We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Vail Mountain Home run year in/year out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed 6 February 2013

"My family and I have visted this property every year for the last 10 years and the last four years twice a year (early season/November/December and end of March)

The mgmt is fantistic and really makes you feel welcome. It is nice to see the same familiar faces each time we visit. The food is great and the Suites overlooking the mountain are extremly nice/very comfortable,(very chalet like) and the views are breathtaking! On-site Charter Sports is very convenient too and the new Marriott Ski Valet walks your skis to the slopes each morning and back to the Marriott in the afternoon! Great service and they only started offering this the last few years!!!!

We have skied all over the country and specifically all over Utah and Colorado. Vail truly is "like nothing on earth" and the Vail Marriott in our opinion represents the best value/luxury/service of any place we have visited which equals a great family trip!!. Just really great memories each year!

Room Tip: Typically when I travel I always select rooms far from the elevator but here we request rooms close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I struggle a bit as to whether to give the hotel 3 or 4 stars. Overall, the hotel is very good, but the hotel feels run down which really takes away from the experience.
The Pros:
1. The on site ski rental/ ski concierges are fantastic. They really make it so easy (especially with kids). The ski concierge and rentals are the primary reason I would consider staying there again in the future.
2. The rooms are very large. We had a 3 bedroom suite, which was actually a two room aparment plus an additional hotel room (sharing one outer door).
3. Service- everyone from the concierge to the door men were great and very accomodating.
The Cons:
1. The hotel feels very old and dated. Everything from the small motel 6 style bathrooms, to the old alarm clocks, power strips around the room, etc. make the hotel seem like a 3 star hotel. Also, the rooms (and the rest of the hotel) were always warm and stuffy.
2. Although the pool and hot tub are functional, they also lack any charm and are right next to the ski storgae areas. This made the hot tub and pool very uninviting (which is probably why they were very underutilized (other than by kids).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

One night stay, which was too short to enjoy some of the offerings (didn't get to the pool/hot tub, my bad). I was given a top floor, mountain view room, and I did very much enjoy the view.
Bed was comfortable, WiFi worked, amenity bag was nice, and the bath is expansive and very, very nice. One disappointment was how overheated the place was. My room never really cooled to my comfort level. The 6th floor rooms all shared one huge balcony, so I felt a bit weird having my balcony door open all night. Maybe the hotel is going for cosy, but I found all the spaces stuffy, especially when dressed to snowboard.
Staff was generally friendly, sometimes a tad harried - there was a conference going on and weekend ski hubub. I didn't want to pay about 25 bucks for breakfast so it was a trek to find food that wasn't posh or jampacked. I gather the Little Diner nearby rocks but was sooo crowded on a Saturday morning.
Bus service to Covered Bridge or Golden Peak (and Larkspur) was good. The walk to the lifts was a bit farther than I expected, but much of Vail is like that.
Overall, this place is fine. I think I prefer the Lodge at Vail, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This marriott resort is beautiful, great location, great views and great people except for front desk staff. We encountered a employee who might have had a bad day and wasn"t the true Marriott experience.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room in the new section that has fireplaces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We have been skiing in Colorado for many years but never at Vail until this year. We loved everything about the hotel and the service we received. The food was good albeit a little pricey but not out of line with everything else we experienced in Vail. The ski shop was a great experience--knowledgeable staff and great service! Love the ski valets!

Room Tip: Wait unitl right before your trip and find out about upgrading. We had a great fireplace in our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLOW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Very amazed at the level of service at the hotel. From the valet when we arrived to the check in, everyone was extremely helpful and polite. King Size room, was very adequately sized with large bathroom. Hotel was also very quiet. Hotel offers complimentary (required) free ski check. As others have said, they will bring your skiis to the base of the gondola (about a 3min walk) and bring them back for you when you get back (just look out of the guys with the ski rack and orange jackets).
Didn't try the food as there a lot of great dining options nearby and in the main vail village.
Location is great, the vail free bus picks you up at the front door to take you to then next village and you are right on the edge of the LionsHead village.
Only downside in service was the boot check - they couldn't seem to keep up the process. The ski guys were great however.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpbportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in the Junior Timberland Suite that had a nice living room, a small wet bar with refrigerator, microwave with a full bathroom in addition to the separate bedroom with it's own bathroom. Two 42" LCD TVs were very nice. The fireplace and balcony (really a sliding glass door with a rail) were also both very nice to have. Our view overlooked the heated pool and hot tub and a wonderful mountainside. Couldn't really ask for more. The hotel has three restaurants and a very friendly concierge for asking where to eat dinner or make reservations. Plus, you are literally just a 2minute stroll to the gondala. Everything was close by and an easy walk to Lionshead shopping. The buses run every 10 minutes and are free...and very clean and friendly. Had room service for dinner a few nights...trust me, get the ribs...just awesome. Look forward to going back again!

Room Tip: Spring for the junior suite with a mountain view...you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our Hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your Junior Suite and the in Room Dinning both. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to Vail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in Vail
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Address: 715 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £175 - £835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our relaxed luxury ski resort in Vail sits just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers comfortable lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our we are the destination resort of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking accommodation is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and an elegant spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Marriott Mountain Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing