We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restored building/Hotel, spacious views- pet friendly- coming back”
Review of The Victor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Victor
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great restored building/Hotel, spacious views- pet friendly- coming back”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We drove from Denver in our vintage '67 VW Bus and was welcomed by friendly/helpful staff. The Hotel actually use to be a bank and several stores back in Victor's bustling Gold glory days. In the early 90s, it was saved, restored and turned into a Hotel. They truly did a great job of modernizing while keeping the old world feel and touch. I really loved the old Otis elevator.

Our room on the 4th floor was spacious, had 22 foot ceilings and great views of Victor and Battle Mountain. quiet hotel/rooms.

Staff was very helpful in giving us directions to places to eat (both of them!) and get a beer (The only bar!).

I really enjoyed my stay in Victor. It is a little bit like a Twilight Zone episode for a couple of reasons. Victor is not on a main road. CO 67 loops off HWY 24, through Cripple Creek (now a gambling town) around Battle Mountain and back to HWY 24. So basically, you are either going to Victor on purpose, or really lost. Back in 1900, Victor was Colorado's 5th largest town with 18,000 residences. Now, there is about 300. So there are a few empty buildings, but it looks like there is a lot of work going on to restore them.

My wife and I drank beer, watched a ball game while playing cards at the only bar in town. Locals and tourist where hanging out there too. Staff was very friendly.

The next morning, we got a latte at the cafe two doors down from the Hotel (he opens at 6am). It was seriously one of the best coffees I've ever had. We sat outside, read/wrote in journals before getting back into the Bus (we were heading to a VW Bus rally in Colorado Springs that morning).

It's a quiet town with great views. It's on the Gold Belt Scenic Byway and the aspens would be great in September.

Victor is very much off the beaten path, and that's what makes it unique. If you are truly interested in the mining history of Colorado... Victor is a must stop.

And I very much plan on going back to the Victor Hotel.

Pet Friendly
wifi
VW Bus Friendly

Room Tip: higher the better for the views
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaladawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    25
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
28
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was kind of worried when I read about the ghost(s) - but nothing happened during my stay of a paranormal nature! What did happen was a good night's sleep in a cool town. The people that work at the hotel are very nice - and the other guests seemed nice as well. Will stay again! Keep in mind that food is hard to come by after 6 pm (there is a bar that sells pizza across the street) so you might want to grab something in Cripple Creek....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the victor hotel for friday of the donkey derby days. My friend called and paid for a room over the phone. We were lied to about getting a roll away bed they said our room was too small. and lied to about other rooms that were larger being available. They gave us a free room because they screwed up. Then they re-ran my partners credit card manually with a cc number they wrote down and didnt throw away from when my partner authorized and paid for the initial transaction. Bottom line is they were dishonest from the start and fraud is evident. Ill support victor the town but never the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We love staying in old historic hotels and the Victor was not a disappointment. We had a room with a wonderful view of the town. The front desk manager was super friendly, the room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable and all of the old architecture of the building was stunning. The elevator is remarkable, I think a previous contributor called it a Bird Cage Elevator, it does look like a bird cage. The hotel is on the National Register of Historic places and it is a must stay. Cripple Creek is near with other hotels but because of the gambling it is a little busier than Victor. We walked around the town that evening and it was just as pleasant as can be. We will stay here again if in the area. Note: Although the hotel is historic they had a modern television and wifi. The room did not have ac but with one window open just a few inches and a small fan running it was very very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and the room had 4 large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpetrowske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel is one of the best kept secrets for Colorado history buffs. The hotel is on the National Historic Registry and is decorated in the Victorian style. I've had a corner room each time I've stayed and the rooms are fairly large with high ceilings, clean, and with beautiful views of the town and mountain range. It's a very peaceful alternative to the noisy casino environment in Cripple Creek, which is just a few miles away and a lot less expensive ($60 per night - winter rates) The dining area off to the side of the lobby is no longer in service, but you can use the microwave they have there and coffee is available in another side room off the lobby.

If you are at all into Colorado history, especially mining history, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner of the third or fourth floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nice, cozy and very reasonably priced, the Victor Hotel offers a quiet alternative to spending a weekend night in nearby but often quite busy Cripple Creek. Upon occasion, you might have one of the four floors virtually all to yourself. Riding the bird-cage elevator is a hoot, even if you don't actually meet any ghosts during your stay, and the back road, paved all the way, gets you from one historic mining town to the other in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveM709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Victor Hotel in room 301 - it's a nice large corner room. All the great things mentioned are true - clean, nice, modernized, etc. There was one issue though. The wall that separates room 301 from 302 - at the window, it is not well sealed off for noise/sounds. You can actually see that some finishing work could be done to help this. We could hear and distinguish about 90% of the speaker phone conversation the man was having. The bed is located near this corner so it was very noticeable. After he ended the phone call he was quiet the rest of the night. Possibly he heard us just as well and figured he didn't want to make anymore public phone calls.So if you have talkers in room 302, you WILL hear them and know what they're talking about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstefany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor
3.8 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
3.2 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
3.2 mi away
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
#6 of 10 in Cripple Creek
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
802 reviews
3.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel and Restaurant
Imperial Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 10 in Cripple Creek
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carr Manor
Carr Manor
#1 of 9 in Cripple Creek
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victor Hotel

Property: The Victor Hotel
Address: 321 Victor Ave, Victor, CO 80860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Victor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Victor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Victor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Victor
The Victor Hotel Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing