We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ski lodge hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great ski lodge hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was apprehensive about staying at the Marriott Vail after reading some bad reviews. We stayed on a Friday night in February. The hotel is great, considering it's a ski lodge hotel with a conference area. I understand the wear and tear because the snow is so damaging.
Service was great, check-in smooth. The only downside was that we wanted to stay another night, but the hotel was booked solid (a good side for the hotel). I liked the free wine voucher and the free hot chocolate in the afternoon.
The location is close to the gondola. It's not a far walk.
The beds were comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurants in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkercolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    375
    165
    56
    44
See reviews for
339
297
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We come here every year for our ski trip. Service is very good and everyone seemed truly interested in making our trip great.
When our safe quit working someone came within 5 min. When he couldn't fix it there was a new safe installed by 15min. Great job.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dukewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stay at Marriotts an average of 240 days a year. I take several international vacations to Marriotts.

The one at Vail is downright terrible for the pricepoint.

Pros:
Location is good - about a 5 minute walk to the gondola.
Ski Valet service is nice and free
Bed is decent (the beds at the Jackson, MS Marriott are way better, to put it in perspective)
Humidifier, mini refrig in room
Balcony is nice

Cons:
RIDICULOUSLY SMALL. As I am sitting here typing this review, my dell power cable extends the entire length of the room (from bed to wall where the tv is).
Towels are similar to what you would find at a Days Inn.
$30 resort fee per day? This is NOT a resort.
Sales manager badgering me to pay $150/nt extra to upgrade to a suite
$599/nt. Do you realize the condo I could get for $599/nt for a studio sized condo??

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Kyle D,
Thank you for providing your detailed review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear you felt our rooms were very small. Please know we do have over 12 different room types available to purchase and with such a wide selection we feel there is an appropriate room type to fit everyone's needs.
We do also offer a resort fee which has many benefits; wireless internet, two complimentary drinks in our Pub, cookies and cocoa after skiing, ski and boot storage, ski valet, just to name a few. I do hope you will stay with us when your travels bring you back to Vail. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so I may assist in ensuring you receive the room type you need.

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
brian.hunt@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I'm a Marriott Platinum member, so I've stayed in my share of Marriott's over the years and this is the third time over 10 years I've brought my family here. Until now, we've always been very satisfied.

It's been a few years since our last visit and unfortunately what had the feel of a modern mountain retreat ten years ago is now an overprice, haggard property with uneven service. The lobby still greats one with a nice atmosphere and we found the front desk to be helpful, although they could do nothing to get us into our rooms before 3:00 in the afternoon. This by itself is understandable given we were arriving after a holiday weekend, but it foreshadowed the worst aspect of the property--the housekeeping. We had adjoining rooms and during the course of our stay our rooms were never made up (I purposefully don't use the word "cleaned") before 4:00. When paying this much for a hotel room, its really disconcerting when you return from a great day of skiing only to find your room hasn't been touched. Thus we were in the room when the staff finally got to our room and I witnessed the complete lack of cleaning. I can only hope they do a better job when they turn over the room.

Other disappointments were a deteriorating physical plant (water damage evident on ceilings) and rooms featuring furniture seemingly from the '90s.

It still has a great location but ultimately I left feeling the property is a major renovation away from being worth my consideration in the future. For now, it's off the list--especially for the money.

Room Tip: Cookies with Hot Chocolate and Cider are a nice amenity each afternoon in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear William W,
Thank you for providing your detailed feedback. Please know your feedback as a Platinum elite member is very important to us. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed in the condition of our Hotel, as well as housekeeping services. Please know we strive not only to meet all of your expectations but exceed them. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations and I do hope you will give us another try when travels bring you back to Vail. Please contact me directly so I may assist in any way possible.

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
brian.hunt@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Full service resort, so do not expect to do anything but relax.
From registration, to spa, to bar and restaurant staff, to check out/bellman/concierge – entire staff very friendly and attending to our every need.
Small Starbucks coffee shop, breakfast buffet, first floor bar and dinner menus offered a variety of beverages and entries to satisfy us through the trip.
Of course having concierge service to bring skis and board to and from lifts and store overnight was not too hard to accept.
Upgrade to a suite with fireplace was a nice gesture by the front desk manager to offset our greater than normal drive up the mountain in a snow storm.
Would I recommend this hotel – YES!

Room Tip: All rooms have mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear ChicagoDon,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable, relaxing stay! We hope to see you back in Vail soon! Thanks again, Brian Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

From the time we checked in at 5pm (rooms were guaranteed to be ready by 4pm, but none were available) it was disappointing. Our luggage didn't arrive in our room for 30 minutes (after 3 calls), the room was not cleaned or restocked for 2 days (I had to beg housekeepers I found for clean towels), there was mold in the shower, young screaming children were running down the hall at 4:30 am, friends of ours heard a small dog barking next door and the hotel staff seemed disinterested. There was a strong "bro" culture in the lobby and bar.....I learned way more about the bartenders life than I ever wanted to know while waiting for a drink. At the end of our stay they lost my skis. They now charge daily for internet (even in public areas) and for water and your "welcome cookies". All this for $450 a night!

Green Features: I didn't notice any, but I assume we helped the environment by re-using towels and filling our own water bottles
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABWSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear ABWSPC,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. I am very sorry to hear the details of your stay. Please know I have shared your comments with the entire team as we continually strive to improve. I encourage you to contact me directly when your travels bring you back to Vail so I may assit in any way possible and ensure you have a stay where you experience the type of service we are known for. Again, I thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to improve.

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
brian.hunt@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on points but I understand folks complaints about value if it was $600/night I am not sure my rating would be as high.

Here is the deal though, you cannot beat the location and the most important part of a ski vacation for us is that the beds are comfy. This Marriott gets high marks for both! Especially the beds - ultra comfortable.

The hotel is a little tired but it gets hard use. Lots of kids and the elements impact the wear and tear on the facility. We liked the hotel and will return. We only spent one night so we didn't get to take advantage of all of the amenities.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing