We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Montaneros”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montaneros Condominiums
Ranked #14 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Montaneros”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our recent stay at Montaneros was all I could have wanted. Condo was more than adequate for myself and my wife. Just so tastefully furnished, always loved the fireplace! Kitchen expansive with all one could ever want. Huge comfy bed. Agree only downside is bathtub small, and would be nice to stretch out after long day on slopes. (Then there's always the outdoor spa). Of import is easy flat walk to gondola in 2 minutes. Alternative is free in town shuttle bus to Goldenpeak lift to access other side of mountain more quickly. Bus stop was literally metres from our door. Also handy to go to Vail village, with always no more than a brief wait. (Bus every 10 min or less). Step outside Montaneros directly into Lionshead plaza and convenience store, restaurants, shops, right there. (Note no convenience store in Vail village at all other than for Lionshead). Supermarket 3km away (never bothered). Free hot choc & popcorn at end of skiing a bonus I could never seem to resist! Would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Montaneros Condos looks across the way to the very sexy and heavily made up The Arrabelle which oozes fur coats and Cadillacs. On first glance you would jump for easily attractive Arrabelle, but on closer inspection The Montaneros maybe simpler but is still acceptably pretty. It has a more of down home charm than its more illustrious neighbors, it is Colorado country rather than big city glamour. And if you're here to play on the mountains, then why the hell do you need big city glamour for anyway. In this part of the world it is not uncommon to see a pair of stiletto high heels carrying a pair of skis, which amuses but is not the subject of this review.

We have stayed at The Monatneros Condominiums twice. The apartments are individually owned, so the furnishings and equipment vary, but the excellent management ensure that the apartments are well maintained and the linen and towels are of an exceptional high quality. We have stayed in two different two bedroom apartments, both of which have been furnished comfortably and with individuality. Even though Montaneros is one of the older condo properties in Lionshead the apartments are excellent in both size and accessories: it's a lot more like stayin in a home than in a hotel.

Its location is superb, it's an integral part of Lionshead and a flat three minute skiboot walk to the Eagle Bahn Gondola. The heated pool, hot tub and sauna are a welcoming reward after a day on the slopes - the kids have their own size robes which is a special touch. The apartment has a fuly equipped kitchen, but with so much choice on your doorstep we ate out every night.

Montaneros has everything you need to have a fabulous, relaxing and comfortable winter snow holiday. The apartments are all serviced daily to a meticulous standard. You really wouldn't want for anything more unless you like staying at condos with a luxury hotel prefix with a luxury makeup price.

Positives: location, apartment size, homely feel, friendly staff, pool & hot tub, kids robes

Negatives: lack of luxury tag!

Overall: excellent value

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Arrived here with my son (25 old) from Sydney and found the place to be well located to the village and a short walk to the Eagle Gondola at Lionshead. We each had a 1 br apartment, which was very good and spacious with glimpses of the slopes , although the bathrooms are a little small and dated, with tiny bathtubs. The staff here is very helpful and all of the amenities, such as ski storage room, free coffee and water in the lobby, jacuzzi and pool are well set out and maintained. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We are a family of four flying from Australia to spend a nice Dec holiday in Vail. I chose to stay in Montaneros based on the previous reviews and other information on internet.

I booked a one bedroom plus loft with a masterbedroom and 2 single beds. After a tiring long journey, we arrived in the evening and were given the room no 411. It was a big apartment with 2 single beds downstairs and the master bedroom in the loft. We were, at first, quite excited, as it was spacious an the leather sofa was comfortable. After settled down, we realised the room still remains in late 70s , including appliances and bathroom facilities.
There was a spiral stair leading to upstairs bedroom and it can be seen clearly from opposite building with lights on. We tried to close the window curtains and found 2 of them were broken.
I opened the dishwasher, found a full load of dishes and cups still there. We tried to adjust the temperature by using the central monitor downstairs with no success. The worst part is that old fashioned fridge keep making soaring noise, making it hard for us to rest. I rang the reception and told them we wanted to change room. The reply was no room available but will send someone to fix the problem.

Early next morning, the maintenance person arrived. He was very nice and helpful. First, he told me that central monitor did not control the room temperature anymore. So why was it still here and with no instruction? One mechanic part of the fridge was broken and they did not have spare parts until next Tue. It was only Thursday today and we have to put it up for so many days, I was almost in tears. We came to spend a long vacation and it was how I spent my first morning in Vail. I rang the reception again, explained our situation. This time, the manager called me back in few minutes and told me there was another room available. We could take a look first and decided to change or not. It was room 414, a little smaller with master bedroom downstairs and 2 single beds in the loft. It was not as spacious as 411 but I was determined to move. If we were offered the room the previous night, this hassle could be avoided and our holiday could have started a better way. Later, I was told that room is due for renovation after this holiday season by replacing the dated bathroom and appliances.

Anyway, besides this unhappy experience, Montaneros did offer many good things. The location was convenient, 5 mins walk with ski boots to Eagle bahn Gondola. The ski shop right in the building with discounted rental price. A liquor and convenience store close by for small supplies. The village shuttle bus right in front of the entrance and we never waited more than 5 mins.

Next time we may still go back to Montaneros but choose 2 bedrooms condo as most of them have been renovated.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kct1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our small executive group had a wonderful 4 day retreat at the Montaneros Condos. Everyone enjoyed the rooms, the location and the high level of service provided by the staff. The condos were roomy and quite lovely. The staff was knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The location at Lionshead was easy to find and near many lovely restaurants and shops. Overall, I can't wait to schedule the Montaneros Condos for another business event.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCALLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The condo is extremely convenient in that you can walk to gondola and lots of great restaurants. There is a small liquor store and convenience store close by but if you want a full supermarket etc., need to drive or take 1/2 hour free bus service. Condo has some great amenities such as nice robes for walking to pool and hot tub. 2 bdrm condo was nice, master bedroom great, 2nd bdrm just ok, combined kitchen, eating, living area a little smaller than expected but overall good value. Ski rental shop just outside hotel offered half price walk in rate so ask about that before going elsewhere for equipment.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ssphl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Our family joined another family for skiing between Christmas and New Years. We had a fabulous time. We had a few issues at first with us not having enough beds. The unit had been updated and a sofa sleeper had been taken out and no one knew. The staff at Montaneros did a great job handling the situation. The unit was great. The ski storage was wonderful and a great place to meet people that owned units there. Everyone was delightful. Great location - the ice rink was just below and the slopes not far at all. It was amazing. We loved this location. The only downfall was that there was no washer and dryer in the unit, however, I was able to get used to that. It was nice not to have the laundry going all the time. The grocery across the way was delightful and they will shop for you in town if they do not have what you need. The sweet owner went into town to get us a beef tenderloin, potatoes, broccoli for New Year's evening meal. Our kids also loved to go get a treat there every afternoon - Very cute items. Montaneros will also shop for you. We also loved to grab a meal to bring home from Moe's - great macaroni and cheese. It was the easiest ski trip that we have been on.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AveryGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.0 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#18 of 30 in Vail
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montaneros Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montaneros Condominiums

Property: Montaneros Condominiums
Address: 641 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montaneros Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montaneros in Vail is an exquisite condominium property located at the base of Vail Mountain in Lionshead Village. These beautiful Vail accommodations range from 1- to 4-bedroom condominiums. Guests at Montaneros enjoy full hotel services, such as a front desk, concierge-style services and valet laundry service. The new Vail Square is just outside the front door, with a selection of gourmet restaurants, charming shops and the Eagle Bahn Gondola only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Montaneros Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montaneros Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing