We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good night's stay in Vail”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at this property because of the price and reviews. The desk manager greeted us with upgraded rooms and recommended the hotel restaurant for our evening meal. The rooms were huge, clean, and comfortable.....better than expected. The bar-restaurant area was packed, so we anticipated slow service....but that wasn't the case. The bartender had his "quicksilver shoes" on an covered the area quickly. The food was great and the service was too. I would stay at the Evergreen again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Evergreen Lodge for one night on to meet up with some family. I was somewhat dubious because of mixed reviews here, but we weren't planning to spend much time in the room and needed something affordable near the Village. While the lobby did feel somewhat drab and outdated, our room was updated and spotless. Check-in/out staff were efficient and courteous. The pool, hot tub and game room looked great although we didn't have time to use them. It was a lovely, short 5-10 minute walk into the Village. We were on the highway side of the building and slept with the window open. I noticed the sound at first but it really turned into "white noise" and was not bothersome.

All in all, a satisfying stay. Would do it again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel (opposite I-70) may be a bit quieter but we weren't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

One great thing about ski towns is that the hospitality industry is filled with either enthusiastic and interesting folks or just consummate hospitality industry professionals trying to make their mark. This place has neither type of person working for them. Our trip was not elevated from our experience at Evergreen Lodge. The front desk staff was simply less than hospitable. We did notice that the housekeeping staff worked extremely hard to keep this dated property looking its best. Management seems to be asleep at the wheel here. The big problem is this place is really in need of a makeover. The location is quite good but next time we'll be sure to choose a newer property with friendlier people in Avon or Edwards.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the mountain not the I70
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fultonriverandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Evergreen Lodge is outdated, but clean and convenient. It is located in a great area that is a few minute walkable to the slops and shops. To my surprise, the onsite bar was in fact a real bar. It has a casual atmosphere and was pretty good. When we were there, it had a good number of people, but it wasn’t ridiculously packed. I recommend to anyone looking for a solid room that is reasonably priced and doesn’t mind that it is outdated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourguide337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Evening check-in person was extremely slow and seemed "out of it". Got upstairs to see room and the entire floor smelled like skunk. Didn't know how naive I was until we got back from fireworks at 11pm. Didn't smell like skunk for a while and then the party started in the room right next to ours-- pot smoking idiots from hell. At 1 am called front desk to complain but it didn't quiet down until 3am and pot smoke came right into our room. Very annoying, unpleasant experience. Next am, went down to check out and complain. Young lady at the desk was very nice, professional and kindly comp.-ed our room. Thankfully!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15MKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Evergreen Lodge. The location is great, and surroundings are very scenic. This is an older property, satisfactorily maintained, and for the price is an excellent value. Because of the price, this property seems to attract quite a few younger adults and singles.

The front desk was uniformly attentive and helpful. Our only negative relates to the housekeeping staff: they appear to be either under-staffed or under-supervised. One day, our room apparently had been "forgotten" or deferred and we needed to call for the room to be made up; and the level of cleaning and attention to detail was pretty careless and indifferent. We plan to come back, but we hope that management will be more attuned for the need to improve house-keeping services.

Evergreen Lodge does not have air-conditioning -- and for our summer stay we needed to put up with some traffic noise from an opened window and use a (provided) fan in order to keep our room cool enough for comfortable sleeping.

That said, the price was great and we feel we received excellent value.

Room Tip: The mountain-view rooms are quite nice. Summer guests should be aware that the rooms are NOT air-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over July 4. The hotel was filled with loud college kids walking around with alcohol in their hands. The room was last updated in the late 80s early 90s except for the granite counters in the bath. First thing I noticed is that the coffee table had not been wiped from the last guest. Rings from spilled drinks were very apparent as soon as I walked in. The mattress was thin and was visibly lumpy. The sofa and chair was very worn and stained. The location is good and in close proximity to lions head village. Also very close to the hospital. If you don't care that your hotel room is sticky and the public areas are filled with drunk college kids- here's your place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diedre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#10 of 30 in Vail
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#18 of 30 in Vail
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range: £127 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing