We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Polgooth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$66
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee. Enjoy cosy fires in the winter months and a great pub garden in the summer
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a spare of the moment late lunch/ early tea. The place was packed and we were lucky to be given a table. Sadly it took a while to be served as the staff behind the bar seemed more interested in gossiping between themselves than serving customers. However it was well worth the wait as once the lovely waitress took us too our table and we were seated nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious my husband said it was the best steak he had eaten in a restaurant. There was just the right amount of menu options to choose from and it was reasonably priced. The lights in the garden where stunning. Thank you.

Thank owdamedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Sorry about your wait in the bar, glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon! From the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We decided to treat ourselves today as it our Wedding Anniversary, so visited the Polgooth Inn for lunch. Absolutely perfect lunch. My husband had the steak with all the trimmings, I had the giant fish cake with poached egg on top, delicious!
To follow, I had the ginger ice cream sundae, my husband had another pint!
A really great lunchtime experience.

Thank sandixee989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

So glad you both enjoyed your special lunch together at The Polgooth Inn. You should try our legendary breakfasts on a Friday & Saturday morning too! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This pub/ restaurant is the friendliest, cosiest place. We come here often and can't recommend highly enough the quality of the food, the brilliant menu and superb ambience and location. Never disappoints.

Thank KatiBrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words, the team here at the Polgooth Inn work hard to make sure every visit is great. Glad you enjoyed the cosy, friendly atmosphere. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

It is worth seeking out this historic Cornish pub. Beers were good and the menu was interesting. Service was good.

Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi, thanks for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon to try out our latest small batch beer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We found this pub by chance but really glad we did!

We’ve been coming to Cornwall for the past 5 years and have never been given such a warm, friendly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, from putting drinks on a tab to finding us a table even though we only wanted a drink (in the end the kids shared some cheesy chips as a snack which they said were the best they’d ever had!).

The pub has a real history with the old farm equipment and photos on the walls. Lovely & warm and cosy inside with large and small tables so great for families of all sizes; it also has some nice tables outside so would be a good choice in the summer.

Although we didn’t eat ourselves the food looked fantastic and the menu was full of choice and all home cooked.

We were advised they do get busy so booking is recommended....We’ll definitely be booking to go back!

Thanks to all the fabulous staff who served us, it’s so nice to get such great friendly service

Thank Cruiser618632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi, Thanks for your feedback! The dedicated team here at the Polgooth Inn like to make all our visitors feel genuinely welcome! Glad you loved our cheesy chips too! Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing