We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evergreen Lodge Vail - Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evergreen Lodge Vail - Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Evergreen Lodge for the third time in March 2014 - 9 of us. It never changes. If you want up market glitz it's not for you. But good clean hotel. Large bedrooms. Decent breakfast and sportsbar with food. Plus heated pool and large hot tub (too hot if you've got sensitive skin).

We would go there again. It's the one hotel in Vail that makes the resort affordable for those with a tighter budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    117
    87
    25
    30
See reviews for
95
76
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel has a good location. It is close to the shuttle but the walk to the gondola doable a not something you want to do twice a day. Upon check in we found the window in our room was broken- off the tracks which leaves a large gap for wind to blow through. Being on the first floor this a security issue as well. Someone came to look at it but couldn't fix it right away. Front desk offered to bounce us from room to room all week- their only solution for us because there wasn't another open for the full week. We checked on the status of the window the next day and the man at the front desk placed the blame on us for not wanting to switch rooms. A little empathy and customer service could go a long way. They also need to rethink the room for skis- there are no individual lockers so anyone at the hotel could steal your skis, but they don't want skis in the rooms. Lastly, and this is minor the hot tub news to be redone to be outdoors, it is very outdated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamokagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I get it - Vail is expensive. This hotel is probably the best value you'll get, but i still feel that I'm being taken advantage of simply because it's Vail and high season.
On the plus side, the hotel is comfortable and it is located NEAR the shuttle stop to take you to lions head or to vail village. You still have to walk down an unshoveled path to get there, but it is convenient enough.My bed was comfortable, the shower had good pressure, and I did like the free coffee in the room. Staff were friendly enough and I enjoyed the hot tub after skiing. Didn't go to the bar or restaurant.
On the minus side, this hotel is simply worn and very tired. While it's the cheapest in Vail, I think they know they can charge almost whatever they want and get it in high season.
Overall, this represents decent value (within context of Vail) and good enough access to the slopes if you want to be close without spending an outrageous amount for the Lodge at Vail or similar.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor. There were only two elevators in the whole place and 7 or 8 floors. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This place really is great. They are only a couple minutes from the lifts and it is by far the cheapest hotel in Vail. The rooms were standard but the beds were very comfortable. We even had to get a roll-away bed for our buddy and it was a full size bed. Not one of those bent in half things. Hot tub was big and clean. Sauna was hot. The Altitude Bar, in the lobby, was also a very fun bar with pretty good food. They also have a separate, nicer restaurant across the lobby. The place is a little dated but still my new Vail favorite.

Make sure you have Gabriel get you set up. He is the a great staff member at the Evergreen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very outdated hotel, we stayed on two different occasions in the month of feb. We had a room on the 4th floor (of 7) the first visit and a handicapped room on the 1st floor the second. Very little on site parking and the parking lot itself is in terrible condition. There are two elevators serving 7 floors of rooms, one of which is not working (apparently has not been working for months and no immediate plans to repair) Tv's are old tube tvs that the control may or may not work, beds sag in the middle, rooms are incredibly hot even if you turn your thermostat off. The handicapped room as you can see from the photos had NO counter space at all, no luggage rack or benches at the foot of the beds. The security locks on both rooms did not work, they did not line up properly in the door jams. You get the idea, very old & hard used and in need of a major remodel. That being said the location for the price is pretty unbeatable. Everything is within a short walk, including the medical center if you are staying for a surgery at the world known sports clinic. I can not really speak to the food as we did not eat in with the exception of ordering hamburgers with room service one night late. We ordered med. rare, and received golf balls on huge buns. If staying for a short over night visit I would stay again, but traveling to a resort for skiing I think I would pay a little more for a classier hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vail hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Evergreen Lodge was affordable based on prices at Vail. Our room though dated was warm and comfortable - it included a small fridge which we used. We didn't care about the old style TV because we weren't in Vail to watch TV. Housekeeping kept our room clean and tidy and replenished all toiletries every day. There was a flight of stairs to negotiate in order to reach the free town bus - a good way to get the blood flowing each morning. The bus shuttle meant that it was easy to access the Vail or Lionshead lifts. We did not expect the Evergreen to be 5 star so we were satisfied.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackiejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Where to start? The rude front desk staff, the broken heat in the room...stuck on hot, the sheer ice walk to the bus...they don't shovel, the keys stopped working about every other time we left our room, the front desk staff lecturing us about keys next to cell phones...which they weren't, no manager on duty to speak to, 70 dollar eggs in a chafing dish, one elevator servicing 8 floors due to the other one being broken the entire long holiday weekend...it took about 15 - 20 minutes to get it. Would never go back...completely overpriced but they can get away with it because it is in Vail.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#6 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#16 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing