We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep track of your luggage and booking receipt when there”
Review of Lodge Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge Tower
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep track of your luggage and booking receipt when there”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The condo was fine and the amenities good. Location to the new gondola is superb. Organization in regards to luggage was a disaster. First we had the wrong luggage delivered to the room after checking in. To top that off the next day an other guest staying with us showed up and they lost her luggage. After many calls they found MOST of it but was still were missing the one with her wallet in it. Numerous calls later to managerment, with no calls back, went ot he front desk again and insisted they look at video...which would seem to be an obvious task....and they still could not figure out what had happened. Thankfully another guest called back after getting home and found a strange bag in their car and reproted it othe hotel. Like dealing with a poor airline. To top that off I was presented a bill at the end of my stay for $2,000 more then quoted and had prepaid for the visit. They resolved that issue within the hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Bob,
Thank you for finding the time to write your review. However, it is apparent that your feedback was posted to our page by mistake- you have not stayed with us this April. I am certain of this, since we did not have any lost luggage incidents; also, our winter stays are always prepaid in advance and therefore, the only charges our guests have at check out are incidental charges, such as room service or airport transfer.
There are several properties in Vail that have the word “Lodge” in them, and it is apparent that you stayed in one of them, but it was not the Lodge Tower. If you would like to be our guest on your next visit to Vail, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to accommodate you in the Lodge Tower.
Sincerely,
Alesia Soreil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    37
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
41
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. We were a little skeptical because of the mixed reviewws. We did the gold package and were in room 386. It was very cozy and that particular unit has been done with a quaint alpine theme. The beds in our rooms were super comfortable and the condo more than met our needs. In addition, the staff was great. And the location just simply can't be beat, ski down Rivas to the bottom, drop skis at the valet and walk over to the building. Not to mention one of the closest spots to après ski at the Red Lion.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzannechitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Suzan,
Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay at the Lodge Tower. We are happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed our property.
Thank you for acknowledging that our condominiums are comfortably- appointed. Ski valet at the base of the new Gondola is certainly a great amenity to have, and we are happy you took advantage of it.
We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We often stay in condominiums when staying in the mountains but this one exceeded all of our expectations. The staff was superb in all of our interaction. The continental breakfast a lovely touch. The condo was spacious and well furnished. We loved the view of the changing aspen trees. We will come back!

Room Tip: Pick the ski mountain side for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Consultanttraveler,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations, and we have now added in-room dining, which certainly brings us closer to a 5-star property.
We are looking forward to seeing you again this summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Management REALLY needs to get new beds. The headboards on my bed was broken and the mattress was clearly worn out. I've slept on better mattresses in a Super 8. Also, there is no sound insulation in the walls, so good luck if you've got loud people next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Joseph,
We are sorry to learn that your stay with us was not the most enjoyable. Thank you for giving us your feedback at check out- we have addressed the headboard issue immediately.
Our mattresses are Plush-top style, manufactured by Serta, and they are specifically designed and recommended to be used in hotels. We’re updating our mattresses on a regular schedule. We do realize, however, that some of our guests are used to firmer mattresses, and the plush-top mattress can feel too soft. We’re in the process of looking into firmer mattresses for future purchases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a recent trip, and the Lodge Tower was magnificent. Beautiful room (we had a two bedroom condo with AC, Gold level), lots of space. We looked over the mountain and the pool, and the location made it possible to take advantage of downtown Vail.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiporee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Whiporee,
Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay with us. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoy the spaciousness of our accommodations and our location, and we are glad to know that your stay with us was so pleasant. We hope to have the opportunity to host your family again on your next trip to Vail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Woke up with a back ache each morning. Soft & saggy mattress. This was the second room we were in. The first had a balcony outside our window overlooking the mountain. Only trouble was that it belonged to the room next door. Unfortunately we had to keep the drapes closed if we wanted any privacy!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your comments and your feedback. Our lodge rooms are lock offs of condominiums and, unfortunately, some of the balconies do extend to the hotel rooms. We are, however, working on restricting the access to the parts of balconies that go along the windows of the 5 lodge rooms that have this set up. I would also like to emphasize that it is always best to reserve a condominium to have all the benefits of a wonderful stay at the Lodge Tower, such as a spacious living room, a full kitchen, a wood-burning fireplace and a walk-out balcony, among other things.

While our mattresses are updated on a regular schedule, we do use Plush-top style mattresses that might seem soft for guests that are used to a firmer mattress. We very much appreciate your feedback and we will consider purchasing a firmer type of mattress in the future.
We also hope that you enjoyed other aspects of your Lodge Tower stay, as well as your nephew’s wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We love Vail because it looks like an Austrian village resort. The air is so crisp, atmosphere so relaxed, many miles of trails and good food. The Tower Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. It is a bit outdated but the friendliness of staff compensates for negatives. Other issues for someone more picky are the small size of rooms (but common in Vail and they also have apartments), lack of air conditioning (usually it cools off naturally by night time), little space for breakfast in the lounge (but the chocolate croissants are very delicious).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radulr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay in Vail and at the Lodge Tower! We do have a wide variety of accommodations, with lodge rooms being the smallest and the least expensive option. It is our condominiums, however, that give our guests a full Lodge Tower experience: each condominium has a wood-burning fireplace, a walk-out balcony, a kitchen and dining area. These spacious and well-equipped accommodations allow our guests to feel like home on their vacation, and oftentimes they cook dinners and enjoy breakfast in the privacy of their own condominium. The Vail dining experience, off course, is not to be missed, and we can always suggest the best restaurants in Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 30 in Vail
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Tower

Property: Lodge Tower
Address: 200 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Tower is snug against the base of Vail Mountain, just 75 yards away from Gondola One. From single hotel rooms to spacious three-bedroom condominiums, the Lodge Tower offers a generous range of luxurious, mountainside accommodations for families, couples, groups or individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Tower Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing