We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Least expensive option in Vail, but Cheap”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very outdated hotel, we stayed on two different occasions in the month of feb. We had a room on the 4th floor (of 7) the first visit and a handicapped room on the 1st floor the second. Very little on site parking and the parking lot itself is in terrible condition. There are two elevators serving 7 floors of rooms, one of which is not working (apparently has not been working for months and no immediate plans to repair) Tv's are old tube tvs that the control may or may not work, beds sag in the middle, rooms are incredibly hot even if you turn your thermostat off. The handicapped room as you can see from the photos had NO counter space at all, no luggage rack or benches at the foot of the beds. The security locks on both rooms did not work, they did not line up properly in the door jams. You get the idea, very old & hard used and in need of a major remodel. That being said the location for the price is pretty unbeatable. Everything is within a short walk, including the medical center if you are staying for a surgery at the world known sports clinic. I can not really speak to the food as we did not eat in with the exception of ordering hamburgers with room service one night late. We ordered med. rare, and received golf balls on huge buns. If staying for a short over night visit I would stay again, but traveling to a resort for skiing I think I would pay a little more for a classier hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Staying at the Evergreen Lodge was affordable based on prices at Vail. Our room though dated was warm and comfortable - it included a small fridge which we used. We didn't care about the old style TV because we weren't in Vail to watch TV. Housekeeping kept our room clean and tidy and replenished all toiletries every day. There was a flight of stairs to negotiate in order to reach the free town bus - a good way to get the blood flowing each morning. The bus shuttle meant that it was easy to access the Vail or Lionshead lifts. We did not expect the Evergreen to be 5 star so we were satisfied.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackiejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Where to start? The rude front desk staff, the broken heat in the room...stuck on hot, the sheer ice walk to the bus...they don't shovel, the keys stopped working about every other time we left our room, the front desk staff lecturing us about keys next to cell phones...which they weren't, no manager on duty to speak to, 70 dollar eggs in a chafing dish, one elevator servicing 8 floors due to the other one being broken the entire long holiday weekend...it took about 15 - 20 minutes to get it. Would never go back...completely overpriced but they can get away with it because it is in Vail.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It was what was shown on the website - average hotel room. The door to the room was so hard to open, and the popcorn on the ceiling and crummy old TV were bummers. The pillows are hard as ROCKS so bring your own if you are picking about that (I am). And the breakfast was convenient (and friendly manager) but the hot food was dismal. Don't upgrade to pay more for that - just go for the cereal, etc. Very difficult with kids to get to a shuttle stop. you have to walk down 2 flights of outside stairs to get there. eek! A lot of foreigners were staying there so I noticed a lot of them smoking right outside front doors. Stunk. Not used to that where we live.
Met the sweetest Japanese couple at breakfast who made my kids oragami hats!
Hot tub has standing water all around it - gross. Game room was fun with big air hockey table. one elevator was down which made for long waits. Service was average - nothing special but there were helpful when we asked a question. Overall, $320 a night was too much for this place - even if it was Vail.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay on 1st floor - would be loud since near lobby where a lot of locals hangout at s...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Evergreen lodge for 3 nights during a ski trip. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, as was our room. The prices, in comparison, were quite reasonable and the location was perfect. We walked to the gondola every morning and to dinner every evening. We would stay at the Evergreen Lodge again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tantan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel with average staff but the location and bar make it a decent place to stay.

The hotel has a nice lobby that is very inviting to hang out in especially after a long day of skiing. They have free wine and cheese on Thursday nights which makes up for the out of date hotel rooms and temperamental hot water issues.

The bar is affordable with a great vibe but the bar food is nothing to rave about.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SFJenniferLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a meeting which was down the street at a swankier, pricier locale. The staff at the Evergreen Lodge is excellent and so helpful. Our room was upgraded (no charge) to a Mountainview upon check in. It's an 8 minute walk to the Eaglebahn gondola. The lobby is lovely and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and clean, but dated. You can't beat the price! We ate in the cafe as well as the bar, and the prices are reasonable. Food was excellent and arrived quickly. Definitely worth the price!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shawhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range: £102 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing