We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location; OK accomodations”
Review of Tivoli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lodge
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent location; OK accomodations”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed at the Tivoli this week with my teenage daughter after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. My opinion is that the lodge is nice but definitely only rates about three and a half stars. Our room was very average with dark colors and no artwork on the walls. The bathrooms were the nicest feature with granite counters and a good sized bathtub. The service was medicore with no porters to help with our luggage and the front desk is staffed with young people possessing very little knowledge as to non-skiing activities available in Vail. There was a guiitarist playing apres ski in the lobby on our last night there which was a nice touch. All the staff were friendly, it was just that there wasnt the service I have come to expect when paying the kind of rates they charge.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanfromSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    136
    28
    7
    14
See reviews for
311
637
44
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Tivoli Lodge in Vail. We chose Tivoli based on reviews read on the Trip Advisor website, and to say we were not disappointed is an understatement. We had a beautiful spacious room on the 5th floor with large balcony overlooking the mountain - a truly spectacular view. The staff are amazing, friendly and make you feel like family, but the true highlight of Tivoli Lodge is the owners Bob and Diane. Diane came to greet us on our arrival into our room, proceeding to tell us about the lodge and Vail and pointed us in the direction of their home (within the lodge), inviting us in and letting us know just to knock if we need anything. Bob and Dianes dogs are part of the Tivoli family and go out of their way to greet you in the foyer each morning at breakfast to say hello. Bob is also a regular at breakfast each morning and really enjoys chatting with guests to find out their plans for the day and ensure everyone is enjoying themselves, without being intrusive. I can honestly say we felt completely at home at the Tivoli and part of the family. The lodge is beautiful, based right at the bottom of Vail Mountain - could not ask for a better location, the complimentary breakfast served each day is a massive spread fit for a king. We also had free internet access within the business centre and weren't charged for the local calls we needed to make within the room. My husband and I fell in love with Vail, but staying at the Tivoli just made the holiday even more amazing. The staff genuinely seem to love working at the lodge and its not surprising with Bob and Diane being so outwardly warm and welcoming, making your stay one to remember and making Vail and Tivoli Lodge a place you will want to come back to again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights in January. The service is exceptional, friendly, helpful, welcoming. Good breakfast included, lovely rooms, including the "smallest" which has everything you need. Location is fantastic, with a good price. Ski valet service at the hotel and free chocolate chip cookies at the end of the ski day! Vail Athletic Club two blocks away for a steam and massage. I already booked my return trip for December 2010. Tivoli will be an annual stay as long as the owners remain the same.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed for 6 nights as part of a ski holiday. This is a cosy Family Lodge. Staff & owner were very friendly.Great location with Valet ski service & close to village. Can ski back to hotel if snow is good enough. Also has a great breakfast. Would stay again. Only problem was we had a faulty TV that was replaced as soon as we called front desk. However there was still a problem with the replacement TV. The manager said it would be replaced the next day but they never retured to exchange it for the remaining 3 days of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
252 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We just returned from a long weekend skiing in Vail. The Tivoli Lodge is simply the best hotel i have stayed at. It starts with the staff everyone from the front desk, BV behind the bar, the staff who helped with the skiis, the people who helped with breakfast, even the owners dog, were all fantastic. The location is great a very short walk to the chair lifts and to the main Vail shops. The rooms (we had a mountain view) were spacious and spotless. The free breakfast was a perfect start to the day.The hotel is not cheap but would stay there on my next visit to Vail.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigcityeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Six of us have just returned from a fantastic skiing trip to Vail where we stayed at The Tivoli Lodge for 7 nights. We flew BA from London Heathrow to Dever International Airport which takes 10 hours. We transferred to Vail with Colorado Mountain Express which took nearly three hours.

The Hotel is located in a great position on Hanson Ranch Road which is within 5 minutes walking distance into the heart of Vail Village. The Tivoli is within a 4 minute walk in ski boots to the Vista Bahn Express lift and a 7 minute walk in ski boots to the Riva Bahn Express Lift. Because of the great snow conditions we were able to ski back to the hotel door each evening by coming down the Ruders Run piste into Gopher Hill.

We had booked through Skiline.co.uk and were allocated two single Village view rooms, one twin Village View and one twin Mountain View rooms. The Mountain View room (304) was excellent with two large comfortable double beds, a large bathroom with excellent shower, seperate bath and toilet. It also had a fridge, coffee maker and small breakfast bar. The built in wardrobe has a safe deposit box and ample storage for two people. There is a phone and TV in the room. The TV has a wide and varied range of programming including useful Vail TV which updates on weather and useful local information. Our room had a balcony that looks out onto spectacular views of the mountains and the outdoor hot tubs. There is free and speedy WiFi throughout the hotel and free WiFi in the village.

The Hotel has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere with all the staff and owners working to make you feel appreciated. There is a large lounge area by the fire place and the brownhound lounge where you can sit in comfort to watch a giant TV or just read a book. There is a ski locker on the ground floor where the staff store your boots and skis at the end of each day and find them for you each morning. There were free cookies here most afternoons!

BV looks after the bar, and kept us stocked up with Heineken outside in the hot tub each evening, great job BV! The hot tub was warm and welcoming after an arduous day of skiing and a fine replacement to a sauna.

There are two outdoor hot tubs. The Hotel had to introduce a 20 minute maximum rule while only one tub was working for the duration of our stay. Staff give you extra towels for the hot tub from reception.

There is an excellent buffet style breakfast available each morning which included scrambled egg, crispy bacon rashers and sausage. They also offer waffles, fruit, cakes and oatmeal along side traditional cereals. Coffee and fruit juice is also freely available.

Reception staff were more than willing to arrange restaurant bookings in the village and organise taxis etc. We had a day trip to Beaver Creek which was awesome with great big wide blue motorways to ski on! The taxi fare to Beaver creek was fifty dollars and takes 20 minutes.

Vail has great skiing ranging from combed and bashed piste to deep powder, the skiing is really varied and the conditions change from day to day. We had 18 inches of snow over one weekend!

Vail has plenty of ski and souvenir shops, with ample bars and restaurants of all different types and tastes. We thought that 'Up the Creek' was our favourite restaurant followed by 'Alpenrose' and 'Russells'.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My fiance and I travelled to Vail this past week to marry and we stayed at the Tivoli hotel. This was the second time we stayed at the Tivoli. The hospitality, wonderful guest services and perfect location of the Tivoli Hotel played a major part in our decision to have our wedding in Vail. The hotel is a magical place for a romantic gettaway .When the staff found out that we were getting married they immediately upgraded us to a beautiful room facing the mountain for no extra charge and everyone went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed.The owner Mr. Lazier offered us his suite with its breathtaking views as a backdrop for our wedding photographs and he was always pleasantly available asking us if we were happy and comfortable. The Tivoli is also the idyllic hotel for a ski vacation.From the generous and delicious buffet breakfast every morning to the relaxing hot tubs, the ski boot and ski services, the entertaining apres ski hour and the comfortable and spacious rooms, the hotel caters to every need a skier may have. The hotel has recently been renovated and has a new and clean feel about it. The decor is cozy and warm and the hotel staff are extremely friendly, gracious and engaging .At the Tivoli you feel as if you are with family and close friends.We will return again many times to the Tivoli hotel .It is a must stay for anyone visiting Vail.

The Hotel recommended us a transport service for getting to and from Eagle airport. MPG-E LLC private transportation at www.vailmpg.com is the best way of getting to vail from the airport and for any driving services one may need around the area. Desso the owner and our driver is a pleasant, well informed, punctual and reliable perfect gentleman. With MPG-E LLC transportation one gets individualised and quality services. There are no multiple stops during your trip from and to the airport. The SUV is clean and comfortable and Desso is readily available to take you wherever you need to go at a very affordable rate. Desso drove us to Avon for our marriage licence .When I entered the SUV , red roses were in the seat pockets to surprise me.He had worked with my fiance to ensure that every detail was perfect for a romantic trip.Desso drove us and friends to nearby Brekenridge for dinner at Beano's cabin and was already waiting for us at the end of the evening so that there was no wait time at all. Desso also drives to Aspen if you are interested in a ski excursion that way.We will be returning to Vail in the summer and we will again use Desso's transportation services because it made our trip hassle free.
The contact number is [--] for anyone wishing for peace of mind on their vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaridalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lodge

Property: Tivoli Lodge
Address: 386 Hanson Ranch Road, Vail, CO 81657-4527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vail
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tivoli Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vail Village is the recently rebuilt, family-owned Tivoli Lodge, a luxury ski resort known for years for providing friendly, caring, personal service. The new European-style architecture blends perfectly into the surrounding natural environment, with unobstructed views of Vail's Golden Peak ski area and within steps of the Vista Bahn ski lift. The luxurious and spacious lobby offers stunning mountain views. The Tivoli Lode provides an intimate and unique setting to host a meeting or corporate retreat in Vail, Colorado. Our location, amenities and friendly staff create an environment that is perfect for groups up to 20 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing