We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel but make sure the location is right for you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Great Midwest
Level Contributor
201 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A nice hotel but make sure the location is right for you”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We arrived on December 27, 2012 for 7 nights. I was traveling with my wife and two children ages 5 and 9. The hotel is perfect for families and obviously the main reason to stay here is the skiing. Check in went smooth and our room was ready when we arrived. Our room was clean and tidy but a little on the small side. The hotel is perfect for families with children of all ages and you see lots of kids here. Note there is a new part and an old part to the resort and the new part has larger rooms with a fireplace in them. We were in the older part and I would suggest you stay in the new part of the hotel if you can. I also suggest you try to get a room on the 2nd floor because it is very convenient especially at 3PM daily there is complimentary hot cider, hot coco, and cookies. Nice to stop by and hit this on your way to the pool with the kids.

Buffet breakfast is served daily at the First Chair Cafe. Prices are $26.00 for adults, $12.00 for kids and 5 and under eat free. The breakfast was pretty good and they have just about anything you want. I would suggest having breakfast here especially if you have kids. However if you dont eat a lot there is a Starbucks next to the cafe and you can get a breakfast burrito there for $5.00 and a coffe and it will be cheaper.

We ate lunch at the bar on the first floor lobby and it was outstanding. I highly suggest the elk sloppy joes. They also have a full kids menu and nightly entertainment. This is a great spot to hang out and share the days events over some drinks and good food next to the fireplace.

We are dinner at the 7one5 restaurant and it was a huge disappointment. The food here is just so so and out of the 9 people at our table no one really liked anything they ordered. The service was good though. Dont expect anything close to fine dining here and I would honestly not suggest having dinner here but if you are not a picky person you may like it. They have a kids menu and the kids seemed fairly happy.

We did use the spa and indoor pool area and it was nice. The pool was clean and they also have a hot tub near the pool as well. Lots of chlorine in the hot tub and it will make your eyes and skin itch. There is also an outdoor pool and hot tub if you care to go outdoors. No doubt that the mens and ladies locker rooms could use a make over. Things are worn out in the locker rooms and in need of a refurb. The steam sauna in the mens locker room works decent but the door has issues and does not close all the way so its pain to get up and close it eveytime someone enters or leaves. Also disappointed they didnt have a full selection of mens toiletries like razors, shave cream, combs, deoderant, ect. in the locker room.

The staff was friendly and will go out of their way to try and help you. The conceirge staff was good and knowledgeable and they will try to help in any way they can with dinner reservations and excursions however they did mess up one of our dinner reservations and it caused a big problem for us but other than that they are good and try real hard. The bell staff does a great job and they also have 2 complimentary shuttles that will take you to the grocery store or the village at night for dinner. The drivers work on tips so show them a little love. Otherwise there is bus service that goes to and from the village and it picks you up right in fron of the hotel and it runs about every 8-10 minutes. I think the bus runs from 7am until midnight but double check me on this.

LOCATION: You need to make sure this location is right for you and your family. If you have small kids or are disabled in any way or cant walk long distances this location may not be good for you. Its quite a long walk from the hotel to the main gondola (Born Free) that you use to go up the mountain. I would say its probably a 1/4 mile walk or 6-8 minutes and can be difficult with small kids epecially at the end of the day when they are tired. This is also where you would buy lift tickets and enroll for ski school. They do have a ski valet that will take your skis from the hotel to the gondola area and this is nice but you do have to pay for it. I suggest using this service because you are not going to want to lug your skis (and your kids skis) to and from the gondola two times a day. If long walking is a problem for you then you may want to choose a hotel closer to the mountain/gondola. Ask questions when selecting a hotel and make sure they are close to the mountain if walking is a challenge for you.

I think I covered the main things that one would need to know when deciding to stay here. Keep in mind this is not a 5 star resort so if you are expecting A Ritz Carlton or Four Season you probably will be disappointed here. However if you are looking for a nice decent place to stay that is great for family fun then you will like it here. This is not the cheapest resort by any means so if price is a concern for you there are other properties in the area that are just as nice and more price freindly. But all in all I think you will be happy here should you decide on the Marriot.

Room Tip: Request to be in the newer part of the resort in room with fireplace. Also the 2nd floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding our staff and overall Hotel experience. I am sorry that the restaurant did not meet your expectations. I have shared this feedback with our Chef and he will work to make improvements going forward. I hope that when you again return to Vail you choose to stay at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    378
    165
    56
    44
See reviews for
339
300
44
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just arrived home from a family ski vacation in Vail and we thought the Marriott was great. The accommodations were very nice, clean and up to date. The staff was always willing and able to help at all times. The staff made it easy on my wife and I while trying to travel on a ski vacation with 4 children. One minor drawback was the food. 7 One 5 wasn't very good and the morning buffet was average at best. The staff was great in both venues but the food was lackluster.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zzzdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding our staff and overall Hotel experience. I am sorry that the restaurant did not meet your expectations. I have shared this feedback with our Chef and he will work to make improvements going forward. I hope that when you again return to Vail you choose to stay at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We read the reviews and were expecting mediocrity, but were surprised by how nice this hotel was. It has a cozy, small hotel, rustic ski chalet feel. Great location near the gondola, ski school, restaurants and shopping. Wonderful view of the mountain.
I didn't care for the shared balcony, because sliding glass doors typically aren't that secure.
There needs to be more variety with the breakfast pricing (steers you to get the buffet), but this is typical at all Marriott hotels.
Unlike other reviews, we didn't feel like the decor was outdated, it just felt rustic. The queen size beds were not truly queen size, they felt like double sized beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH_on_the_Gulf_Coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you had a nice experience overall. We do not have rooms with Queen Beds all of our rooms with two beds are double beds. If you were told that these are queen beds prior to your arrival I do apologize, this not accurate information. We will share this feedback with our entire Hotel Staff and use your feedback to help better our Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We've stayed here many times for ski vacations. Short walk to main gondola. Large dining room with great buffet breakfast, indoor and outdoor pools, hot cocoa/apple cider and homemade cookies in lobby for après ski, spa, bar with live entertainment. Large gift and ski shop to store equipment overnight. Great assortment of rooms, many with great view of slopes. On bus route.
Friendly staff. Overall, one of our favorites.

Room Tip: Try to get view of slopes or on creek if in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lv2grw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with our Hotel. We truly do appreciate your loyalty to our resort over the years. We will be sharing your comments with our entire Hotel staff. All of our associates take great pride in knowing that we have guests who come back year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

Pros:

- Located right in Lionshead. As well free town bus stop is right in front of hotel
- Great ski valet with service right to the Gondola
- One of the few hotel brands in the area where you can easily use frequent traveler points

Cons:

- Rooms - reserved King room. Got a handicapped accessible room with two double (not queen) beds. Not good for a romantic trip to the mountains. Room furnishings were dull and outdated. Not up to standards when compared to competing properties
- Pool - again outdated and not in good condition. 1 outdoor and 1 indoor pool. Two outdoor hot tubs and 1 indoor. 1 outdoor was cold and the jets were not working. The indoor hot tub had blood pooled next to the steps if you can believe. Called both problem to hotel
- for the money you pay, expect a lot more from this property. Surrounding properties have comparable location but are MUCH better for the money. If Marriott would invest to bring this property up to their standards, it could be one of the great hotels in Lionshead. But for now, I'd stay away unless you get a great deal

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our Hotel. We are pleased that your experience with our Ski Valet was positive; we will share your comments with our entire staff. Your feedback regarding the overall dated feel about our resort is also appreciated. We are currently working with our ownership group on a room renovation for 2013 as well as some long term plans to address the pool areas. I do hope that if you return to Vail you choose to stay with us again and look for some of these improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here for a week in December for a Family vacation. We were happy with our choice as the room we had (1 bedroom suite) fulfilled our needs. It was clean and roomy enough for us and had 2 bathrooms. The location is great. We had just a short walk over to the lifts and the stores at the bottom of the mountain. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you and your family had a great stay with us. We will share your feedback with our entire team here and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Vail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We are here for a couple of days for a mini-vacation and to see the snow. (I was born and raised in Coral Gables, FL, so, this is my first time to ever see snow like this!!) Our stay here has been great! The resort is truly lovely, and, although we are not skiers, clearly, the services such as a Ski Valet delivery to the slopes, seems really first class!!! And, of course, there is a fully stocked Ski Shop and Ski Equipment service on site. We went back out late yesterday afternoon to drive over to Frisco and the valet guys out front hand you bottles of water, to help you stay hydrated. Oh, and a note about Shane and the guys out front, they are delightful and go out of their way to be helpful!!! Also, the ladies at the Concierge Desk could not have been nicer or more helpful!!!
The hotel is only a couple minutes walk to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, as well as many eateries and the Lionshead Village. There is a free shuttle/bus service that runs all over Vail/ Vail Village and Lionshead/Lionshead Village, so, getting around is extremely easy, and once you park your car, you really don't have a need to drive anywhere, unless you are going someplace outside of Vail or Lionshead area.
On to the room.....we did get a room with a nice view of the pool area, as well as a view toward the mountain. The room is nicely spacious with a large and very nice bathroom! The rooms come with a humidifier, which is a lifesaver!!! My only complaint, the room has 2 double beds. Double beds? I did not know they still made them!!! It's a good thing we are both small people, because, otherwise there is no way a couple could sleep together!! I had forgotten how a double bed is really nothing more than a glorified twin bed!!! Other than the small size, the bed is very comfortable,
Overall, this has been a great time at a really beautiful spot!! It has snowed and snowed and the annual Tree Lighting in Vail Village was this evening with carolers and musicians and Frosty the Snowman and Rudolph and Santa to help flip the switch to light the tree!! What a great way to get in the holiday spirit!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carybenn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your experience at our Resort. We are very glad to read that you had such a great time and that our associates helped to make that happen. We will share your comments with our team. I hope that if you make another trip to Colorado and the Rocky Mountains you again choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing