We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price good”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Price good”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Easy walk to Vail Village & Lionshead. Hotel inexpensive but needs some updating. Didn't realize pets were permitted, but noticed them walking in the lobby. Clean & orderly but might look somewhere else if returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potato4931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    119
    89
    26
    31
See reviews for
96
80
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed there for sightseeing purposes. Got a good rate. On site bar and grill was awesome and so inexpensive. Had delicious fish and chips for 5 bucks. Bartender was awesome! Free breakfast was a nice perk. Rooms are nice, enjoyed having a recliner in the room.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rebecca37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We recently closed out the ski season at Vail and stayed at the Evergreen because it offered free parking with an attractive $99 rate through vailonsale.com. The hotel sits equal distance between Lionshead and the main village which makes for a bit of a hike to get anywhere. Fortunately, there is a free bus nearby and the property has a bar/restaurant on site which was very festive on closing weekend. The two queen room we had was spacious and offered two closets to keep ski gear out of the way. The furniture was dated and the room showed its age but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The hotel is pet friendly to the point that the second floor sounded like a kennel. Pets are not restricted to rooms and we saw one chilling out in the indoor hot tub area. This was our first stay at the Evergreen and it may be a tough weekend to judge the place because it felt like Spring Break with all the 20-somthings and empty beer cans littering the hallways. Not sure if we would go back but we would highly recommend it to any college aged person with a golden retriever wanting a great place to stay and party.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed at the Evergreen Lodge in Vail March 16-18. I can't believe I'd never known about it before. I found the hotel on TripAdvisor when I was searching for pet friendly lodging for our ski trip. They are definitely pet friendly, meaning they not only allowed my dog, but I didn't get sneers when walking through the lobby with him liked I experienced at another hotel in Vail.

The hotel isn't fancy, but it was comfortable, a perfect location and an incredible value. My husband kept referring to it as a throwback to the early ski lodges in Vail.)

The only complaint that I have is that we ate at the breakfast buffet one morning and I felt like it was a total rip off. The price was $13.95 for the full buffet, hot and cold food. It was a little expensive, but hey...it's Vail. My complaint is that there was a 20% gratuity added onto the bill, so that added to the tax, our breakfast was almost $40! I don't mind tipping when I'm being served, but the "waiter" didn't even serve us beverages. It is really the principle that upset me. Customers should be told in advance that there would be automatic gratuity added on. I don't think this is the right way to pay an employee. If you need to raise the price of the buffet to pay him, fine. But I felt tricked, and honestly I would have probably gone somewhere else if I'd known breakfast was going to be 40!

I would definitely stay at the hotel again, but I will not be dining there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danalynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Large rooms and comfortable but a little tired. Easy access to lifts and free shuttle bus - stop ~150m away
Nothing flash but has all amenities you need

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHDSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

What a great hotel, and for a fraction of the cost of surrounding hotels!

When we first decided to stay at The Evergreen, we thought it would simply be a place where we would sleep, and didn't have very high expectations. 

However, The Evergreen Lodge was far more than that! 

From the moment we checked in we felt welcome! The front desk went out of their way to ensure that we were orientated in Vail and explained where good skiing spots were and how to use the free busses to get around.

The hotel itself is VERY conveniently located in-between the two villages (Lionshead and Vail) taking only 5 mins to walk to the nearest Gondola in Lionshead!!! Plus the free "intown" bus runs every 5 mins an is a great way to get into Vail Village.

One of the other great features of The Evergreen Lodge is the Altitude Sports Bar. It is reasonably priced (especially for Vail) and has a really good atmosphere. The staff are friendly and we ended up spending more time there than in other bars and restaurants.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate, but you can charge it straight to your room which means you don't have to worry about carrying cash with you when you go snowboarding/skiing.

The rooms are somewhat Spartan and dated, but are VERY comfortable. Unfortunately the wireless internet doesn't reach the rooms, but the Front desk provided an Ethernet cable which worked very well... and was FREE!!!

I will definitely be staying at The Evergreen again, and strongly endorse it to anyone who is thinking of a comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Vail.

Thank you for making our trip memorable!!! A perfect 10/10!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Evergreen had everything our group could want. The rooms were larger than expected, well furnished, and very clean. The view of the mountains from our room was spectacular. The lobby is very large, and has multiple sitting areas for large groups, including one by the fireplace. Jacuzzi is large and inviting and you don't have to go outside to get there! There are 2 saunas. Internet connection (Ethernet) in rooms worked very well--no disruption in service. A short walk to the free shuttle bus and only one stop from Lionshead. Breakfast was good with large variety, but buffet was not very well organized and bottlenecked the first couple of days (got better as the week went on, though). Sports bar served pretty good food at reasonable prices. Large room for ski storage. Small refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and 2 closets (!) in each room. For Vail in the middle of ski season, the price was quite reasonable. Now I ask--what more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 30 in Vail
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Gramshammer
Gasthof Gramshammer
#21 of 30 in Vail
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing