We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay, in a Quiet Little Town.”
Review of Antlers Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antlers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Walden
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay, in a Quiet Little Town.”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We went on a two week self-supported bicycle tour in 2010 and rode into Walden after covering 73 miles on loaded touring bicycles, up from Grand Lake. The Antlers Inn is a wonderful surprise in such a quiet town. The hotel doesn't look like that much from the outside. It looks like a good bar rather than a quiet, well priced, nicely appointed hotel and restaurant. We don't make reservation when traveling on the bikes but it was "no reservations, no problem" and the staff was very polite and accommodating. They let us lock our bikes up in an unused storage area which was great. The hotel rooms are well done and quiet. You'd be hard pressed to find hotel rooms like this in similar towns found in the region. We ate at the attached River Rock Cafe for lunch and dinner and it was pretty good overall but not as much of a bargain as the hotel rooms are. The wait staff were very nice.

While I'm not sure what would draw me to Walden, for those passing through in need of a good night's rest, The Antlers Inn is your best bet within several hours drive, or a day's bike ride.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canyonlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    26
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
46
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2010

On our moose photo hunting trip, after finding a very large female moose out on Long Draw Road just after sunset, we were happy to find such a charming place to stay. We stayed in Suite B, which was large and nicely furnished. The rooms and the building (adjoining the old Park Theater) were so interesting my wife had to ask about the history of the structure. Apparently the suites were once inhabited by the town doctor and his wife, who ran a card store downstairs. We were also told that much of the architectural design and work was done by a New Englander. I can't imagine anyone just driving through Walden finding the Antlers Inn on their own. This truly is a find in an out of the way place.

The next day we ate breakfast at the Rock River Cafe (yummy and filling) and were successful in finding two more female moose. All told, an excellent trip and a new place to stay for our future hunting trips.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles_e_stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed 1 night on our way back to Denver and found the rooms very quiet considering the complex is on the main street of Walden. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the restaurant below was probably the best in town. We did find the service a little slow mainly because check in is in the restaurant where people are also trying to pay for their meals. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippersNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leadville, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

What a great find!!! The rooms are spacious and really beautiful, beds are comfortable, linens soft, and the fire in the "parlor" was warm and inviting. The restaurant served great food by friendly people and we would recommend this place for a stop on the way to any where! The only things I didn't like was that there was no view unless you get the corner room and then it is mostly of a parking lot, and there is no elevator so carrying heavy bags up a steep staircase was pretty hard.... oh well..... We went snowmobiling in the area several days and that was great! We will most likely return to the area and if we do we will certainly stay at the Antlers!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckroschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I stayed with my wife at the Antler's Inn on the weekend of January 29th. The lady that took my reservations was very nice, and check in downstairs at the River Rock Cafe was a breeze.

As you walk upstairs, you arrive into a common great room of sorts, with a fire going in the stone fireplace, comfy furniture where you can just sit and read or relax, and you instantly get a feeling of a well-appointed mountain lodge. Historic pictures hang on the walls that tell a story of Walden from long ago.

We arrived in our room (Room 7), and found a clean, cozy and well-appointed room. The mountain lodge feel is also evident in the rooms, and you find yourself asking if this place is really in Walden! The bathroom in the room is clean and features the same decor as the rest of the room. The hot water is great, the towels are fluffy and they even give you some sacrificial washclothes neatly folded in a basket that a little sign says is for "cleaning your boots or rifles." (What?) While I didn't bring a rifle with me, I thought it was pretty funny.

The beds were comfortable, and the TV featured DirecTV service, not that garbage hotel cable that most hotels feature, which was nice. The walls are a little thin, so we heard a little bit of what was going on in the next room for a bit, but everyone quieted down and nothing else was heard.

The River Rock Cafe downstairs is probably the best place in town to eat, and the nicer choice for a drink in their bar in the evening. You can walk across the street to the Stockmen's Bar if you want to get a taste of real Walden, complete with smoking in the bar (isn't that illegal in CO?), but unless you want that experience, just enjoy the Antler's and the River Rock.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JdiddyFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This was our fourth stay at the Antlers Inn; Room 10 is our favorite, roomy, furnished beautifully, with beautiful beds and linens. Very long staircase and high altitude (approx. 6,000 ft) provide an out-of-breath experience, but well worth it. Beautiful 2nd floor sitting room with fireplace, balcony that looks out over the main street through town. Just a couple of doors down is Klondike Liquors, an oasis - great selection!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Walden, Colorado is a small town about 1 1/2 hours or so from Rocky Mountain National Park. The ride to the park from Walden is a fun drive and very scenic. The hotel was the coolest place we stayed at the entire trip of our honeymoon. The price for a standard room was very reasonable, about $85. The staff were very friendly and made every effort to help you if you were coming in late past opening hours. When we arrived we were amazed at the restaurant. We were very happy we booked our stay here. The entire building, restaurant and hotel, had an amazing atmosphere. The hotel has been newly redone and so all the rooms were clean and had very nice furniture. The bath room had beautiful tile floors and a marble or granite counter top. We did have a problem with the sheets but when we went to the front desk about it there changed them immediately and were very nice. The staff were great and very friendly. The restaurant opens I think around 6am, and the Rocky Mountain French Toast is the best I've ever had. Be sure to order that if you are there for breakfast, you will not regrete it. And you will probably order one to go like I did. Very happy with the hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank me-n-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Antlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers Inn

Property: Antlers Inn
Address: 460 Main Street, Walden, CO 80480
Region: United States > Colorado > Walden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Walden
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing