We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Skiiers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lift House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lift House Lodge
Ranked #6 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for Skiiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Lifthouse and had an awesome experience. The location is spot on for skiing and enjoying all that Vail has to offer. Met Kevin when we checked in and he really made our stay nice. They even took care of us when we had a late flight and allowed us to use the room after the scheduled checkout time.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, but pretty dated. That said, if you're here to actually ski, it's a much better value than most of the neighborhood. I would definitely consider the Lifthouse next time we're in Vail.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktimmons001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Public Relations Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
How great to hear that you loved your stay with Lifthouse Vail. We always accommodate guests' requests as we are able, and agree that our staff & location are second to none.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    44
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We do have enjoyed our stay at Lifthouse…. Great location, cozy apartment, good space, helpful kitchen, nice view for the slopes,

Few steps from the gondola. Near everithing at Lionshead.

The Manager - Kevin was very, very kind and helpfull.

Great experiente. Great cost / benefit.

Room Tip: Ask for slope view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Public Relations Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your great comments about our amenities & staff. We hope to see you back often and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have been coming to Lifthouse for a few years now and we just can't beat the friendly, helpfulness of Mary and Kevin and the absolutely first class location! From our balcony we look straight onto the slopes and the Lionshead eagle bahn gondola which is a minute walk away! The balcony is is great for chilling out with a beer after the ski boots are off and watching the world go by! The apartment is practical and well laid-out with patio doors leading from the kitchen/living area, onto the balcony and facing the slopes.

A few steps away from the Lifthouse is Performance Sports, which is also a huge favourite of ours and we have been renting our skis and buying accessories from them for around 10 years. - Again great service by interesting and interested staff!

In conclusion, Lifthouse condominiums provides a great combination of high quality service in a great location with easy access to all the wrap around services which you need for a good skiing holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayjaysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Public Relations Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks a lot for the warm words Kayjaysea! We love how you enjoy our amenities, and the balcony of course, and we'll be excited to host you again. Contact us at lifthousevail@gmail.com before you come again if you like, and we'll make sure the staff knows it's you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just spent six nights at the Lifthouse. We were looking for a clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay for our all-too-brief ski vacation, and we found it. Though built in the 70s around the time Lionshead first opened, the Lifthouse has been kept up to date wonderfully. It's not luxury--at least not Vail-style luxury--but it has everything we were looking for: comfortable bed, room to relax, serviceable kitchen/cooking area, great service, nice view, excellent location, fireplace, even a private balcony. We walked out the building entrance and were no more than 75 yards to the Lionshead gondola. The walk even includes an escalator! (It is Vail, after all.) Nearby restaurants and bars are wonderful. (Don't miss pizza at the Blue Moose, the buffalo meatloaf at Garfinkles, or the superb seafood at Montauk, which is right there in the Lifthouse.) And it's a 15-minute walk or 5-minute bus ride to the heart of Vail village. We could have paid more than twice the price for a smaller hotel room with fancier shampoo. But for value without sacrificing comfort or quality, the Lifthouse is the place. We've stayed there many times in the past and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room this time was on the west side, with balcony facing the ped. mall and ice rink. Nice spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Public Relations Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much Terry B! We appreciate your review highly, both the rating and the detail you described make us very happy. We will be excited to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We live nearby to Vail (w/ in 40 miles) of Vail and we get over a few times a year as it is simply a nice change-of-pace ski vacation to stay and play on a different mountain. The Lifthouse is a property we've stayed at a few times before in the past.. Years have gone by and Vail has completed the Lionshead renaissance. The Arabelle now blocks some of the views of the Lifthouse, but the experience and convenience is actually better than ever.

The Lifthouse certainly isn't the newest kid on the block, but it is very close to everything and if you want an "almost" ski in/ski out experience. For the price it can't be beat and if you are traveling as two you certainly get much more than a lodge room w/ a studio complete with kitchenette, sofa/tv and sleeping. Plus, it is pet friendly if that is a need. For us it is sometimes and sometimes it isn't.

We booked a last-minute deal through a local site and, in all honesty, messed up a few details. Our kids were going with us (this time...not all times) and we decided to bring our dog along and pay the $25 a night fee. Packy (apologies if name is mispelled) was great. Totally understanding and helped a ton and made the visit great. We're not looking for top of the line service, but the little things always do count and they make it great. Just a family (or couple) looking to get away for a day, or two or three. Most rooms overlook the ice rink or main promenade and a few straight to the lift/mountain. Great restaurants nearby and ultra convenient. Honestly, I've stayed in a few properties in and around Lionshead as well as Vail Village (Evergreen, for instance) and if you want a nice room, great location and unexpected service - the Lifthouse is a great option.

I can't recommend it enough. Don't walk in expecting the Four Seasons, but if you are a reasonable traveler looking for a great place to stay with great service at a great price - Lifthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Public Relations Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks heaps C G, we love how your review is detailed and personal. Can't wait to host you again, contact us on lifthousevail@gmail.com when you do, quoting your review and this response, so we make sure Packy and the staff know it's you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

In the heart of Lions Head Village you walk out onto the village. Great summer prices and dog friendly. The studio was a perfect size for us 2 humans and 2 dogs. A great balcony with a
beautiful view of the mountain.
The gondola is one block away, plenty of restaurants, great parking area.
Not the Ritz, but the location made up for it.
The staff was super friendly.

Room Tip: Get a balcony facing the mountain. It does a little noise in the evening, but so worth it. Just clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, General Manager at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Lifthouse and for staying with us while on your vacation! We really appreciate your kind words and happy to hear the pups got to enjoy Vail as well.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Everyone knows that you can spend a fortune in Vail. But the trick is to save money on lodging so you can spend it on entertainment and food. That said - stay at The Lift House! It is in the heart of Lionshead - surrounded by all the new, and expensive, places. You are 30 seconds from the Lionshead lift, restaurants, shops...a free bus ride to Vail (10 blocks!)
The Lift House is clean, convenient, well maintained, and the staff goes out of their way to help you. It's not the newest or fanciest, but you have all the amenities of a condo, with prime location, a balcony, $89.00 a night in the summer, $5.00 parking, and they take pets. Duh!!
If you want to spend a fortune, there are plenty of places to do that. If you want a safe, homey, great location - this is it.

Room Tip: Try for a mountain view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifthouse C, Owner at Lift House Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Vail and hope to see you again soon. Woof! Woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 31 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#16 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lift House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lift House Lodge

Property: Lift House Lodge
Address: 555 E Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lift House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lionshead section of Vail village, the Lift House Lodge overlooks Vail's ski runs and is located next door to the Eagle Bahn gondola and Chair Lift 8 on Vail Mountain. The Lift House is an all suite hotel featuring studio residences with a kitchen, fireplace, living room and private balcony. Indoor hot tub. Two restaurants. Free daily maid service, WiFi internet and local calls. The Lift House is a pet friendly hotel in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lift House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifthouse Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing