our guests are this happy. It's why we do what we do. I'm so glad we were able to meet in person, and I know I speak for everyone at our resort when I say we hope to see you back at the Sonnenalp very soon!

Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing