We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Perfect Location! You can walk to multiple restaurants and shopping. Nice rooms with a little balcony and water in your room everyday was a nice touch! Awesome Staff! I don't remember the FD girls name but she was from Boca Raton, FL and she was outstanding! A keeper forsure! Also, the Guest Services manager was very nice as well! && The gentleman at the bar working the night of the 26th was fantastic!

Room Tip: You won't need to rent a cr because everything is right there!
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the recycling bins in every room. It shows that Vail really cares about their beautiful slopes!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTraveler0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    370
    162
    54
    43
See reviews for
329
296
42
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband & I traveled recently to Vail for a long weekend. We used points to stay at the Marriott. The room was nice but not worth the extra for the fireplace - we were too tired from skiing to really enjoy it and there was only one chair in the room so if you were sitting on the bed you didn't even know the fireplace was on.

The Marriott works with a ski shop and they offer a valet service - Excellent! They'll bring your skis down to the mountain and take them from you at the end of the day, Very nice. It was only about 1 1/2 block to the gondola but I'd rather not have to carry skis in my ski boots.

There are 3 hot tubs - in addition to the one by the pool (big and crowded with kids) there are two down by the spa - one indoors and one out. You might not find the outdoor one down by the spa without asking.

It was a nice trip and I'd stay at the Marriott again. :)

Room Tip: If you plan to ski hard, don't "splurge" for the fireplace room. Too tired!
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved the fact that they actually left our towels that were hanging alone. Often times hotels change them every day even though they say they won't. I don't use a new towel every day at home, why should I on vacation?
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKrobath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Vail Marriott for a weekend Ski Vacation, like other reviews mentionted the location is great with a very short walk to the Eagle Bahn Gondola in the heart of Lionshead. The rooms were of nice size however in need of a renovation as the interior of the building looked warn. When we arrived (it was late, a little after midnight) there was no valet or bellstaff to help unload our vehicle so we had to struggle with luggage, skis/ baords, etc. up to our guest room. The staff was decent however there is no one who stood out or made my trip memorable. All in all I would stay here again simply due to the location however if you are looking for more of a service oriented expereince I think there may be other options.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Justin E,
Thank you for providing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your detailed comments. I am terribly sorry you did not experience the memorable service we are known for. Please know I have shared your comments with our entire team as we continually strive to improve and meet the needs of our guests.

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here over the weekend during the ski season. The hotel is in a good location, just around the corner from the slopes. Our room had a little balcony which was nice. But other than that, it's just a typical Marriott. The rooms and public areas were a bit outdated, the staff was not that stand out and at times absent, and the resort fee is a bit excessive. The $30/night fee covers the wi-fi which is good, but it is also supposed to cover things like water everyday, but those inconsistently get replenished. Also, i get that housekeeping works up until the evening, but if everybody knows the slopes start closing around 4pm, why wouldn't they make sure to have rooms cleaned by then? Overall, the hotel is clean and a decent price, but it is nothing exciting or memorable about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear derekisphat,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our great location in Lionshead village as well as your guestroom. Please know we are working diligently with our ownership group and have plans for a large scale renovation to address many areas of our Resort. We hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Vail.

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We booked 3 nights at the Vail marriott on Priceline - it was $255 a night which is half of the expedia or marriott website for high ski season. It was alright for the price we paid - I'd be really upset if we had of paid full price. We got room 239 which is right next to the hot chocolate and cookie stand. It's a small room, literally two beds and very little space space - difficult when you have a lot of ski stuff to hand up. The noise was a problem from the hot chocolate stand and the bar downstairs. Avoid this room if you can. The bathroom however was very nice. The housekeeping standards were poor, our bed was not made well while we were out skiing. It you want to stay in Vail/Lionshead then this property is the cheapest half-decent one but there are much nicer hotels to stay in if you can afford it.
The resort fee really adds up too - $30 a day. We didn't have the breakfast, it was much cheaper to buy some cereal and some milk from the general store.

Room Tip: Avoid room 239
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Katy B,
Thank you for your review. Priceline at times does offer some great deals! We would encourage you to book directly to provide the most flexibility regarding room assignments and availability. I do apologize your bed was not made while you were out skiing, I have shared your comments with our housekeeping leadership team. We hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed mid-March. Room was comfortable. Ski shop was nice and shoe storage process was run well. An easy walk to the lift. Were hoping to use the ski valet but we waited for a very long time, someone finally came back with the cart, we put our gear on the cart and waited another 15 min or so, no one spoke to us or acknowledged us, we finally took our gear and left. Breakfast was extremely overpriced, $120 for family of 4. Only ordered eggs, 1 coffee and 2 orange juices. I would definitely recommend looking for a nearby cafe.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Terri Z,
Thanks for your review of our Hotel. We are happy to hear your room was comfortable. Please know we have recently adjusted our breakfast pricing based on recent feedback. We do hope you will be back to enjoy one of our Chef's fantastic omelet's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I recently had a pleasant stay at the Vail Marriott. In the most general sense, the Vail Resort is a modestly well-kept resort that won't negatively impact your stay. Remember, in Vail, you come for the Mountain, not the hotel. However, getting the most for your dollar is extremely important given the fact there are many resort in the region. My general take away from the Vail Marriott was that this resort seems to be a resort for points. As a Platinum, I used a significant portion of my points to pay for my stay at the Marriott. However, even with my stay theoretically free of charge, my three night stay ended up costing me over $300. Granted, that did include the cheaper of the two morning buffets for two, for two mornings. The other portion of that $300 came from resort fees and practically mandatory valet parking if you drive to the resort. My take away of the higher than normal resort fee, as compared to other resort fees I have faced at Marriotts, it is most likely from the high percentage of guest using points. It is a way for the Resort to collect at least some revenue to improve their margins. Otherwise, they would've just integrated that fee directly into the price of the room, but they need a way to impact those staying for "free". As a Platinum who spends thousands of dollars at Marriotts, it is pretty bad to walk away from staying for three nights using hard earned points and still having to pay a significant sum of money. The Marriott Vail needs to seriously reevaluate the aggressive fees. Other than the fee galore at the Marriott, I was expecting a modest room upgrade being a Platinum, I think the excuse given was that the room wasn't exactly ready and that they are "busy", so I got a nice view of the hotel across the street. Nevertheless, a hotel is never too full to give modest upgrades to valuable guest, it may just take a little more effort of the part of staff to do a little bit more forethinking. Another important note regarding Vail Marriott was the cleaning staff. For the value and class the Marriott is trying portray with $600 per night rates, the cleaning staff was far below that. They were noisy in the hall, turndown is a joke (wouldn't even grab my dirty towels), and I was even skipped the first night (therefore I didn't receive my bottles of water that the $30 resort fee affords). Other than that, I found the rooms to be small, but pretty nice. It seemed that the wing that I was in at least was recently remodeled. I thought the best feature of the hotel was the ski valet and rental service in the basement. It was very convenient.

Overall, I truly believe that if you are paying with money for a room and don't have any loyalty to Marriott, I would seriously considering neighboring hotel like the Arrabelle. I felt like they looked nicer and some were even closer to the mountain. If using points, this is the place for you. The resort does seem to be overvalued with points by being a Cat 8. However, it is cheaper than staying next door at the Ritz. Just prepare yourself for spending a significant amount of money in addition to your points.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Wisconsin Traveler 78,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty as a Marriott Rewards Member. Please know our resort fee is consistent with other Hotels in the Vail area. Additionally we feel our Resort fee has many more offerings than our competitors, two welcome drinks, cookies and cocoa daily, ski valet, bottled water, restaurant discounts, just to name a portion of the benefits. I do apologize for the housekeeping service you experienced, please know I have shared your comments with the team as we strive to continually improve. I do hope when your travels bring you back to Vail you will be staying with us! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing