We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Gem in the middle of "nowhere"”
Review of Antlers Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antlers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Walden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2010

What a great find!!! The rooms are spacious and really beautiful, beds are comfortable, linens soft, and the fire in the "parlor" was warm and inviting. The restaurant served great food by friendly people and we would recommend this place for a stop on the way to any where! The only things I didn't like was that there was no view unless you get the corner room and then it is mostly of a parking lot, and there is no elevator so carrying heavy bags up a steep staircase was pretty hard.... oh well..... We went snowmobiling in the area several days and that was great! We will most likely return to the area and if we do we will certainly stay at the Antlers!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckroschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2010

I stayed with my wife at the Antler's Inn on the weekend of January 29th. The lady that took my reservations was very nice, and check in downstairs at the River Rock Cafe was a breeze.

As you walk upstairs, you arrive into a common great room of sorts, with a fire going in the stone fireplace, comfy furniture where you can just sit and read or relax, and you instantly get a feeling of a well-appointed mountain lodge. Historic pictures hang on the walls that tell a story of Walden from long ago.

We arrived in our room (Room 7), and found a clean, cozy and well-appointed room. The mountain lodge feel is also evident in the rooms, and you find yourself asking if this place is really in Walden! The bathroom in the room is clean and features the same decor as the rest of the room. The hot water is great, the towels are fluffy and they even give you some sacrificial washclothes neatly folded in a basket that a little sign says is for "cleaning your boots or rifles." (What?) While I didn't bring a rifle with me, I thought it was pretty funny.

The beds were comfortable, and the TV featured DirecTV service, not that garbage hotel cable that most hotels feature, which was nice. The walls are a little thin, so we heard a little bit of what was going on in the next room for a bit, but everyone quieted down and nothing else was heard.

The River Rock Cafe downstairs is probably the best place in town to eat, and the nicer choice for a drink in their bar in the evening. You can walk across the street to the Stockmen's Bar if you want to get a taste of real Walden, complete with smoking in the bar (isn't that illegal in CO?), but unless you want that experience, just enjoy the Antler's and the River Rock.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JdiddyFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This was our fourth stay at the Antlers Inn; Room 10 is our favorite, roomy, furnished beautifully, with beautiful beds and linens. Very long staircase and high altitude (approx. 6,000 ft) provide an out-of-breath experience, but well worth it. Beautiful 2nd floor sitting room with fireplace, balcony that looks out over the main street through town. Just a couple of doors down is Klondike Liquors, an oasis - great selection!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Walden, Colorado is a small town about 1 1/2 hours or so from Rocky Mountain National Park. The ride to the park from Walden is a fun drive and very scenic. The hotel was the coolest place we stayed at the entire trip of our honeymoon. The price for a standard room was very reasonable, about $85. The staff were very friendly and made every effort to help you if you were coming in late past opening hours. When we arrived we were amazed at the restaurant. We were very happy we booked our stay here. The entire building, restaurant and hotel, had an amazing atmosphere. The hotel has been newly redone and so all the rooms were clean and had very nice furniture. The bath room had beautiful tile floors and a marble or granite counter top. We did have a problem with the sheets but when we went to the front desk about it there changed them immediately and were very nice. The staff were great and very friendly. The restaurant opens I think around 6am, and the Rocky Mountain French Toast is the best I've ever had. Be sure to order that if you are there for breakfast, you will not regrete it. And you will probably order one to go like I did. Very happy with the hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me-n-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

Walden is a small ranching community 60 or so miles east of Steamboat or west of Granby. If you want a quiet get away, with a room that makes you feel like you are in a high end hotel, this is it. AND, the prices are equivalent to a moderately priced chain. We reserved 2 rooms, one in the main building above the River Rock Café and one next door. The entire building is built to resemble a rustic lodge with lots of wood, river rock, antique accents, leather furniture, and tin ceiling tiles. When you walk upstairs to the rooms, you step into a common area with leather seating, a huge fireplace and double french doors that open onto a small deck. The 1st room was a king bed with beautiful bedding, antique furniture and a feeling of luxury. It wasn’t extremely large, but not crowded either. The second room, next door to the main building appears to be new construction. This room was a bit larger and had less of the old west/lodge feel, but still had a feel of luxury. The bedding was high end and the bath was huge with a beautifully upholstered chair and ottoman, tile floors and bath, huge linen closet, and a furniture style cabinet for the sink area. Everything gives the feel that it you are staying in someone’s home who has invested well in decorating and still maintained a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The only warning I have is that if you face the street (as we did in the King suite) you will hear a little road noise until about 10pm and then again in the morning. There was minimal traffic so it did not disturb us.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mtnlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Antlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers Inn

Address: 460 Main Street, Walden, CO 80480
Region: United States > Colorado > Walden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Walden
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing