We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Boxing Day”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Polgooth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$66
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee. Enjoy cosy fires in the winter months and a great pub garden in the summer
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We travelled across county for a family Boxing Day lunch. We had booked and said we had Percy, our dog (of indeterminate lineage), which meant we were seated in the very busy, but not uncomfortably so, main bar. Log fire burned, large tables of families, proper pub decor and atmosphere. The place was, as one would expect, heaving. The delightful staff - mostly young and plainly part-time - were well trained, attentive and very jolly - it was the Festive Season after all! The food arrived quickly and efficiently, as did our rather complicated drinks order (2 types of gin, a Bloody Mary, and a bottle of craft beer). The menu was high-end pub food (as opposed to Gastro-pub) and absolutely delicious, generous portions (after Christmas, may have been too generous! but who cared) and well presented. Puddings are a must. A lovely find, and a lovely situation. Sadly Boxing Day was very wet so we did not walk anywhere. But it did look like lunch could be walked off via some lovely walks nearby. Will return in the summer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HugePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Polgooth Inn! The team here work very hard to make sure that everyone enjoys our warm welcome. We are glad that you enjoyed your food and drinks selection. We look forward to welcoming you again soon when you return in the summer! You may even like to try one of our outside dining pods or taste one of our legendary breakfasts! Thanks again from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a spare of the moment late lunch/ early tea. The place was packed and we were lucky to be given a table. Sadly it took a while to be served as the staff behind the bar seemed more interested in gossiping between themselves than serving customers. However it was well worth the wait as once the lovely waitress took us too our table and we were seated nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious my husband said it was the best steak he had eaten in a restaurant. There was just the right amount of menu options to choose from and it was reasonably priced. The lights in the garden where stunning. Thank you.

Thank owdamedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Sorry about your wait in the bar, glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon! From the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We decided to treat ourselves today as it our Wedding Anniversary, so visited the Polgooth Inn for lunch. Absolutely perfect lunch. My husband had the steak with all the trimmings, I had the giant fish cake with poached egg on top, delicious!
To follow, I had the ginger ice cream sundae, my husband had another pint!
A really great lunchtime experience.

Thank sandixee989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

So glad you both enjoyed your special lunch together at The Polgooth Inn. You should try our legendary breakfasts on a Friday & Saturday morning too! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This pub/ restaurant is the friendliest, cosiest place. We come here often and can't recommend highly enough the quality of the food, the brilliant menu and superb ambience and location. Never disappoints.

Thank KatiBrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words, the team here at the Polgooth Inn work hard to make sure every visit is great. Glad you enjoyed the cosy, friendly atmosphere. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

It is worth seeking out this historic Cornish pub. Beers were good and the menu was interesting. Service was good.

Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi, thanks for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon to try out our latest small batch beer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing