We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room but good enough 306B”
Review of Westwind at Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westwind at Vail
Ranked #8 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 April 2013

It was just a tiny room, thin noisy walls and garbage truck woke us up a few times in the morning.
But it was a good enough place to rest our heads and it was a great location in Lionshead.
FYI: The kitchen does not have a stove or range, just a microwave. The one-use bag of coffee does not get replaced every day so you should bring some coffee and filers or just be prepared to go out to the lobby or coffee shop every morning. Under ground car parking and ski/board lockers were very convenient. Staff were all very nice.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fake_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinOrlandoWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear fake_usa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our Lionshead property. Being one of the first built properties in Vail, our owners are constantly upgrading the condos and we appreciate all guest comments. Please keep in mind that you rented a "lock-off condo" and all full-sized condos are complete with a full kitchen. Also, we always keep extra amenities such as coffee, shampoo, and tea at the front desk for our guests. Stop in and say hi and we would be happy to make your stay more comfortable in any way possible. Our location is wonderful for skiers who don't want to pay a fortune! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!.

Best Wishes,
Kevin Orlando
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Westwind at Vail
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

This 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo was a couple of flights of stairs above the ski hire shop which provided us with discounts as Westwind guests. Any of the 23 units in this complex would suit someone who wants to be close to the centre of Lionshead and the Eagle Bahn Gondola - about 150 metres walk with skis. The condos offer undercover parking,

The room we had (307) was on the western side of the complex and its balcony looked straight down the pedestrian walk past the clock tower with a great view of the Gondola and ski slopes. The rooms were reasonably spacious with a large flat screen tv and gas fire. Beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen made self catering a possibility, although kitchen utensils were a bit basic or missing.

There is a daily maid service, but it was a bit sporadic. The waste bin may or may not be emptied, the bed in one room of the other may or may not be made - depending on who services the room. This isn't a hotel, but the service could have been more consistent.

Overall, from a price and location perspective, the Westwind represents good value- particularly when compared with other properties in this expensive part of the world.

Room Tip: Try to find a condo on the west side of the complex with a balcony that overlooks the main walkway t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinOrlandoWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear wilandale,

Thank you for the review and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests often praise how convenient our location is for skiers. Please know that our housekeeping policy during the winter season is to complete trash and towel service daily complete with tidying up service. However, our housekeepers will not make the beds if there are any guest personal items on the bed. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back this winter.

Best,

Kevin Orlando
Assistant GM
Westwind at Vail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed three nights in room 201, which is a giant, spotless 2 bedroom unit. The space is much more open than most rental condos we've stayed in and the location, just a 3 minute walk to the gondola-is perfect.

Only minor issue...it can get hot in Vail in the summer during the days and it's nice to open the windows and cool the room off after a busy day mountain biking, or whatever. The noise from the freeway at the back unit was so bad, we had trouble sleeping if the window was open and it was hot in the room if the window was closed.

The bathroom areas are tiny! But who comes to Vail for that? Soak in the pool and hottub and bring some extra hangars. You can always dry your towels outside or in the closet.

Room Tip: 201 is back against the freeway. I hear the rooms that face the mountain are even larger!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cassyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinOrlandoWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear Cassyt,

Thank you for the review of the Westwind at Vail. Our staff takes pride in our property and we do our best to ensure every guest's stay is great. Unfortunately, we cannot control the fact that we are at the base of a large mountain valley and are close to I70. You will find highway noise at any Lionshead lodging location. If the highway didn't exist, we would not have such convenient access to all the great skiing and mountain biking Vail Mountain has to offer! Thanks again!

Best Wishes,

Kevin Orlando
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have stayed there three times, twice during summer and once for a skiing trip. It's clean, spaceous and beautiful, and yet very laid back. We got a great deal there early in the summer!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Oddur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinOrlandoWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear Oddur O,

Thank you for the great review of the Westwind. We are all skiing and mountain enthusiasts as well and enjoy the casual mountain environment of Lionshead, but our staff still has a great deal of pride when it comes to ensuring that every one of our guests is completely satisfied. See you soon!

Thanks,

Kevin Orlando
Assistant GM
Westwind at Vail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have stayed in unit #306 at Westwind on multiple trips to Vail and it is located right in Lions Head Village steps from the best shops and restaurants and most importantly steps from the gondola. Very convenient layout for friends and family. Look forward to staying here each year… always very clean and the convenience of heated underground parking and a full kitchen are unbeatable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinOrlandoWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Robyn L,

Thank you for the great review of our property. We believe we are one of the best Lodging value in Lionshead and love our location. Not many guests know that we were actually the first property built in Lionshead! I look forward to seeing you again this winter season. Book now for great lodging deals!

Thanks again,
Kevin Orlando
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Excellent place to stay for a skiing vacation. Location is next to the best. Ski lockers are in the heated under ground garageaccessed by elevator. Once you parked the car, you can forget it until you leave. Grab the skis from the ski locker, walk out side, down the stairs and the escalator, then you're about 50 steps to the Gondola. Restaurants, sport shops, convenient stores, souvenir shops, bars are right ther and ice skating ring for apres skis. If you want to explore Vail village, just hop on the free shuttle bus looping around Vail. The balcony and the view of the ski slope are a big plus. The top floor unit gave you the additional catheral ceiling and make the living room very spacious. The daily maid service is awesome. The King bed is great but the sofa bed is so thin and soft. However, you can ask for the air matress from the front desk with nominal charge. Staff is very accomodating for extra towel request. Fully equiped kitchen with upgrade counter top and newer appliances are nice. The extra half bath room is convenient for family travel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Try to choose higher floor for better view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TirelessDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was my second stap at Westwind Condo #306. The location is wonderful. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. Just steps away from entertainment, shops and skiing. The condo is very well kept, clean and cozy. There was plenty of room for my entire family to sleep comfortably. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub before relaxing for the evening in front of the amazing fireplace. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njgonzales719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.1 mi away
Lift House Lodge
Lift House Lodge
#6 of 41 in Vail
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind at Vail

Address: 548 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £145 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwind at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwind offers family condominium vacation rentals just steps away from Vail, Colorado's world-class ski mountain, the Kids' Ski and Snowboard School, and the many restaurants and shops of Lionshead Village. Choose from a selection of one to four-bedroom kid-friendly condominiums that feature all the comforts of home, including a full kitchen, fireplace, balcony, and access to outdoor hot tubs and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwind at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind At Vail Hotel Vail
Westwind Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing