We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best hotel in the area”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not the best hotel in the area”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We moved to this hotel from Vail Cascade to spend our last night in Vail because there were no availabilities there. The hotel definitely needs renovation. It is very old looking and dingy. The towels in the bathroom had stains on them and the toilet was rusted. I really suspected the cleanness of the hotel that I could not even use the pillows; which I dropped on the floor. I should give credit to the location as it was very close to the Village, 3 minute walking distance but the hotel did not have a shuttle service to the base areas. You basically had to walk for 5 minutes and take the bus to get to the slopes. There was not a separate concierge and the people at the reception desk were not really acquainted with the area. The hotel had a fitness room but basically it was 4 walls and few machines in the basement. No room service.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    119
    89
    26
    31
See reviews for
96
80
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The Evergreen is in a good location. The free bus stops a short walk from the hotel and it is one quick stop to Lions Head or into the Village. (The Vail public library is in walking distance and it is worth checking out.) The staff at the Evergreen were very nice and accommodating to our group

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I wasn't really expecting much from the Evergreen Lodge, but it was just fine for the price. A short walk to the Lionshead lift (or bus ride to Lionshead (1 stop) or Vail Village (5 min.)). The hotel was fairly quiet, and reasonably priced, and clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlo102159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed for a week with our 6 year old daugther. Great location. Right in the middle of everything. The staff was very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rooms were very large and clean. Definetely would stay again!

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed here for five nights in June and would never go back. It was an unusually warm week and the hotel has no air conditioning - just a huge box fan with a very short cord in the closet. My tv was very old and had horrible reception. I called the front desk and they sent someone up to fix it. He was very young and didn't know how to fix it - he had to come back several times before he finally got it working. There is no wireless internet - only wired, but the do not supply a cable. You have to borrow one from the front desk and if you forget to return it, they charge you $15. The iron was bolted to the ironing board which made it very difficult to use. Everything in the room was very outdated - there is a strange looking heater in the wall of the bathroom that looks like a fire hazard. The fitness center is a converted closet in the basement with a treadmill. I actually called other hotels in the area after I checked in to see if they had availability because this place was so disappointing, but everything was booked due to the TEVA games. The hotel is cheap compared to other options in the area, but it still seems over priced for what you get. The hotel draws some questionable guests and I think that is the reason behind the security on the iron and the deposit requirement for the internet cable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firedancer416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vail hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed 2 nights for business and had a great time! Rooms were clean and large and sports bar in lobby was really fun. Staff went out of their way to help. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas4820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Rooms are very large and clean. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Great bar food at the Altitude Sports Club. Has to be the best value in Vail.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 30 in Vail
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Gramshammer
Gasthof Gramshammer
#21 of 30 in Vail
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing