We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little lodge right in the middle of the village!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful little lodge right in the middle of the village!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We chose Sitzmark mostly because the price was great for a last minute trip. Turns out, it was a wonderful little lodge.

The location cannot be beat- it is right in the heart of the village, you walk to everything! We have a 2.5 year old, so this was great because we were close to our room no matter where we were in Vail. The location is the best part of staying here, and worth the cost. Also, there is a free shuttle that runs every 15 mins that will take you to Lionshead.

The rooms are very nice, although starting to show a bit of age. There is more than enough room. We had a 3d floor deluxe room overlooking the creek- the views were beautiful! The balcony was a nice treat. The bathroom was big and clean, as was the whole room.

2 things about the room though- the first is that it was a little nosy late at night, with the people walking down by the creek. It would be same on the other side- the village side- and probably anywhere else you stayed in the village, just wanted to point it out. It was not enough to be bothersome or a problem.

The only problem we did have was the beds. They are all Tempur-Pedic (which I understand is supposed to be a nice perk/bonus), but quite frankly I think they are the most uncomfortable beds ever created. My husband and I both had a really hard time sleeping on them. Just be aware before you book that all the rooms have them.

The front desk and lobby are very nice. Everyone that helped us was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the are, where to eat, etc. The breakfast is beyond basic- coffee, cereal and bagels, and that's it. Go to the Little Diner for the best breakfast, but get there early!

Overall, a really nice place if you don't mind the beds!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racegirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    77
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
89
115
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have stayed at the Sitzmark Lodge for a long weekend almost every summer since 1973. It has remained consistently friendly, beautiful (rooms updated many times), and a wonderful location for Vail fun. The room prices have remained reasonably priced over the years.

Room Tip: We usually request a creek side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Outstanding customer service. Andrea was so pleasant & helpful. Stayed on third floor overlooking Gore creek. We wanted a king but didn't call ahead early enough so double beds were fine. We got a larger room with a fireplace and private balcony. Pillows and bedding were fantastic. Mini-fridge was helpful. Best feature-the view. Expansive, panoramic-fall colors were magnificient. Just sad we couldn't stay for more days.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking Gore Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oep2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This property has the perfect location for access to Gore Creek and Vail Village. We stayed in room 312 with a private balcony overlooking the creek. What a fantastice view of the creek and the international bridge! We kept the balcony door open day and night to hear the sound of the creek - very soothing. Chairs were provided on the balcony. There was a sliding screen door to keep any pests out. The temperature was perfect for us - crisp mountain air! The ceiling fan kept the afternoon temperature ideal although the outside temperatures were only in the 70's. The posturepedic beds were a new experience for us and may take some adjustment depending on the person. I found it to be a nice change of pace from the average hotel bed. Our room was very spacious with nice furnishings. The bar area had a granite countertop with a deep sink and a small fridge. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with nice tile and good quality bath products. It is a standard size bathroom but we had no issues with that.

The staff was a standout here - very personable, friendly, and helpful. Jennifer at the front desk assisted us with good ideas for daily activities as well as restaurants and directions to the best grocery store (City Market).

The location was outstanding! The heart of Vail village is just outside the front door. Many nice restaurants are a very short stroll along the pedestrian walk. Another convenience is easy access to the bus system. It is a short one block walk across the international bridge to East Meadow Dr. and the bus stop at the Solaris. Parking was in the garage below the hotel which was very handy especially for Vail. It was easily accessible by stairs although there is a bit of a lack of adequate spaces for the number of rooms. We were told to double park in the garage on a weekend night and leave the keys with the front desk which we did and had no issues. That was acceptable to us.

The only possible negative was the rare chatter from passers-by along the creek at night. It did not keep us awake. You can't beat this property for value and location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the creek with a private balcony for the sound of the creek. The third floor offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

1st - I'd like to give a "shout out" to the housekeepers at this hotel! My Sister accidentally left her pricey Canon camera w/ lens in our room and the front desk called me to let me know the Housekeeping Gals found it and turned it in! Thanks for being honest girls, you guys rock!!!!

WE LOVE THIS PLACE!! 2nd time staying here, but it's definitely been updated since our last visit.

ROOMS -- Try their Creekside Rooms...oh my god we could hear the water rushing over the rocks all day/night, it was beautiful. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfy (MEMORY FOAM!! Down pillows), no creepy bed spreads and the bathrooms had been updated with nice tile **don't even get me started on the huge shower head by Kohler!** :) We felt the room was pretty large, big closets, 37 inch flat screen TV w/ nice dark furniture (we had a huge dresser with 8 drawers)........

2 COMPLAINTS, it was tough to find a darn electrical outlet other than the bathroom! And you share the balcony with another room - so you may not be alone if you walk out in your undies to take in that nice Vail scenery. lol :) It also made us second guess keeping our sliding door open during the night to hear the creek. :-( *two girls alone - boo*

LOCATION -- Underground Parking is a no-no for big vehicles (we have an F-150), but we just left our keys with the front desk and parked directly in front of the lodge. We were directly in Vail Village, everything was literally walking distance! By the way -- we noticed it was definitely handicap friendly. :)

Although they require a 2-day stay, this place is more affordable than some of the other hotels I checked out in the Village (paid $155/night - 2 queen beds - creek side)......the common areas are clean, the pool is nice, they provide a simple continental breakfast and it's cozy. The employees are nice too!!! The gal at the front desk (Jennifer) was very friendly and actually had aspirin for my Sister's headache one late night. Another guy (Ryan? Bryan?) practically forced the continental breakfast on us due to the early hour we were checking out (7am). :)

We plan to make Sitzmark our hotel every time we plan a trip to Vail.......definitely.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water - choose the Creekside Rooms. Regardless of floor level, you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBean4544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our stay at the Sitzmark in July was without worries. We had a clean, quiet place to catch up on some Zzzz's after our activity-packed days in beautiful Vail, CO. There is a nice gathering area on the first floor to have the first cup of coffee of the day. Very convient location right in the heart of Vail Village. Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the creekside offer the quiet sound of the water to fall asleep to. Also very relaxing to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial
Level Contributor
274 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

King size bed, all tile bath with new fixtures, right in the heart of Vail village, underground parking, easy access to the free bus system. Our room had a small fridge and the usual amenities. No scrimping to be one of the least expensive hotels we found. Can you say repeat business?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Property: Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing