We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2011

this is a great place to ski out of in vail colorado. The condos are well done, friendly staff, and they have dedicated shuttle to the ski slopes. Great pool, and outdoor hottub. Have stayed there for years, and have never been disappointed.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank m00se55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed at Simba Run Jan 23-27, 2011. Great hotel: complimentary Starbuck's coffee (machine) in the lobby, as well as complimentary DVDs for evening entertainment. The indoor pool is very big (disappointed that it wasn't very warm, though) and not only does the hotel provide a shuttle to the Village, but also the Vail Village bus stop is close too.

We stayed in unit 1511, and it had a great view of the ski mountain. We had a nice unit: one BR had a king size bed, and the other had bunk beds and a double/queen. The living room had a pull-out sofa and pull-out love seat. Not too fancy, but definitely appealing for a week, and the price was very, very attractive!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana_from_Chama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom (Room 1210) for four nights recently and were very pleased. Our room (and the hotel/condo generally) was not luxurious, but clean and comfortable and perfect for people looking for value vs. a posh resort experience. Parking (indoor) is $10/day, but the other amenities (Starbucks coffee/hot chocolate, ski lockers, DVD rental, wireless internet in the lobby, computer and printer, firewood, frequent shuttles) were free. At check-in, they also give you a packet of coupons for food and ski equipment needs (rentals, tune-ups, repairs, etc.). Everyone I dealt with at the front desk was helpful and friendly enough, and we had no problems with traffic noise (Room 1210 is next to N. Frontage Rd.), temperature control, or housekeeping services. The shuttle drivers were very nice and always helped you with your equipment. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Vail.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed in 1212, a large two-bedroom, two bath condo with panaromic views of the mountain.

Bedding comfortable.

Indoor garage is easy to access from units.

Private shuttle runs frequently to Vail Village and Lionhead. Also to the market.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Simba. We have been delighted with our accommodations and the service has been superb. It is wonderful to have shuttle services for most excursions. No, it is not the Ritz Carlton with numerous restaurants and superfluous services, but it does offer spacious, well appointed suites with all the comforts of a private apartment at an affordable rate. Spend your money wisely (there is a recession out there!) We have recommended Simba to a number of people and are looking forward to another stay before the season is done. Simba has been our new found "Treasure" in Vail.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

If you are a light sleeper you might want to steer clear of the south facing units in Building 1. They are close to I-70 and you will hear traffic noise 24-hours a day. Units in Buidling 2 are a better choice since they are further removed from the highway. One of the turnoffs for me is the changing rates for the units depending on demand. They are priced like airline tickets so the rates fluctuate up and down like a beach ball.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

First, let me preface this review by saying that we had an amazing time at Vail. The skiing was amazing, and obviously we spent most of our time outdoors. I am extremely picky but reviews like this helped us pick our hotel and we got a really good deal. Michele, our contact at Simba Run, was absolutely wonderful and very responsive so while I gave this place an average review … it was worth the deal ($299 a night) for a big place. My hopes are the critical things pointed out below are fixed and continue to make Simba Run a great place to stay. I would recommend this to my friends that are on a budget but I think some things need to be addresed for me to recommend this on a grander scale.

THE GOOD:
• Outside our interaction with one extremely rude front desk rep (see "the bad" below), the rest of the front desk was courteous, reception, helpful, and gave a true representation of the Vail culture.
• Michele, our main contact, was easily accessible, easy to work with, and was responsive to our feedback.
• The shuttle drivers were great, on time, and got us to wherever we wanted in Vail.
• Maintenance was prompt and helpful.
• Hot tub/pool amenities were wonderful.
• The condos were nice, roomy, and gave a nice rustic feel.
• Parking was convenient and they had garage parking.
• One of the best pizza places is right next door named Local Joe’s – what a treat and what service!

THE BAD:

• First experience checking in was a nightmare due to ONE staff member named Bridget. Not helpful, rude, and almost comically callous. After a LOT of persistence we were finally able to change rooms. The annoyance of lugging our bags to one building, realizing it had the wrong layout, THEN having to basically fight to get the right one started the trip with a sour taste in our mouth. We already addressed this with management so hopefully this won’t ever happen!
• Thermostat. I’m not sure if was isolated to our room … but it either went to 80+ degrees … or gave up and stayed at 60 degrees regardless of adjustment … and that was true in all rooms. We had 1 night of 85 degrees and 2 nights of sub 60 … yikes!
• Odor … not sure what this was – it was in both 2308 and 1104 – smelled moldy/stale/etc…not overly annoying but enough to notice.
• Housekeeping … we noticed that the rooms weren’t turned over despite the housekeeping service signing in saying they’d taken care of it. After a day or two of towels piled in the bathroom, unmade beds, and non-emptied trash…it took a couple phone calls to get things actually done.
• Master bedroom shower head was busted and the guest bedroom shower was loose enough to rattle on turning the handle.
• TVs…the flat panels were nice in our old room in 2308 … but the tiny ones (13 inches or so!) in the bedrooms were pretty poor – hopefully they can be upgraded soon!

Overall … you can see from above. There’re a lot of things that can be fixed and in the future … we will consider staying there again if they’re taken care of. We had a lot of fun in Vail Village and will likely will stay at a more renovated and closer location in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JetsetterATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 31 in Vail
331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#7 of 31 in Vail
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
1.2 mi away
Sonnenalp
Sonnenalp
#1 of 31 in Vail
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simba Run Vail Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simba Run Vail Condominiums

Address: 1100 N Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-2400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £118 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simba Run Vail Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the LARGEST INDOOR POOL IN VAIL! Simba operates two private shuttles to the slopes. Simba offers front desk assistance like a hotel. Families love Simba - convenient, easy and fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Simba Run Vail Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simba Run Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing