We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely one bedroom condo, exceptional staff”
Review of Manor Vail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manor Vail Lodge
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely one bedroom condo, exceptional staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I reserved a one bedroom condo for 3 nights the last week of June. My reservation was made over 2 months in advance. Our travels went so smoothly that we arrived in Vail one night early. I called the resort to see if we could add on another night to our stay and they said yes. We checked into the resort rather late with 3 sleeping young children in tow. The check in process was smooth, until we arrived in our unit. To say that it was outdated is an understatement, and the unit as a whole was run down with large tears in the furniture, large chips out of the kitchen countertop, very old appliances, and filthy grout and wallpaper in the bath. The decor on the wall was also rather tasteless with one print reading "how can I be so thirsty today when I drank so much last night".

I called the front desk and the person on duty acknowledged that this was one of their older units and that the owners have choice in the decor and updating so they had no control over that. He asked if we could accept that unit overnight and he would ask the manager about moving to another the next morning. Being so late with tired children, I agreed. The following morning, Theresa from the management staff went far beyond my expectations and showed me several units, both one and two bedroom, to try to find one that met our expectations (which were in line with the photos and description I had seen online at their website and in line with the photos of one bedroom units I had seen on Tripdadvisor.com). We saw 3 two bedroom units and all of these were more updated and had nicer large televisions, etc. We preferred the price and smaller layout of the one bedroom units (given that we have young children), and saw 4 of these units in all, including the first unit we stayed in. Two of the four were rather outdated, and the other two were exceptionally nice and upscale.

I am seated in our unit now and can say that we love this particular condo with granite counters, full updated kitchen with bar and stainless appliances, tiled walk in shower with glass doors, and two 50 inch flat screen TV's with a surround sound system. We also have a gas grill on a large balcony overlooking Gore Creek. The pools and hot tubs are fabulous, and the location of the resort is ideal for families in the summer with Ford Park in the backyard and just a 5 minute walk to the east side of the village or you can catch the bus just across the street and go through the entire town.

Overall, we would recommend this property, and commend the staff for their exceptional efforts to make us feel comfortable. However, we were fortunate that this was not a busy season so that we could have more choice in our unit, as clearly not all are as upscale as we expected. In winter you may be gambling a bit due to the level of variability amongst the condos.

Room Tip: For one bedroom units we liked 383 and 381, and not 181. There is no A/C in the summer, so creek si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MICHELLE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    109
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
319
118
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just returned from a 3 day stay at Manor Vail and had an enjoyable time. Our condo was on the 3rd level near an elevator, but didn't hear a lot of noise while there. It was very "roomy" with a separate bathroom, kitchen, and living room. A nice balcony with chairs provided a nice view of the mountains. Didn't see too many grocery stores in Vail, so you may want to bring a few thing with you. Ice and a vending machine w/chips, candy, etc., was downstair near the lobby. No machine on each floor.

The breakfast buffet was around $15 and OK. Didn't try the restaurant, but had a pizza delivered for room service one night and it was excellent. Parking was $5/night - not bad compared to some hotels we've stayed in. Great location, adjacent to the Ford gardens. You can easily walk into town or take a free bus which goes thru town and down to Lions Head. Nice way to save on wear and tear on the feet.

Just one small complaint - the rooms are not air conditioned. During the heat of the day, we had to open windows and door to the balcony. At night, it usually cooled down a bit. Bed was OK, although not as nice as we'd expect. Overall, were quite pleased with the condo, however.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Can't beat the location. Just walk across the street to the Golden Peak lift. Seldom a liftline and great way to access the top of the mountain and bowls. Manor Vail was expanded a couple of years ago and most of the units have been recently ungraded. The Fitz bar is a happening place apre ski, with a guitar player most nights during the ski season. The Lord gore restaurant has excellent food and never seems crowded.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 503travelincouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I were lucky enough to take an extended trip to the Rockies with our new baby in Feb this year. We were very concerned at the negative reviews Manor Vail had received here but really needn't have been. This is a top notch offering in every way. The service from all members of staff we found to be faultless. The location is unbeatable - in fact it is worth noting that we stayed previously at Sonnenalp Vail and it's location in the village is poor by comparison. At Manor Vail you literally can see the lift from your condo! The accommodation itself is everything a condo should be. We took a one bedroom mountain view and found it to be very well appointed internally. There was even a brand new bbq on the deck so you could grill your steaks whilst watching the last skiiers of the day make it down the mountain. Happy hour was also a great addition with a fantastic live musician playing most days. In summary I'd say as a long distance traveller from London with a baby in tow I needed this place to deliver and it really did. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClubClassAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here in March, 2012. Beautiful 2 bedroom condo steps from Chair 6 and access to the back bowls. Easy walk to all restaurants and activities in the village...loved the views of the mountain from our deck. Very nice condo w/ room for 6...great staff and breakfast is included!

Room Tip: Request a mountain view if you go during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kwitsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our family stayed in a one bedroom suite with a mountain view. The location is right on the mountain and right next to the Vail children's ski school. The boys loved watching the skiers come down the mountain in the morning and watching the lifts get going. The suite was great, nice flat screen TV and kitchen. The hot tubs and pool was right outside our unit. You can walk or catch the bus--one stop --into the heart of Vail Village.

Room Tip: Mountain views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Booked this vacation online thru last minute ski vacations 4 days before we arrived in Vail and got a great deal!! We were in a beautiful 2 bedroom condo. Wonderful beds, king in the master & 2 queens in 2nd bedroom. Also had 2 pull down twins, sleeps 8 comfortably if you need to. Granite counters thru out, beautiful updated kitchen with everything you need, vaulted ceilings, large stone gas fireplace, 3 bathrooms, views of the mountains and just a short walk to the chair lift. Almost a ski in ski out! Short walk to Vail village. Would stay here again for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly updated condo facing mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Vail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Vail Lodge

Property: Manor Vail Lodge
Address: 595 Vail Valley Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manor Vail Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail, Colorado, Manor Vail Lodge is an iconic Vail property with a rich history and one of the best locations in Vail. Located at the base of Vail Mountain's Golden Peak, directly across the street from ski school, the Ford Amphitheater and Betty Ford Alpine Gardens, Manor Vail Lodge is steps away from all the winter and summer activities Vail has to offer. Vail is quickly becoming a summer mecca for mountain biking and cycling and a rising star for health and wellness education and activities. Winter or summer, outdoor adventure is all here at Manor Vail Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manor Vail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing