We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sense of history with the comfort for today's traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Victor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Victor
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The sense of history with the comfort for today's traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

This hotel transports the traveler to the history laden gold era of Victor, Colorado! Even the elevator is a historic gem that defines history but runs at top quality standards of today. It is in the perfect location to be out of the way of the Casino's in Cripple Creek but close enough if you want to run over there and gamble. We felt so comfortable and welcome I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mammabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

My church group held its annual retreat at The Victor Hotel and the setting and accomodations were great! Victor is an old mining town established during the Colorado gold rush, so there isn't much in the way of modern entertainment. However, it is a "must see" for travellers looking for real history off the beaten path. It's a step back in time and a great place for exploring!

The Victor Hotel is a fully restored building that must be around a hundred years old. I would definately recommend this hotel for small conferences (approx. 30) if your group is looking for great accomodations on a budget. Our group was given use of the meeting area and kitchen so that we could arrange our own meals, discussions, and activities, and the hotel staff was so helpful in meeting all of our needs. The staff helped us arrange the meeting and lobby area for a murder/mystery event and even took part in placing clues (a picture is attached). The staff made us feel so at home and helped us to make our event a success. It's ideal for book clubs, interest groups, family reunions, etc., and I fully intend to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iownredacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

My wife and I decided to take a trip to a place where life is out of our daily lifestyle. I wanted to visit Colorado. I did some research to find a place that I would love to see. Victor, Co. This town is a small town, but filled with wonders. We stayed at the Victor Hotel. Amazing! This hotel was beautiful from the Outside, and Gordeous on the Inside. The Rates are great, the staff very helpful & courteous. Our room overlooked the town of Victor. Going to a place to find where my Wife & I would enjoy our Vacation, definitely became so amazing that we will be returning soon. The room was great, the towns folk are great people. I learned so much on how this town, & this Hotel came to be, and what Historical Value has been set in stone. Our stay was welcomed not as tourists, but as a family like tone. There a few great places to eat, but our trip was for Adventure. We originally were going to stay for the Weekend, but this Town stole our hearts, and we ended up staying at the hotel for a week, and postpone our travels. When we return, The Victor Hotel is our home. The Hotel has this Elevator that I've never seen before. I believe it is the First Original Birdcage elevator built. We learned much more about this town & it's history then I thought to imagine. Victor, we coming back soon, and have much more plans this time around!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishdan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

The Victor Hotel is truly a gem. The staff was very helpful and the hotel is full of the charm of days gone by. The hotel was full the night we stayed and we were given the room frequented by the hotel's ghost. He was kind enough not to bother us for our short stay--atleast we assumed the footsteps above our room belonged to another guest...we didn't ask! The room was comfortable with a lovely quilt on the bed, vintage-style bowl and water pitcher (as well as a full bath), wireless internet access, and a beautiful view of Victor. Restaurant choices in Victor are a bit limited so don't expect fine dining...but if you are near Victor this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHeadHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Rooms and rates were reasonable but a group of hotel guests woke us at 4 am whooping it up in the hotels coffee bar and on the sidewalk out front of the hotel (so they could smoke). This ruckus continued for 2 hours until they finally departed at 6 am. As the hotel is not staffed at night, these rude guests were permitted to ruin our stay. We won't return.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank theatregoerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganluver, Staff at The Victor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2008
The staff at the Victor Hotel received this same complaint the very next morning. It is true that these guests were awoken in the early morning hours by several hunters who were also guests in the hotel for the annual hunting season. These hunters get together very early and set out on their hunt around 6:00 am. They were unaware of how loud they were and expressed regret that they caused another guest to be awakened by their street side conversation. They have been especially aware of their noise levels ever since this isolated incident. We are satisfied that the disturbance in this complaint was completely unintentional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel based upon a recommendation in a book about traveling with kids. The main excitement about the hotel is the old fashion birdcage elevator which the kids loved. The staff was very friendly and the room was OK, but we enjoyed it because it reminded us of traveling in the UK. Victor appears to be on the verge of becoming a ghost town. Most of the buildings along the main street were abandoned or crumbling down. The hotel's restaurant was closed and I didn't receive any indication that it would ever open again. We
ate at Sally's, which was the only place to eat in town, and loved
it. The staff at Sally's knew right away that we were from out of town and made an extra effort to make us feel welcome. This was one of the more interesting places we stayed and we enjoyed the experience. However, we approached it with a very open mind.

  • Liked — unique hotel
  • Disliked — not many food choices in area
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere in florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

i found the victor hotel quite by accident. i had stopped earlier in the day in cripple creek and wasn't terribly impressed with the casino atmosphere. i prefer to stay in a hotel with some ambiance and maybe even a ghost or too. fortunately. i was told about the victor hotel at the visitor center in cripple creek. i made the 7 mile drive and found the victor hotel right on main street in the heart of a tired old town called victor. at first glance this old town didn't seem to have much to offer, but after an afternoon of driving around, i decided to stay at the elegant old hotel (ok, the only hotel in town). as soon as i walked through the door, i knew i would love this hotel. the lobby was elegant and tastfully decorated. the staff friendly and helpful, and thankfully, they didn't laugh when i asked if they had any haunted rooms. as with any 100 yr old hotel, it just so happened that they did.i checked in and took the rather unique and ornate elevator that does look just like a 'birdcage' up to my haunted room on the third floor.
the room was spacious with large windows that opened, a comfortable queen size bed, cable TV, and a telephone in room ( simple things really, but i found that lots of hotels in colorado don't have all these things). the victor hotel has been recently renovated back to its original old world charm. the only inconvenience was that the hotel restuarant is closed temporarily, but the lady working at the desk, recommended sally's bar and grill down the street (good homemade pizza!).
the ghost of a young man who use to live at the hotel is suppose to haunt room 301. but i slept like a baby. and didn't see, hear or experience anything out of the norm. but with or without a ghost, i hope to go back to victor someday. for a ghost and ghost town enthusiast like me, there is a lot to see and do. lots of abandoned gold mines and historic buildings to explore. and maybe someday, i'll get to see that ghost!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ebaynme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor
3.8 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
3.2 mi away
Century Casino Hotel
Century Casino Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cripple Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.2 mi away
McGills Hotel and Casino
McGills Hotel and Casino
#5 of 10 in Cripple Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel and Restaurant
Imperial Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 10 in Cripple Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victor Hotel

Property: The Victor Hotel
Address: 321 Victor Ave, Victor, CO 80860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Victor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Victor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Victor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Victor
The Victor Hotel Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing