We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful room right on the river!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful room right on the river!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at the Sitzmark during slow season, and thus got a great rate, and what a wonderful room! The room's balcony was right on the "creek", which had become a rushing river from all the snow melt this time of year (late May). We could have sat out there forever. The lovely old hotel is spotless, everything in our medium-sized room seemed new. The location is perfect--right in the middle of the village--so you can walk everywhere. Breakfast is not included this time of year, but there are cafes close by. It's a family run establishment --everyone was friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend the Sitzmark!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    77
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
90
115
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

I booked this based on the reviews I found on Trip Advisor. It lived up to all expectations. Location is awesome, right in Vail Village. The winter concert series was setup right in front of the hotel, we were able to watch the band from the pool deck. It's a little bit of a walk to the lifts but not too bad. Free parking and breakfast was great.
It's not fancy by Vail standards but it's a nice hotel, everything was clean and well kept considering people are tromping through in ski boots and gear all winter.
If it's your first time in Vail be prepared for outrageous prices, nothing is cheap.
Highly recommend stopping at the Safeway at exit 173 (I believe) for snacks, drinks etc....

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choppers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

A girlfriend and I met in Vail for an overnight visit and stayed at the Sitzmark Lodge. We had a clean, spacious room, with two queen beds and a very nice tiled bath. The wood furniture was in good condition, mattresses were comfy, and the room was tastefully decorated. Our balcony overlooked the creek. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is not served during the summer months; however, complimentary hot drinks were available in the lobby area.

  • Liked — Location, room amenities.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

Best Location in Vail!! Rooms are very clean, We have be going to Vail more many years and wish we had found the Sitzmark Lodge years ago. Many of the guest have been lucky and have stayed at the Sitzmark for several years, we were told they make reservations for the following year when they check out., in fact so did we! The hotel staff is very nice and accommodating. Lobby is nice and relaxing pefect palce to read a book and feel at home. The owners host a Wine reception in their Penthouse, very nice touch and great time to meet the other guest. Breakfast is a refreshing mix of gourmet pastries, yogurts, fruit, cereals, hard boiled eggs, bagels, and the best is the make it yourself hot Belgian waffles with strawberries and whip cream, several other options I am forgetting. Wireless had some issues but we are told they are having this fixed when ski season is over. Have great ski storage area convenient location. We had a room that had mountain views, we could watch the skiers and it looked over the pool and hot tub, the bed was a true Tempur-pedic, like the ones you see on the commercial(Made by NASA) Robes are fantastic, luxurious heavy with hoods. We rented a car from Denver and the parking is FREE at the lodge, (other lodges we stayed charge for parking up to $25 per day). Pool and hot tub have good views of mountains and surrounding area, would be a great place to hang out pool side in the summer. I could go on and on. Dont miss out.

  • Liked — Location Location Location, Great Staff, Relaxing Atmospshere, Clean Rooms, Good Value
  • Disliked — Usally sold out, lucky to get a room, our friends cant get a resvervation until someone cancels
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

Several reviews and friends told us this was the best kept secret in Vail-we mostly agree, except about the secret part. Booking wasn't too bad for Jan ski season, but the lodge is often booked solid from September by regulars. Rates were not supercheap, but are still excellent for ski season in Vail village close to lifts. The room was spacious, clean, with a great view. With one exception, the staff was friendly and helpful. Their were many regular guests who knew each other well, but made new friends fairly easily. The inviting common area provided free daily NY Times and WSJ, as well as breakfasts (not great, especially the coffee, but good pastries, cereal and bananas), and soup and cider (or tea from a good selection or spice wine) in the afternoon. Only minor problems: the free internet had a very low unreliable signal for our entire stay, but VailWifi was fine for $30/month; our room was always too warm even with the thermostat at the lowest setting, but opening the door to the balcony worked well. We will likely return if we don't try Lionshead next time.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

I wrote a review here after my stay in 2006, and I feel like management has read it. My stay then was enjoyable, but I did have some criticism, and it has been addressed.

Then, I wrote that the tub was dirty and the water pressure lacking. This season, I found the bathroom totally redone, with a clean tub, excellent water pressure, and a nice showerhead.

Then, I noted that the bed was comfortable, but nothing special. This season, I found a temperpedic mattress.

So, let me reiterate: This is the best value in Vail village. It is a comfortable, friendly place, with a great location and great rates ($210 from Dec. 14-17).

That said, because someone may be paying attention, I will say: The sheets need to be replaced with higher thread-count sheets. They are almost scratchy. And the ski storage room smells pretty bad. But these are just kinks I know you'll work out.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lionshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

You can't beat the Sitzmark location and value for your money in Vail Village. This was our fifth stay. Rooms are very clean, have coffee, tea, wine glasses, microwaves, ironing board and irons. Extra space for luggage storage out of your way as well as a safe for valuables. Laundry facilities are available in the basement. Pool area overlooks the mountains; other side overlooks Gore Creek. Hard to decide which is the better view. Inviting lobby area and employees willing to help with whatever you need.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TXcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#6 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Property: Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing