We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places we have stayed!!”
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonnenalp
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best places we have stayed!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

In Colorado for an event in Boulder, we decided to travel to Vail for a few days before flying back home. Had heard of the Sonnenalp and checked for availability. Because of some ongoing renovations, we were upgraded to a larger room than we asked for and it was incredible. Huge bathroom, entry, walk in closet, sitting area with fireplace, balcony, nice size bedroom area. Everything was top notch! The breakfast buffet is a must!! The lobby/living area is huge and includes a library/game room and piano bar. A spa is also available. Two restaurants are on site, but the hotel is in Vail Village so there are plenty of restaurant choices. October is the slow time in Vail but we loved it and got great deals at restaurants and enjoyed the lower rates at the Sonnenalp. Relaxing end to our trip!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaflowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves in Vail and at the Sonnenalp Resort. As you've discovered, fall is a wonderful time to visit! The weather is typically gorgeous and there are great deals to be found on lodging and in our shops and restaurants. It can be very relaxing indeed.
With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    88
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
241
376
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed at the Sonnenalp Resort for 3 nights at the beginning of October. The is the down time in Vail (between summer hiking season and winter skiing season). Vail is beautiful and peaceful this time of the year. The Sonnenalp resort was all that we hoped for. The hotel itself is a spa (not just a hotel with a spa). We would go hiking in the morning, then come back and take a dip in the heated pool, then move over to the hot tub, then hang out reading in our bathrobes by Gore Creek, then move inside to the fire once it got chilly. Thats a relaxing day!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDOC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Thank you for posting your review! We are so happy you had a relaxing time at the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail. October is a beautiful time of year and the warm weather has been perfect for hiking and lounging by the pool. We are pleased to report that there has been snow on the peaks the last few nights and everyone at the Sonnenalp is busily gearing up for another fantastic ski season! Sounds like you timed your vacation perfectly. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Loved the hotel - I could have lived in the bathroom! The heated floors were fabulous. Cookies and water delivered every night with turn down service... We loved the hot tubs - both indoor and out as well as the whole spa area. We visited in the Fall and were just imagining the area in Winter - we are definately planning a return trip.
The hotel staff was professional and courteous. The amenities are wonderful from the toiletries to the robes and slippers provided. For super pampering at a super value - Sonnenalp in the Fall can't be beat! The only complaint I have is the pillows. They were too fluffy and hard to sleep on.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeyrawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 15 October 2010
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate the feedback. Fall is a wonderful time to visit but we'd love to welcome you back in the winter, when the town is vibrant and alive with ski activity! In fact, we received quite a bit of snow just this morning!
Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The Sonnenalp never disappoints. My wife and I stay there each year and there is no better place to be pampered, relax, and enjoy great food. Everything is always perfect. Johannas and Rosanna are the ultimate hotel managers. They leave nothing to chance and their guests are treated like royalty. The spa is relaxing and has beautiful amenities. You can't beat the new steam room and a cold plunge! The restaurants always provide amazing food. I've traveled all over the world and The Sonnenalp is #1 with me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwesterner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate your feedback and are so happy to have you and your wife stay with us every year. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler
Owner / General Manager
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This was my third time staying at the Sonnenalp, and each time it has been perfect. This visit was with my mom to celebrate her 80th birthday. We had a bottle of wine waiting in our room on arrival, which was a lovely touch. We stayed in a Lodgepole Suite for 3 nights which was wonderful. Nice and spacious, very big bathroom with heated floor. Good value for money, as breakfast was included in the room rate. As the weather was so nice we were able to sit by the pool and also go swimming. Everything is so clean, and the staff are very friendly, efficient and provide exceptional service. We called housekeeping to ask for a small table and 2 chairs for our balcony, and they were at our door within 5 minutes. The breakfast buffett is amazing....the best I've ever had. The whole experience reminds me of being in Europe. I'll be back again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyantsLouisville_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you for your comments! We're touched you chose the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail to celebrate your mother's milestone birthday and are so happy you enjoyed yourselves. We've been having terrific weather this fall but are eagerly awaiting another fabulous ski season. We hope to welcome you back for your fourth visit very soon.
With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel was a great place to really begin our Colorado adventure. It is located within walking distance of all parts of the central village and is designed in a great swiss chalet design.

The staff were faultless, particularly the Austrian waitress who made us feel right at home. Despite the room we were given being on the ground floor there was not a sound all night, and the beds were very comfortable.

An added little bonus during summer, is that if you don`t fancy paying the $20 for valet parking there is free parking 5 minutes walk away in the Village Parking Lot.

We only stayed one night, but saw enough to convince us it would be a great place for a longer vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauxl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thank you for posting your review! We always appreciate hearing our guests' comments. We are so happy our staff provided "faultless" service and contributed to a wonderful stay for you. We do hope to welcome you back soon for a longer vacation.

Best regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The hotel was absolutely beautiful, and right in the heart of Vail. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever attended. There are a lot of little perks to one's stay at this hotel. I would not stay at another place in Vail.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests and we appreciate your taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We hope you'll come back to see us soon!

Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Property: Sonnenalp
Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#7 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonnenalp 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing