We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vail Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in 3 hotels on this vacation, and each one got progressively nicer - this was the 3rd. What a cool place! Convenient to get to, right at the entrance with the parking lot across the street. We did not have a room with a "view", but still liked to see the mountain on the other side of the road. No road noise. I will say, however, that the fan that runs the airflow (no air conditioning) was pretty loud at night. The place was very clean and had a nice feel. Our 2 queen room had a little fridge and the Keurig, which was nice. Big fancy bathroom with tub and shower. A previous review talked about the "little" gym. What? It was gigantic! My teenage son couldn't stop talking about all the machines, free weights, climbing wall, etc. So he dragged us down to see it - if you can't find your favorite gym equipment here, it doesn't exist! Kettle bells, stability balls, ballet barre, and that is beside the spin class room, yoga studio, and so much more. The lodge is a block from a covered bridge that takes you to the east section of Vail Village. Cute shops and eats, and you can get the bus in front of the hotel to take you to golf, other parts of Vail, etc. This was our first trip to Vail, and we liked it and the VML. Included breakfast and off=season pricing was the icing on the cake for us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okietravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your observations about your visit to the Vail Mountain Lodge! And thanks for reporting the circulation fan noise. . .we'll research which room you were in, and make sure that it's worked on before our next guest visit!!!

Our Vitality Center with its fitness center, the Vail Athletic Club, is one of our most exciting amenities, and we're delighted that you had the opportunity to use and enjoy it! Hopefully when you visit again, you'll have the opportunity to appreciate one of the 40+ classes we offer weekly!

Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We're experienced European skiers, but this was our first time in Vail, and we landed on our feet. Mount Vail is a short walk from the Golden Peak lift, which gave us a very easy start every morning, particularly since we could store our skis at Vail Sports. We had a beautiful, spacious condo with lovely views and a fireplace. We were expecting to eat out, but changed our minds when we realised we could settle in with home cooked food or good room service and a borrowed DVD. Thank you to the hotel driver who ferried us to Safeway, free of charge! We enjoyed the hot tub and pool, and our eldest son made use of the small gym.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMcK288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to relate your experience in Vail and at the Vail Mountain Lodge! I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs and host a relaxing visit for you and your family.

The next time your travel plans include the Vail area, please don't hesitate to call upon us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We made a reservation through booking.com. A couple of says before we received an email from booking informing that the reservation was cancelled, immediately we called the hotel and they solved this inconvenience, as it seems that the hotel was overbooked, they gave us an upgrade from 2 separate bedroom to a Condominium (3 bedroom apartment). Incredible creek view!
Service and attention was incredible. I bought some stuff through the web and packages were already at the condo when we arrived. Spa was amazing! If you have a chance to visit Vail, try to stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floppy_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .I apologize for the confusion surrounding your cancelled reservation, but we are delighted that we could upgrade you to a more luxurious accommodation. . .we strive to "DELIGHT" each and every guest, and it's gratifying that we met our goal in your case.

Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a week in Vail, and VML made it far more than just a ski vacation -- my mind, body and spirit are totally renewed! Location is ideal - not right in the middle of all the tourists, but within a 3-minute walk of Vail Village and right on the bus line to get to whatever lift is your favorite to start the day. Massages at the start and end of the trip in the Spa got my body and mind ready for the slopes, and soothed perfectly after a few days on the mountain (thanks, Tom!!) -- apres-ski soaks in the hot tubs helped to keep my muscles in good shape between spa visits. A yoga class at the Vitality Center helped get my mind off of work and focused instead on the serenity of the surrounding mountains. The staff was genuinely kind, attentive and thought of every detail. And the food and drinks at Terra Bistro cannot be beat. There's so much to do in Vail that we were hardly in the room, but the on-demand fireplace, soft feather-bed and heated bathroom floor made the Lodge far from a "rustic" experience. I can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGrrrrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experiences here at the Vail Mountain Lodge. Our goal is to provide "peak" vacation experiences for our guests, and we appreciate knowing when we've achieved that goal.

The next time your travel plans include Vail, we hope you'll be our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Everything about this hotel it great! It is in the heart of Vail Village right next to the covered bridge. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant (and breakfast) are delicious. We did not try the spa since we were skiing everyday, but heard wonderful things about it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know about your experience of the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .as a small, personal lodging alternative, we depend on the recommendations of our happy guests, appreciate your support. Please let us know when we might serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Pros: great restaurant, Terra bistro! Make reservations. Fireplace in room. The room itself was adequate.
Cons: poor housekeeping and not very clean. HVAC terrible and made it difficult to sleep. Water in shower was warm, but not hot. No pool. We stayed 5 nights and nobody was available to do my hair in the salon the entire time. Service just mediocre but friendly. Phone system worked inconsistently.
In the hotel's defense, I did not lodge any complaints. - but nothing was horrible.... Just mediocre. I would not stay here again. I didn't think it was worth what we paid.

Stayed: January 2013
2  Thank packyourbagsletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for sharing your observations, LauraGCanton. . .no one likes to hear that they've done a MEDIOCRE job, and the only way we can improve things is by constructive feedback like yours! Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not indicative of our service level, nor of the attention we typically pay to the little details that would have made your stay exceptional. I would love to discuss your experience, and if you happen to read this response, please email me, Frank Johnson, fjohnson@vailmountainlodge.com, so that I can rectify this experience for you.

Thanks again for sharing, and please let me know how to contact you.
Frank Johnson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Let me start by saying that Im a very tough grader - very much into details, and am grateful to have stayed in some very nice hotels. Everything about this small hotel was wonderful. It was well staffed, quiet, beyond comfy and had great rooms and bathrooms. Amenities abound - there's amazing spa, gym and restaurant, and the location was perfect too. I hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Address: 352 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £153 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, walking distance from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 two and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, access to health club which includes classes and health & medical practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing