We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding me?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort
Ranked #14 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I understand that Vail is expensive during the ski season but this is ridiculous. The hotel needs a complete overhaul and does not come close to the grandeur of other hotels within the Vail community.

I stayed in Building 10/Unit 1 and would not recommend this cellar dungeon. The place is dark, as cozy as a real estate office, and lacks any charm.

The bedroom was outdated, the bed creaked, and the comforter should have been sent home with the last senior citizen that stayed there.

The bathroom was the size of something you'd expect in an airplane. The tub did not drain and the shower head sent piercing water into your face and could not be adjusted.

For the price, I would definitely not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gbuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Front Office Manager at Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear gbuford,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your recent visit. Please feel free to call us directly when booking a reservation at the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort so that we can discuss any requests that may make your future stay that much more enjoyable.

Best Wishes,

Kevin Orlando
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

Really perfect experience at Vail -- couldn't ask for more. I stayed with a friend in a 2-bedroom condo (unit 516) and it was absolutely ideal.

Few notes:

* Pricing was outstanding. We paid ~$1350 for 4 nights and stayed in a two-bedroom. That works out to just under $170pp/night, which is about 1/2 to 1/3 the price of "on-mountain" resorts in Vail village.

* Location is super-easy. It's literally a 5-6 minute drive to Vail Village - they also offer a shuttle service but we had a car and it was totally easy.

* The unit was great -- it was large, comfortable, had a great couch and full living room, two very nice bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, and it even had a loft with two additional beds. Couldn't ask for a more cozy/comfortable place to stay.

If I had to come up with downsides (it's hard), I'd say the only one is that the club facilities (hot tub, pool, etc.) are a 2-minute drive / 10-minute walk away from the unit, and when it's 10 degrees out, it's a bit of a schlep to get over there. But whatever - not a problem.

I couldn't possibly justify paying 2-3x just to be 5 minutes closer to the mountain, but for some people, the allure of ski-on/ski-off might make it worthwhile.

Overall, perfect experience and will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoahLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Front Office Manager at Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear NoahLH,

Thank you for writing a review about your visit to the Vail Racquet Club. We are happy that you found such value in our property at an affordable price.
We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Best Wishes,
Kevin Orlando
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

First of all, the staff of the resort is really nice and accommodating. The travel agent, who booked the resort for us, messed it up badly and the management fixed it. Unfortunately, this is the best thing I can say about the resort. We stayed in 1-bedroom unit No. 20 in building 7. The building and the unit are seriously outdated and require immediate update. The building is far away from the shuttle stop – we had to drive to the main entrance, then to take a shuttle, and since we skied at Lionshead, we had to take a town bus. Another option is taking a shuttle to the village and having a long walk in full ski gear to the gondola. Another major inconvenience is that the ski storage is located near the room. Our room was on the 4th floor. So, we had to carry skis up and down twice a day to our room (we did not get keys for the storage). In addition, in order to use a spa after skiing, we had to drive to the Health Center located in the administrative building. Walking there in winter time was not an option.
Finding a nice and not very expensive place in Vail during the ski season is tough. If you are booking VRA, try to get the closest unit to the main building.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Front Office Manager at Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear aalqc,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Per your loft unit request at check-in we were able to find a loft unit for you. It was our last unit available as it was the day of and it was a lower rated unit. For future knowledge, you should be aware that all loft units are located on the top floor. Units must have vaulted ceilings to accommodate the space in which is necessary for a lofted area.

We have a ski rental partnership with Venture Sports. They are located conveniently at the base of Vail Mountain in Vail Village. Our concierge staff would have been very happy to assist you in booking your rentals so that you would not have had to go back and forth to Lionshead to retrieve them.

I would highly recommend booking directly with the Reservations Team at the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort to avoid any confusion when renting through a third party. We hope that you consider calling us directly in the future to assist in accommodating your requests.

Best Wishes,

Kevin Orlando
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Vail Racquet Club in Vail, CO. We five (adults) stayed in a 2-bedroom in building 3. Condo No. 310 and it had been recently upgraded. The Condo was very nice but the attention we got from the staff was even nicer. The microwave was not working and they brought in a replacement in approx. 5 minutes. They also supplied us with all the firewood we needed. Whenever we called the Front desk, they took care of our concerns in a matter of minutes.

Let me tell you about how wonderful the two hot tubs were. One for adults and One for families. A huge heated outdoor pool and a wonderful workout room. This is all included in your stay and you do not pay extra for this. They do not nickle and dime you to death. The shuttle to the Vail slope ran approx. every 15 minutes. I might also add that the snow was the best of the season so far. We got beautiful, beautiful snow! Fabulous vacation from Indianapolis.

Room Tip: We liked 310 and we were on the 2nd floor. I liked it because we had a good view. Probably would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scecina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Front Office Manager at Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Scecina,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent visit. We are glad that the front desk was so helpful during your stay. What a treat that you were here when the snow was so beautiful, how fun! Yes, all of our amenities are complimentary to all guests that book directly through our Reservations Team at the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort. We hope to see you next winter!

Best Wishes,
Amy Roden
Front Office Manager
Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My family has been going to the club for the past two ski seasons. We have recommend the VRC to many friends in Denver who go up to the Vail area frequently for the ski season. We have been treated very well by the upper management as well as all the staff. It feels like a home away from home for us. Thanks VRC!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Front Office Manager at Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear c o,

Thank you for your repeat business and recommending the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort to your friends and family. We are happy to welcome you “home” each and every time at check-in. See you another time soon!

Best Wishes,
Amy Roden
Front Office Manager
Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Best place to stay in Vail. Like being at home, all the comforts are there full kitchens, Tv and internet. Ski hard all day come home and relax in the hot tub or swim. You can cook or eat at the new Blu restaurant at the Club house..

1  Thank trenlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Just came back from a week in Vail. We rented a one bedroom condo and were very happy with it. It had a small living room with a nice gas fireplace, TV and DVD player, a good sized kitchen with nice, granite counter tops, the bedroom had a good size, only the bathroom was tiny. It was just wide enough to squeeze a toilet and a bathtub/ shower in it, very tight.
We did not use any of the facilities like the hot tub or pool but they looked both very nice and tempting.

We did not have a rental car and used the free shuttle to Vail every day. It is a bit of work to drag your heavy stuff towards the bus, which tends to be very crowded around 9 am, this follows a 15-20 minute bus ride, in Vail you have to climb down a long set of stairs and then still walk about 5-10 minutes to the lifts and that all in full ski gear. Kinda stretches and also in the afternoon, when you have to climb the stairs again with all your stuff on... not a piece of cake. Remember you are at high altitude. If one does not mind all that then the location and apartment was fine.
Found the laundry facilities in the building right next to ours very convenient. They had about 3 washers and three dryers and it was never busy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indra110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Front Office Manager at Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Undine_in_NY,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort. Hopefully on your next visit you have time to enjoy all of the complimentary amenities that we have to offer.
Adapting to the altitude can sometimes be a challenge. Many visitors find themselves quite winded. Be sure to drink lots of water once you arrive in Colorado, it will help!
On average the bus does take around 15 minutes to get to Vail Village but then guests enjoy the ice free walk on the heated street to Vail ski mountain and lifts.
I am glad the laundry facilities were convenient for you. Although we can’t guarantee it, next time you might want to request a unit with a washer/dryer. We always do our best to accommodate those requests. We hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes,
Amy Roden
Front Office Manager
Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
4.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,314 reviews
4.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 30 in Vail
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
530 reviews
4.4 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
329 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort

Address: 4695 Vail Racquet Club Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £112 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2015 Certificate of Excellence award by Trip Advisor and our GUESTS! Nestled in a quiet location in East Vail, the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resorts' 20+acres boarder the White River National Forest and Gore Creek meanders in and around the grounds. One - three bedroom condos surround the extensive open park area in free standing, 3-story Alpine buildings. A foot path and bridge over Gore Creek leads to the townhome area of the grounds. All units are individually decorated and quality controlled by the Vail Valley Chamber with a Gold rated standing. Blu's Restaurant & Bar is on-site and serves dinner nightly (seasonally). While resort parking is free, guests are encouraged to take Vail's free shuttle service which runs year round to and from the Village, Ford Park and Betty Ford Gardens to name a few. For winter guests, the bus also drops at the main Vail transportation center for easy access to the slopes. This free bus service has 2 convenient stops on the property, guests are shuttled every 15 minutes during ski season and hourly in spring/summer. The full service health club and extensive amenities are complimentary to all resort guests. Includes weight & cardio rooms, fitness classes, sauna & steam rooms, year-round heated pool, 2 large hot tubs and locker rooms. The grounds boast 9 tennis courts (seasonally, 3 clay), wedding ceremony sites, large, communal park & BBQ patio and children's playground. In summer season, easily access the extensive hike and bike trails of East Vail. Borrow one of the complimentary bikes and see the sights. In winter, borrow the snow shoes and venture out your door for some exciting exercise. Condos and Townhomes alike all have full sized living areas. Meaning you have a full kitchen with all the items you need. We deliver your complimentary firewood for either your wood burning stove or fireplace (winter season only). Each bedroom has a bathroom with a day's supply of Aveda products. Some units have a pull out sofa sleeper in the living area. Bedding configurations vary but the master bedroom will have a queen bed. The second and third will have either a twin bed or a queen). Please let us know your bedding desires when booking direct. 1 Bedroom: 576 sq ft. Max occupancy: 4 2 Bedroom: 874 sq ft. Max occupancy: 6 3 Bedroom: Condo: 1,100 sq ft. Max occupancy: 8 3 Bedroom: Townhome: 1,600 sq ft. Max occupancy: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Racquet Club Townhomes And Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing