We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay at the Sitzmark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at the Sitzmark”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This was our first stay at the sitzmark booked thru vail.com. We had a very enjoyable stay. For comparison we have stayed at the Lodge Tower, Sebastian and Tivoli.

Check in / check smooth

Room (standard with 2 queen beds) was spacious. We faced the mountain side and had sunshine into room from noon on everyday. Some folks like the river side but in winter we really like the sunshine. The memory foam beds were nice to try. We neither loved or hated them. They were fine.

Our room was on the second floor which meant we didn't need to use the elevator which we really liked.

Very convenient ski lockers at the front of the hotel. Lots of room and it is heated. We found that the location of the hotel even with ski boots was convenient enough that walking to the gondola at the beginning and end of each day not an issue (and we are a little soft).

It is always nice to have breakfast including with the room. We found breakfast to be good, especially the make your own waffles. We would have liked to see the addition of a little more hot food such as eggs or premaid porridge but not certain the kitchen facilities could support.


At the end of each day a crock pot full of soup is set out for returning skiers. We think this a nice touch but would much prefer to have cookies.

Bonus #1 - each monday nite the owners host a wine and cheese party in the owners suite between 5:30 and 6:30. We generally don't socialize too much but decided to attend. It was very cozy and relaxed. We had a really good time.

Bonus #2 - one of the owners works at the front desk area occasionally and she brings her beautiful golden retriever to work. She allowed us to take her for a walk. We actually ended up walking on a roadway with some stunning houses between vail village and lionhead. We love dogs and this was great for us.

Areas for improvement albeit minor besides the cookie issue.

* the front desk person sits behind a wall. we believe that if the front desk staff was moved into plain sight, it would feel like we were not bothering that person so much when we had questions.
* we left the hotel at 6:45 and the front desk was still not open. we just had to drop off the keys so no issue, but if we had additional charges, this would have posed a problem.

It would seem many many guests are repeat customers which is always a good sign. The Sitzmark is a hotel we would certainly consider staying at again. Some of the finishes and fine details are not that of a place like the sonnelp, but for the perfect location, overall experience and cost -- this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    81
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
96
117
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is our second stay at the Sitzmark, and it was even better than the first. The rooms are fairly large and very comfortable with everything you could want including flat screen tv and free wireless. The free breakfast is very good, and they also offer après ski refreshments daily. Location is perfect right in the heart of Vail Village.

Room Tip: You can choose between a creek or mountain view. We like the creek view because it is quiet and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We had a wonderful stay this early December weekend at the Sitzmark. Everything about our experience was exceptional. The place is small (35 rooms or so) but the staff and service were impeccable. We had the smallest room available but it was still fine for three of us, but not a place you want to spend a lot of time in because it was small. There were larger rooms available.

The location is unbeatable. A short walk to the gondola and overlooking the main drag in Vail.

The mattress is a memory foam stiff style, which we all loved, but it is initially very firm. The bathroom was also tight, but well kept (obviously recently renovated). The furnishings were also recently upgraded (or so it seemed).

The pool and the sauna are on the roof and have a great view of Vail mountain.

Continental breakfast was very good (and included) and we had waffles, Danish, bagels and cereal. Nothing fancy but certainly enough.

Staff was kind enough to issue us an additional garage pass (and let him eat breakfast with us) for our son who works locally and joined us for skiing the next day. This (parking) certainly wouldn't happen at the height of ski season, but their graciousness was certainly appreciated.

We will stay here again I am sure.

Room Tip: Overlooking Vail mountain is best but may be pricier. Larger rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bad_Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Its one of the last family owned lodges in Vail. My favorite home away from home. Love their breakfast. Love the location, the walk to great restaurants and the mountain. The accomodations are like new, very clean and the staff is very kind & accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLynneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Sad shape, less than accommodating staff and terrible service level. Never again! Will stay anywhere else but this place in the future. The reviews on this site do not reflect the actual experience of this sad place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorVDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not live up to our standards. It is especially disappointing that we failed you in our guest service, an area of great pride for us. As a small, family-owned hotel we value our relationship with our guests and strive to make them feel comfortable and at home. It is unclear from your review as to where we failed to meet your expectations and I would invite you to contact our General Manager or Assistant General Manager to identify specific problems that you encountered so that we might improve our guest experience. Regardless, be assured that we will review our policies to ensure we are meeting our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Sitzmark was really lovely. The staff was friendly, the rooms were beautifully decorated and whistle clean, and the location can't be beat. My only quibble was the (obviously new) Tempurpedic mattress. By the second night, my back hurt so bad I ended up sleeping on the floor!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelfishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and your appreciation of our rooms. We have been working very hard in the past two years to update our décor and are happy to hear our efforts are recognized. It is a disappointment however, that you did not find our beds comfortable and that we were unable provide a better alternative for you. Tempur-Pedic beds are a well-respected brand, but they are not for everyone. Perhaps we need to review our options for providing alternatives for those guests who prefer a standard mattress.
Thank you for your stay. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stumbled on the Sitzmark by accident in 2005 on a visit to Colorado. The visit inspired us to move to Colorado, and the Sitzmark inspired us to visit again and again, year after year. Friendly staff, a great value in the fall season and a hot tub on a second story patio that overlooks downtown Vail Village. The location is incredibly convenient, the parking is covered and free. The rooms are large (get one with a gas fireplace) and feature large balconies and many have fridges. One one visit, we decided to try someplace else. That was a mistake we won't make again. Thanks for another great visit.

Room Tip: Spend a few bucks extra to get a room with a gas fireplace, it's a really nice touch. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#9 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Property: Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing