We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great even 5, 10, 15 years later...”
Review of Lift House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lift House Lodge
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great even 5, 10, 15 years later...”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We live nearby to Vail (w/ in 40 miles) of Vail and we get over a few times a year as it is simply a nice change-of-pace ski vacation to stay and play on a different mountain. The Lifthouse is a property we've stayed at a few times before in the past.. Years have gone by and Vail has completed the Lionshead renaissance. The Arabelle now blocks some of the views of the Lifthouse, but the experience and convenience is actually better than ever.

The Lifthouse certainly isn't the newest kid on the block, but it is very close to everything and if you want an "almost" ski in/ski out experience. For the price it can't be beat and if you are traveling as two you certainly get much more than a lodge room w/ a studio complete with kitchenette, sofa/tv and sleeping. Plus, it is pet friendly if that is a need. For us it is sometimes and sometimes it isn't.

We booked a last-minute deal through a local site and, in all honesty, messed up a few details. Our kids were going with us (this time...not all times) and we decided to bring our dog along and pay the $25 a night fee. Packy (apologies if name is mispelled) was great. Totally understanding and helped a ton and made the visit great. We're not looking for top of the line service, but the little things always do count and they make it great. Just a family (or couple) looking to get away for a day, or two or three. Most rooms overlook the ice rink or main promenade and a few straight to the lift/mountain. Great restaurants nearby and ultra convenient. Honestly, I've stayed in a few properties in and around Lionshead as well as Vail Village (Evergreen, for instance) and if you want a nice room, great location and unexpected service - the Lifthouse is a great option.

I can't recommend it enough. Don't walk in expecting the Four Seasons, but if you are a reasonable traveler looking for a great place to stay with great service at a great price - Lifthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Public Relations Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks heaps C G, we love how your review is detailed and personal. Can't wait to host you again, contact us on lifthousevail@gmail.com when you do, quoting your review and this response, so we make sure Packy and the staff know it's you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

In the heart of Lions Head Village you walk out onto the village. Great summer prices and dog friendly. The studio was a perfect size for us 2 humans and 2 dogs. A great balcony with a
beautiful view of the mountain.
The gondola is one block away, plenty of restaurants, great parking area.
Not the Ritz, but the location made up for it.
The staff was super friendly.

Room Tip: Get a balcony facing the mountain. It does a little noise in the evening, but so worth it. Just clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, General Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Lifthouse and for staying with us while on your vacation! We really appreciate your kind words and happy to hear the pups got to enjoy Vail as well.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Everyone knows that you can spend a fortune in Vail. But the trick is to save money on lodging so you can spend it on entertainment and food. That said - stay at The Lift House! It is in the heart of Lionshead - surrounded by all the new, and expensive, places. You are 30 seconds from the Lionshead lift, restaurants, shops...a free bus ride to Vail (10 blocks!)
The Lift House is clean, convenient, well maintained, and the staff goes out of their way to help you. It's not the newest or fanciest, but you have all the amenities of a condo, with prime location, a balcony, $89.00 a night in the summer, $5.00 parking, and they take pets. Duh!!
If you want to spend a fortune, there are plenty of places to do that. If you want a safe, homey, great location - this is it.

Room Tip: Try for a mountain view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Owner at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Vail and hope to see you again soon. Woof! Woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
490 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Did my TripAdvisor research for weeks before my trip to Vail.
Found several places, but this place had it all - key location, inexpensive and small kitchen.

Everything was true.
This is a safe location, although the exterior doors remain unlocked (which we actually liked).
It's also walking distance to restaurants, bars and the slopes.
Parking is a few steps away for $5 a day, or you can use the municipal lot which is a 3-min walk.

Rooms are small, but each has a kitchen-ette and balcony (ours faced the square and mountain)
Great room if you plan on only using your room as a staging area to eat, sleep and get cleaned up. There's sooo much to do in Vail, so it worked for us.
The rooms have heat, but no A/C - so we slept with the sliding door open. This worked, but maintenance crews setting up in the plaza below were a bit loud, and the curtains don't fully keep the sun out.
Large room divided by an odd-drawer/cubbie set up - but it worked perfectly to give each of us a bit of privacy.

Staff: Very friendly. Very helpful.
Cleanliness: Yes.
Wear: Not old, but not brand-new
TV: flat-screen
Balcony: Small with table and chairs. Floor is cracked and needs repair
Kitchenette: Small fridge, stove, sink, dishes, coffee pot, basic kitchen supplies and a table w/ 4 chairs
Bathroom: small, but clean. Separate room for toilet and shower.
Bed: comfortable
Pillows: Average - but they had plenty there
Bedding: Extra blanket provided
Hide-away bed: Unk. Couch was comfortable enough for friend, so he never pulled out the hide-away.
Towels: Coarse. Could be a bit large, but otherwise good.
Room view: Ours was amazing!

Recommendations: Fix broken concrete on balconies. Buy nicer (high-end) towels.
Add the thick plastic drapes to the current set-up, in order to maintain a darker sleeping environment.

Would recommend: Definitely
Would stay again: Yes.

Room Tip: 4th floor is highest. Believe all rooms face the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, General Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your great review, so glad you enjoyed your visit to Vail! We also appreciate all of the suggestions you made. We are constantly working on our hotel, updating what time can do to buildings in the snowy Rocky Mountains is an ongoing but rewarding challenge that we love.

We hope we can serve your vacation needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We chose this property because we wanted to be close to the base and restaurants. We also wanted a kitchen for use at breakfast. We knew from other reviews that the accommodations would not be fancy but that didn't bother us. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Thank you Kevin for helping us get to the supermarket. He provided us with bus arrival/departure times, directions to the closest bus stop, a supermarket discount card, and cloth bags to carry our groceries. Excellent customer service. We enjoyed having easy access to shopping and dining without the use of a vehicle. We had a great vacation and left feeling that we'd picked the right place to stay. We will definitely return to Lifthouse in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyesOfTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy you chose to stay with us during your Vail vacation and are very grateful for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Lifthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The staff were outstanding...location cannot be beat...very comfortable and homey and quiet. Perfect for family or singles. Housekeeping everyday..well equipped if you choose to cook in some meals. Kudos to staff: Kevin, Whitey, Roland, Mary and especially Packy. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel and location in Vail favorable. Your kind words will be passed along to our hard working staff.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Vail sometime in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

People say there is no place like home. Well the Lifthouse gives you that exact feeling. The rooms are have all you need. Full kitchen. Have coffee in the morning. Come back after skiing for a snack before a night on the town. The staff and housekeeping could not be better. Don't miss staying at the Lifthouse when visiting Vail.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallyho114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found your room as comfortable as home. We appreciate your business and do hope you stay with us again the next time you are in Vail.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#16 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lift House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lift House Lodge

Property: Lift House Lodge
Address: 555 E Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lift House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lionshead section of Vail village, the Lift House Lodge overlooks Vail's ski runs and is located next door to the Eagle Bahn gondola and Chair Lift 8 on Vail Mountain. The Lift House is an all suite hotel featuring studio residences with a kitchen, fireplace, living room and private balcony. Indoor hot tub. Two restaurants. Free daily maid service, WiFi internet and local calls. The Lift House is a pet friendly hotel in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lift House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifthouse Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing