We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some really good, and some not so”
Review of Westwind at Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westwind at Vail
Ranked #8 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 March 2009

It is a Jeckle and Hyde experience to stay here. On the positive, you are incredibly close to the Gondola, and the new Lionshead square development. There is a lot going on, and the access, especially with small children, is phenomenal. The units seem very well kept, the underground, heated garage/ski lockers are spotless and very convenient, and the elevator is fabulous! The stainless steel hot tubs and very well heated pool were all great.

So, the downside? Well, for starters, $659 + per night for a Gold level 2BR on the last weekend in March seems ridiculous - even for Vail. We got a last minute deal for half that, but still! The units all scream 1970's. Some are more remodeled than others, but they are all a bit cramped. I'm sure units vary tremendously (we were in 406), but ours had a terrible King size bed in the master (so lumpy, it rolled me around!). The windows were old, and with the location right on the frontage road and very close to I-70, the highway noise at night was loud and constant. There were no coffee filters, and the plates, silver, glassware, etc. were el cheapo cafeteria grade (pots & pans were fine). Furniture was dated. If I had booked mid winter and paid $700 a night, I would not have been happy.

Am I whining? I'm really not or at least don't mean to be. We had a great stay, daily housekeeping was fine, and as I said, the location couldn't be beat. Maybe I'm just clueless or out of touch on the cost of fun in Lionshead these days. But hopefully this helps you to make your decision.

Boulder Bill

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoulderBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 103 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2009

I could not have been happier.

The location is perfect (right in Lionshead). Great underground parking. Perfect 2 bedroom condo.

I will go back (hopefully)!

See you on the slopes!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WWUVIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

My family has stayed at this property five times in the last twenty years - and are again this coming season (my parents, my two siblings and our families, which have grown by seven during this period). On each occasion the lodging has been impeccable and the staff have always done all in their power to make the vacation unforgettable. The proximity to Lionshead and the small distance to the hustle and bustle of Vail Village all work to make this the BEST.

Stayed: December 2004
Thank Burlij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank felixroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank stesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinOrlandoWWV, Manager at Westwind at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#19 of 30 in Vail
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Lift House Lodge
Lift House Lodge
#4 of 41 in Vail
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind at Vail

Address: 548 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £205 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwind at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwind offers family condominium vacation rentals just steps away from Vail, Colorado's world-class ski mountain, the Kids' Ski and Snowboard School, and the many restaurants and shops of Lionshead Village. Choose from a selection of one to four-bedroom kid-friendly condominiums that feature all the comforts of home, including a full kitchen, fireplace, balcony, and access to outdoor hot tubs and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westwind at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind At Vail Hotel Vail
Westwind Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing